Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
575 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Has anyone ever fixed fiberglass?
I have no experience. I have a few cracks in my tub due to previous owner putting the winshild frame on wrong. Drivers side is not cracked through. Where the top of tub meets the hood/vent it is barely cracked under the paint. On passenger side it is cracked all the way through just where the dash meets the door opening and is not sturdy at all. Previous owner attached the windshield frame by using 3 bolts going into the bottom of the windshild on both sides. The winshield is very springy. See pics....does this look fixable. What would be a good plane to follow.

·
Recovering XJ owner
5,620 Posts
It's fixable, but probably won't last. The stress cracks in fiberglass are very hard to repair and will almost always come back if not fixed correctly.

The repair: you basically need to grind from the backside until you get near the surface, but do not grind through. Lay a couple layers of glass, taking note on how thick it is so you don't run into any interference problems remounting the parts being repaired.

Once the backside is done, grind the front side down to the new glass and put down a layer or two, but not going beyond the finish surface. Once it's close let it cure, then putty/bondo in your surface, sand, primer and paint.

Do not lay glass past the surface ... it will not sand down very well. You'll have little hairs sticking out everywhere.

You can get duraglass (basically bondo w/ glass strands in it) from a autoparts store, but for structure you are definitely going to need to add a few layers of glass down as well.

·
Recovering XJ owner
5,620 Posts
you can also put masking tape on the surface, grind down close to it, laminate it, let it cure, remove the tape and then refinish the surface with a glaze coat.

This would be the easiest way.