Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What do you have? how do ya like it? Pros and cons?
I’m looking at a hypertherm 45xp or the Miller 625 extreme. I have little to no plasma experience
As I only rented a POS one from the local industrial rental place 15yeArs ago and was not impressed. But I have have a few big fab projects coming up and I’m sick of torch cutting and grinding damn near everything
I’m leaning more towards the hypertherm because it’s max severance is larger than the miller. I am keeping my options only to units with the cpc port for Cnc plasma table options should I add on later.
Please discuss!
Thanks
Matt

· Registered
5,575 Posts
I have always had Hypertherms and they are absolutely the industry standard. The 45xp is a very impressive little machine. If you're thinking of a CNC setup down the road you definitely want a Hypertherm.

· Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I guess it’s a no brainer! Thanks for the insight. Just an FYI for anyone shopping, after getting quotes from a few local weld
suppliers, the hyper max ends up being a few hundred less by the time you order the miller setup for cnc with the cpc port.

· Whoop Whoop
17,320 Posts
I know this is an old thread, but I'm always happy for a good ol baptist thread revival.

I've been running a Hero Cut from amazon that I picked up with spare components for under $200. Still on the same set of consumables (probably under an hour of use over the past year). Had to swap on a different plug to use my 220V in the shop. Been running it off of the cheap 20gal HF compressor with no complaints. Been meaning to put a longer, heavier duty cord on it, but the cord length hasn't become an issue yet, and I've checked how much it was heating up after harder use and it was still room temp.