Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
!SPARTY ON!
2,684 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone running them or heard anything about them? Haven't really heard to much about them. I'm thinking of buying a set of heads for my Blazer because i may have cracked my set of vortec heads! The set i as looking at have 2.02 and 1.60 valves compared to the 1.94 and 1.50 stock valves.

·
Registered
828 Posts
I've heard more bad than good, but I have no first hand experience with them. For the price, I would probably put my money in a set of Jegs/Summit heads, or save up for something better.
What size motor are you running?

·
!SPARTY ON!
2,684 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It's a vortec 350 switched over to carb. Extreme 4x4 cam and edelbrock conversion intake for the carb. Other than that everything else is stock. But i'm either gonna switch to a 355 or if i can find some more money a 383. I've found a set of patroits for 300 bucks bare and i already have springs and keepers. So all i would need is valves and screw in studs

·
Can't Worry About It
1,070 Posts
if they are used i would at least get them checked out by a machine shop and get them decked so they seal and you know they aren't warped

cheaper products don't have tight tolerences so things like valve guides should be mic'd and honed accordingly, a good 3 angle valve job etc

·
Registered
828 Posts
Where are you getting them for $300 a pair? Everything I see is around $300 PER head bare. I would also purchase them assembled if I were you. By the time you buy bare heads, buy valves/etc., and pay somebody to put them together (if you do), you've bought a set of assembled heads.
And for the money (assuming that is $300 per head), I would buy a set of Jegs/Summit heads.

·
Registered
828 Posts
Almost sounds too good to be true. If it's the real deal though, I'd opt for spending $200 more and getting the complete assembled heads.