Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
I <3 2get high.. centered
1,467 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Another newbie here... Curious to your opinion on how to get from my stock LJ to where I think I want to be in a few years.

I have a Stock 2005 LJ, 41k mi, 31" Goodyears which are almost worn out. It's a daily driver, trail ridden 1 or 2 weekends a month. I plan to continue to use the Jeep in this capacity for another 3-4 years. I figure it'll have over 100k on it by then. Once the Jeep is no longer a daily driver, I would like to build it into a decent trail / rock rig. Over the next few years, I'm sure my plan will evolve, but right now I think I'd want a long arm lift kit, 35's (maybe 38's?) on beadlocks, front and rear lockers, lower ratio transfer case... Might stick in a V8 when the stock 6 gets old...

So here's my question... I'm torn on the best way / order to go about this.. I would like to improve the off road ability of the Jeep, but am also weary about having to upgrade my upgrades as the project moves forward. It seems like a waste..

Any advise? If I were to go out and buy a small lift and get the Jeep on 33's, would I be able to sell the kit when I lifted it again? Is it worth sticking a locker in my stock rear if I'm going to end up having to upgrade it? Body lift - now, later, never? How about wheels and tires? And so on..

So, if it were your money, where would you put it first?

·
Premium Member
4,651 Posts
I would go by train- you get to see the country and relax at the same time.

A little pricey, however...

·
M-22
690 Posts
Susp. -Long arm lift (5"-6") RE, Clayton, FT, Nth...whatever they are now.
Tires -35s (37s if you've got enough room, right axles & gearing)

Upgraded Axles (at least chromoly shafts on front & rear D44s with the 35s/
D60 in rear would be preferable if running 37s+)

Lockers -ARB front and rear

4:88 gears (5:13s if you've got an auto)

·
M-22
690 Posts