Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Say what?!?
2,864 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently I blew a brake line that runs back to the rear axle. I know that is a common line to rust out. I have already replaced it and manually bled the brakes. However, ever since then when I'm coming to a stop occasionally my ABS will engage. It doesn't always do it but enough that I know something isn't right. My thought is that there is air still in the system and I need to do an ABS bleed procedure with a scan tool. Is this true? I'm a Chrysler tech so I don't have direct access to a computer that will complete that action.

I was also told today that on these older trucks that sometimes rust builds up between the tone wheel and sensor and can cause this issue.

So I guess my question is, do I need to do an ABS bleed function with a computer after blowing a brake line?

·
Registered
3,518 Posts
I don't know if you need to, but if you think the ABS system needs to be bled, jump on a dirt road and let it cycle some fluid. Sometimes that works.

·
Reed my teef
2,723 Posts
I don't know if you need to, but if you think the ABS system needs to be bled, jump on a dirt road and let it cycle some fluid. Sometimes that works.
like leave a bleeder open a bit and run it for a bit? hows that work?

·
Say what?!?
2,864 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
If there is air in the system still it's just going to go somewhere else in the closed system. That makes no sense at all.

I've read there was a recall about this exact issue. I'm going to make a call in the morning and see if my truck was under that recall.

·
Registered
3,518 Posts
If you can cycle fluid through the ABS system you may be able to purge any air out. Yes, it won't disappear and you will still need to bleed the brakes. What else does the program tool do?