Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
594 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought an 89 XJ a couple weeks ago and I've never owned one before so I'm just learning. I have to replace the wheelbearings up front and the ujoints. Can I put 96 or newer axle shafts with the larger ujoints in it or do I have to stick with the smaller ujoints from the older ones? What year did they change the wheel bearing units?
Thanks

·
(513) 891-8372
12,024 Posts
Search Jeep Tech for "unit bearing".
Yea, that works real well. Dickhead.

No you can't. The d-30 front bearings switched in I think 92. They switched to a smaller hole in the knuckle. Now, if you wanted to, you could swap the entire knuckle and everything attached to it. You would need the new rotor, caliper...etc. Everything on the knuckle.

·
I am the law.
29,823 Posts

·
Registered
1,789 Posts
well while they're arguing, here's what you can do.

buy 89 bearings, but use 96 axle shafts with the bigger u-joints. do you know if you have a vacuum disconnect front axle or not??? if it is a vacuum disconnect front axle, then you have to either stick with the 2 piece 89 axle shaft, or convert it to accept the 96 axle shaft.

converting it sounds and look alot more complicated than it really is. all in all, it'll cost you whatever the new different axle seal will cost, some gear lube and a roll of gasket maker and 1 expanding rubber plug. so that's like what..........$40 for a better axle/u-joint upgrade.

PS: my wifes 97wrangler has a 89XJ front axle in it that used to have the vacuum disconnect. i used the 89XJ axle housing, and used the 97 knuckles and axles. the only reason i used the 97 knuckles is because i took the knuckles off the 89 to do the balljoints, and then decided to put the 97 parts back on, so it would be easier to remember what parts to buy for her jeep.

·
Registered
594 Posts
Discussion Starter #6