Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2005 Diesel Liberty with the 5 option selc-trac transfer case. I have been using the Full Time 4wheel drive option for about two months straight. Now, when I try to go back to 2wheel drive (which requires the shift lever to pass over Part Time 4wheel drive), the transfer case seems to get stuck in Part Time 4wheel drive. It takes ages of back and forth in a parking lot to get it to break out.

History:
Front tires have 64000 miles
Rear tires have 20000 miles
Transfer case fluid is about 20000 miles old (person insisted it had all the aditives needed for my vehicle)

I took it to Palace, they said I either don't have the friction modifier in the fluid, ($250 to replace) or my front tires are putting too much tension on the inter-axle connection therefore preventing it from disconnecting. (They want to replace all four tires for $550.00)

I think there is something wrong with the linkage.

Which sounds more likely?

·
Pew pew!
18,204 Posts
Have you tried letting it roll in neutral and shifting?

Any other changes in the last two months to the tires or fluid?

Not having friction modifiers would cause slipping issues or noise. I don't think it would get serious enough to actually prevent it from shifting. Their theory on the tires is complete bullshit.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Better History of rig:

The axle and transfer case fluid was changed for first time in October 07 at 38000 miles. That means Full time 4x4 was used all last winter with that fluid.

In February (45000 miles) after pulling friend out of snow, noticed a shudder for a week and Palace replaced rear drive shaft.

I had the rig in 2wd all summer.