Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. so I don't know anything ... I'm told my driveshaft is bad and it will cost a million dollars to fix it .

Help. :teehee:

·
I'm not old, honest...
30,541 Posts
If you plan to wheel it's time for you to learn some mechanical abilities. The tools to change a u-joint can be bought for under $30. A u-joint costs about $15 & there are 2 on each driveshaft. So, for $60-100 you can do it yourself. My guess is you or a family member already has the tools.

Use the search function. I think there's a pretty good writeup on how to change one.

·
I'm not old, honest...
30,541 Posts
Actually if you pull it out, most decent auto parts stores will swap out the joints for a few bucks if you buy them there.

·
Registered
376 Posts
If its the front driveshaft its not a ujoint shaft so all the ujoint talk will not apply. You will need to replace the shaft. If u have more questions PM me

·
I am the law.
29,823 Posts
Newbie here. so I don't know anything ... I'm told my driveshaft is bad and it will cost a million dollars to fix it .
Properly define "bad". Your description is not very helpful.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
i took it to a shop they looked it over but did not actually say what the problem was, just stated they thought the front driveshaft was "bad" i can still drive it . it makes a loud klunking noise when going at idle speed, as of this morning it makes an even noisier klunking sound when at higher speed too. and this is in 2 wheel drive not 4 wheel

·
I am the law.
29,823 Posts
i took it to a shop they looked it over but did not actually say what the problem was
There's your problem right there. Did you go to the shop by yourself? As in, without a male?

·
I am the law.
29,823 Posts
i had a male with me and this is what we still got told