Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,862 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have to weld some stainless to repair a friends boat lift. There is enough welding to be done that I don't want to bother someone with a TIG, and I don't own one. Before Google tells me what to do, I will ask you guys.
Is 80/20 shielding gas ok? Similar diameter wire to what I would use for mild steel? Same tips? Any precautions? This will be a structural part- any thoughts on imbrittlement? 3/16" plate to 3/16" 2x3 box tube. Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
4,849 Posts
I'm not an expert, however I know you need to use a different shielding gas. We just went through this a month ago. For the life of me I can't remember what it was that we bought though. Outside of that and obviously wire we didn't change anything and it worked just fine.

·
Registered
9,611 Posts
I don't know much about welding SS, but I've done a little research into it for welding on my brewing shit and Argon was what everyone talked about using.

·
Registered
1,516 Posts
I've always used the same gas for steel or stainless. Works the same. Had the welds certified too. I use 95% argon 5% oxygen.

·
Registered
1,516 Posts
Should be nothing to worry about. I would think your 80/20 mix would be fine too. Try it, as long as you don't get porosity you should be good to go.

·
I fix stuff!
13,804 Posts
In non cosmetic projects, I've just used er70s-6 mild steel wire with regular shielding gas. I'm not sure if this would meet your needs in a marine application but it will permanently attach two pieces of stainless together. If I want pretty welds I Always TIG. I've used shielded stainless wire before with pretty good results but I think you have to use a different polarity than mild wire. It's been a while I'm not sure.

·
LS Powered
825 Posts