Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
National Guard guy
1,063 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, I've been reading up a bit, and a longarm conversion seems to be one of the more popular mods for an XJ.
However, just how long do the arms need to be, and is longer better?
I've had some experience building rearend suspension on lowered trucks with air ride, so I'm familiar with 4-links and such.

Is there any problem with running an adjustable triangulated 4-link on the front axle, with the triangulated bars mounted on the bottom, and straight bars on top?

If I can get to a bandsaw, drill press, welder, and grinder, I should be able to fabricate any custom crossmembers I'd need, and I know a good place to order the links from already.
(they use greasable super pivot joints, and include all the necessary brackets cut from either 3/16" or 1/4" plate)

*puts on flame suit for the newb questions*

·
Registered
5,080 Posts
This isn't really a newb question, most people just buy kits. Props to you for wanting to fabricate it.

Most XJ long arms systems aren't triangulated because there's isn't enough room for the uppers to clear the oil pan and such IIRC.

Many people run either a 3-link(2 lowers, and a drivers side upper) or a y-link suspension, which I'm sure you know of as well.

The two most popular XJ long arm kits seem to be TNT Customs and Rock Krawler(although everyone other than XJ guys hates RK.)

Also, search around NAXJA.org and pirate4x4.com in the Cherokee section, there's alot of fab info there if you look hard enough.

·
Low Range Drifter
8,435 Posts
>> just how long do the arms need to be, and is longer better?

There is a middle ground, too long and they are rock magnets, too short and they aren't worth the hassle. I'd say around 36" +/- 4" or so.