Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1,539 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a senior engineering student at KU. Right now I have a good co-op doing pretty cool stuff (Powertrain development and instrumentation). Odds are I will have an opportunity awaiting me when I graduate (hopefully :dunie: )

I'm wondering what other careers paths people have pursued inside of the Mechanical Engineering feild. I know there is the obvious sales and management path, and the design type jobs, as well as civil/construction type stuff, but what are the other industries you have worked in or seen engineers work in that are a little less known.

I like being hands on and getting a little dirty every once and awhile but it's not a requirement. I kinda prefer fast paced work, and I dont neccessarily have to stay in Mi.

Lets hear it! I know there have to be some good ones out there!! :woot:

·
6'-5" 209LB 16YR LEFTWING
15,745 Posts
I am a senior engineering student at KU. Right now I have a good co-op doing pretty cool stuff (Powertrain development and instrumentation). Odds are I will have an opportunity awaiting me when I graduate (hopefully :dunie: )

I'm wondering what other careers paths people have pursued inside of the Mechanical Engineering feild. I know there is the obvious sales and management path, and the design type jobs, as well as civil/construction type stuff, but what are the other industries you have worked in or seen engineers work in that are a little less known.

I like being hands on and getting a little dirty every once and awhile but it's not a requirement. I kinda prefer fast paced work, and I dont neccessarily have to stay in Mi.

Lets hear it! I know there have to be some good ones out there!! :woot:
Dont go into Civil, if you are going to stay in this state, There is a lot of competition right now.

·
Registered
5,289 Posts