Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
'78 CJ5
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any thoughts on the "hamilton fuel injection" system for a 1978 cj5 AMC 258 motor?

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

·
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
10,938 Posts
Not so much hamilton but it's just a TBI system based off of GM TBI's.

Howell is a pretty reputable company doing this and they are based in michigan. Same prices as Hamilton, I'd lean twards Howell myself.

·
Are we there yet?
1,993 Posts
I've been running a propane conversion on my 258 for the past 9 years and have been impressed with how well the motor runs. If you are running mostly offroad and in areas where a carb is causing you issues, such as rocks then I'd give propane a look.

I'm preparing to swap out my propane unit and been looking at a Howell TBI... this is due to needing space in the rear of the jeep for a growing family, not due to performance.

·
getting dirty
971 Posts
There are a couple of other companies in Michigan that do TBI swaps, Performance Fuel Injection north of St Johns, I have a system from them on my 304, and Affordable Fuel Injection, think they have a place out in Oxford.

·
Registered
32 Posts
I have Affordable Fuel Injection on my motorhome. I think I paid 1200 for A complete kit for a ford 460 3 years ago

·
'78 CJ5
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Good to know, love to keep it local if I can...

·
Registered
728 Posts
I have a Howel on my 4.2L CJ8, by far, combined with the HEI upgrade, it was the best upgrade I made to the jeep.

·
'78 CJ5
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #8