Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
gas, grass, and ass
2,814 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still a beginner at axles so please no hateful comments. I bought a set of axles to replace the ones that are in my truck. Eventually my truck will be a offroad only toy for r&v and silver lake. I can't find any axle trusses for the rear that say they fit my axle. Are all axle trusses for a 9.25 and dana 44 the same? Or are the tube diameters different?

·
Yooper In Training
7,281 Posts
Why not measure the tubes to see what size they are? You can make different trusses work on different axles, just need to know some of the key areas and similarities or differences to look for. From what I've seen, Artec has the best selection of different trusses

·
Direct Drive FTW
2,461 Posts
Ruff stuff sells a "medium weight truss" for like $100 and "truss extensions" for another $100 or so. Ruffstuff is known for strong quality parts.
Think there is a promo code in the vendor section.

You can grind the medium truss down to fit snug against your diff and slap the extensions against the main making adjustments as needed to give a perfect fit against your axle.

Grinder, flap disc, saw saw, files, and a welder are all the tools you will need.

·
Premium Member
3,673 Posts
With those tools you could make your own. Cardboard templates, go to local steel place. Have it all cut out. Then weld it together on your axle. Roughly same price, will fit how you want, look how you want and you'll have a custom truss you can say you made

·
Registered
5,573 Posts
I made this one last weekend for a four link jeep build I'm doing. But I'm pretty fucking handy.

·
skillicous
12,844 Posts
don't overthink it. It's just adding more steel to stiffen it up.

What tools do you currently have?

·
gas, grass, and ass
2,814 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
don't overthink it. It's just adding more steel to stiffen it up.

What tools do you currently have?