Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Transplant
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking to take the Jeep out 8/19-8/21 for some crawling. I'm new to the Midwest, so I don't know where I could find the type of wheeking that I'm looking for. I have a YJ on full widths and 40s. It's built for the rocks, and feels at home in Moab. I'm looking to stay within 5 hours of Chicago as I'm up in Madison, WI. Any advice, fellas?

·
Live Action!
15,750 Posts
Ever been to The Badlands in Indiana?

You can also google offroad parks in USA and click on maps and you will get some but not all to pop up.

Harlan Kentucky is some good wheeling, Morningwood Offroad Park in Canada is also good but usually not an open every weekend type of place.

Windrock in Tennesee is a large park.

Bundy Hill is one of Michigans decent parks along with Rocks and Valleys.

Rausch Creek

Rush Offroad Park

AOP

·
Registered
3,045 Posts
I would say if you're looking for crawling, do the badlands in IN or Rocks and Valleys in MI. R&V is the better park imo.

those are 5 hours are less from Chicago.

·
Flex Is OverRated
2,767 Posts
I would be highly disappointed if i drove from Wisconsin to rocks and valleys to wheel. It's a great park, but the reality is there is only about a half a days worth of fun for a rig like that (unless you are with a huge group or wheel really slow).

·
Live Action!
15,750 Posts
I would be highly disappointed if i drove from Wisconsin to rocks and valleys to wheel. It's a great park, but the reality is there is only about a half a days worth of fun for a rig like that (unless you are with a huge group or wheel really slow).
Badlands is a lot bigger and the cliffs and ledges are fun. Plus they have dunes and the river in the woods with a lot of trails.