Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
296 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today i was playing around out back and got stuck then he pulled me off the hill while i was in four wheel drive the passenger tire locks up. Then when i unlock the hub it rolls fine what did i break im new to the toyota's dont have a clue on what im doing with axles on them thanks for whoever could help me out cause there is a snow run i have planned to go to in feb.

·
I like sparklers
175 Posts
What kind of Toy?. Solid axle front? Assuming so sounds like possibly a broken birfield, again depending on the year. Like pre 1985...

296 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yea solid front end thats what i figured that it was a broken birfield is that what u think or do u have other suggestions and are they are to change im used to working on ford and chevys

·
Registered
1,125 Posts
its probly the birfield with those big tires you are going to break alot of them
35'' or bigger just rips them apart
i might have an extra set of axles but i would save up for an eliminater kit or bigger axles

·
NOT GL4x4SucksVideo guy.
3,118 Posts
Longfield's are the best aftermarket axles for the Toyota axles. $600 for the set, and $65 for each hub gear that you'd need in order to qualify for the lifetime warranty.

·
NOT GL4x4SucksVideo guy.
3,118 Posts
Well for around 800, you'd have an axle nearly as strong as a Dana 60 (So they say), or you could go for the good 1tons that normally sell for that much a piece. But depending on how or where you wheel, you could get away with 3/4 tons. But then you're doing custom drive shafts and steering and all that stuff.

The rear axle is already as strong as you should need. A lot of guys I've seen running the bigger tires on rocks and all that havent even done anything to the rear except gears and welded spiders/locker.

·
I like sparklers
175 Posts