Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Gustafson
10,625 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone else seeing a slowdown at work? I have been with my current company for almost 6 years and this is the first time they've done layoffs since I've been here.

Management said this year will be slow until Christmas, and then we should be good through 2023. Hopefully that's the case, because it sure is unsettling to see all these people let go and the shop floor bare with the lights off.

·
Registered
10,039 Posts
I have a friend who owns a commercial construction company. He mentioned that he has lowered is costs to be competitive to get the work. He has noticed a 10 percent decrease in business this same time last year.
As a self employed painter I am busy. I do work solo and have all the work I can handle. I am booked out till October. If I land the project I am bidding now I will be busy through most of the winter and into the spring.
it does concern me that they keep talking about us moving towards a recession and the government trying to slow the economy all while inflation is at a 40 year high. Biden beat out Carter as the worst president. I remember double digit interest rates and gas shortages at stations.

·
Gustafson
10,625 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have a friend who owns a commercial construction company. He mentioned that he has lowered is costs to be competitive to get the work. He has noticed a 10 percent decrease in business this same time last year.
As a self employed painter I am busy. I do work solo and have all the work I can handle. I am booked out till October. If I land the project I am bidding now I will be busy through most of the winter and into the spring.