Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Can't lose with 42s
1,055 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody on here do what I do for a living?

·
Can't lose with 42s
1,055 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
.....care to articulate on it a bit?

·
Registered
72 Posts
Half assed do but I don't know much of anything. Both plants at our Taconite mine have almost completely been switched over to PLC stuff and now some things in the pit are starting to get switched over and for some reason people around here think I know something about them so they have me trying to debug programs.

·
№ ™℮ Ђ ώº®қ Θה ς├│‡ﺝ
1,360 Posts
Me too, I work in the aggregate industry, I design the wet side of the plant. Minus 4 mesh. I started doing plc instead of controllers about 3 years back. Most of my controls are simple analog and digital layouts. The most complicated thing is a PID loop. That’s pretty much equivalent to a thermostat in your house. I use Allen Bradley logix 5000 software and compact logix for my processor.

·
Can't lose with 42s
1,055 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Nice. The relay logic conversions can get messy... Are they Allen Bradley PLCs?

·
Can't lose with 42s
1,055 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Yeah, flex it out on your mom's front butt

·
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
10,939 Posts
Some Allen Bradly stuff, and only if I have the right software and hardware to interface the controller. And then I use it to only trouble shoot. If I get involed in any minor loops and tuning them, that is a recipe for disater. But once set up correctly, the only thing needed is going it to find out why something is wrong, or where the program is stuck.

But mostly deal with BAS/BEMS stuff, like Honeywell, Siemens, Trane, but not at an admistrators level. And then there is all the stuf on refrigeration equtiptmen I deal with like Trane and York and those particulars on chiller/ac control panels.