Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
dodge ram 1500 4x4
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
my 4x4 dont engage in the front axle i have no clue what could be the problem i was told the pin may be froze up but i dont know where it is. theres 4 bolts that hold the vaccum diaphram with the solinoid i have power there it holds vaccum fine. im new to 4x4 trucks so if anyone could help thanks:beerbang:

·
Chillin with the top off.
4,891 Posts
Check your transfer case switch they go bad alot.. Or your disc may be bad.. (they rot out)

·
Registered
252 Posts
jack it up and put it in 4 and see if your front drive shaft even spins. if not its prolly your hubs or the vacuum solenoid itself

·
I am the law.
29,823 Posts
vacuum actuator or hubs i would say. check vacuum at the actuator and you can rule that out maybe.
2nd-gen Rams don't have automatic hubs. They don't have lockouts at all. They are unit-bearing axles with CAD systems.

·
dodge ram 1500 4x4
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
i wish it had locking hubs itd be much easier, ill have to check the actuator ill pull it off and change it just to rule it out

·
BRAAAAAAAAP
209 Posts
Does you 4x4 dash light come on? If it doesn't it usually means the collard in the diaphram isn't sliding over and pushing a little button to turn the light on. My actuator was froze in place. I put 4x4 Posi Lok on my truck and i like it.

·
thats how i roll
26 Posts
check the actuator the make rebuild kits pretty cheap and its easy to do i just did one in my uncles 2001 3/4 to and my friends 1/2 to 95

·
Crazy Canuck
70 Posts
I just put a 4x4 posilok on mine and I love it. A few weeks earlier I removed the actuator to check inside and I had a bunch of ice inside there that was restricting the movement of the fork.

·
Premium Member
2,435 Posts