dyno tuning - Page 2 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 6th, 2019, 09:54 AM   #21
feva4u
LCG HIJKLMNOP
 
feva4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-07
Location: Caledonia, MI
Posts: 10,925
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sterlingfire View Post
Do you tune on a dyno, or on the road?
Honestly it doesn't matter to me either way, if you can tune while i drive, that would work for me. I don't need a dyno, just a proficient tuner. I really don't care how much power it's making, just need it run good.

I only tune my own stuff on the road. I'm just giving you info on what to talk to the person tuning for you about. I'm just a hack that bought software once upon a time
__________________
My Jeep
feva4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 6th, 2019, 09:56 AM   #22
feva4u
LCG HIJKLMNOP
 
feva4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-07
Location: Caledonia, MI
Posts: 10,925
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by busyfixin View Post
I know this, when I got to Baker, it would not start or even pop. When I got home, (almost six hours due to the weather) it was still -25 and it started right up and drove out of the enclosed trailer then onto a gooseneck no problems. I can't say for sure the tune was perfect at that temp, and TJ did acknowledge that without some logs, it wouldn't be, but it was drivable at that temp.

Sent from my SM-G930VL using Tapatalk
For sure. TJ tunes some of the fastest LS stuff in the world. I haven't heard of any bad dealings with Baker as long as you ask for what you're looking for up front and know that time is money haha.
__________________
My Jeep
feva4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2019, 11:37 AM   #23
hosejockey4506
Visiting Admin
 
hosejockey4506's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: fenton
Posts: 9,066
iTrader: (45)
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Default

Josh West at 208 motorsports has been good for remote tuning but would require you to have something similar to HP tuners along with a Wideband o2 setup that can data log.

for something thats pretty off the shelf(cam swap) I think most any tuner could get you a tune pretty close first shot

another option is a guy that goes by "mail order tuner". I know hes well known with the guys who built my engine and they promote him, send him your specs and ecm and he mails you it back. He did just have open heart surgery this week so may not respond to emails right now.

Last edited by hosejockey4506; November 6th, 2019 at 11:41 AM.
hosejockey4506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2019, 03:25 PM   #24
Jrgunn5150
Senior Member
 
Jrgunn5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-13-10
Location: Ionia Michigan
Posts: 2,140
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

Vector is pretty decent as well.

For the price involved, I also just chose to buy the software myself and learn.
Jrgunn5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2019, 03:49 PM   #25
sterlingfire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-11-14
Location: sterling, not sterling heights...
Posts: 704
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Im definitely giving Baker a call. I want to actually get the parts in my hands before i call him to schedule or talk about anything though. I hate jumping the gun with vendors. I always feel bad if something ends up falling through and it doesn't happen, or i have to cancel.
Thanks guys i do appreciate the responses!
sterlingfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2019, 08:00 AM   #26
roll-bar Bob
Senior Member
 
roll-bar Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-06
Location: M CITY
Posts: 3,533
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sterlingfire View Post
Im definitely giving Baker a call. I want to actually get the parts in my hands before i call him to schedule or talk about anything though. I hate jumping the gun with vendors. I always feel bad if something ends up falling through and it doesn't happen, or i have to cancel.
Thanks guys i do appreciate the responses!
So what was the outcome????
roll-bar Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2019, 03:14 PM   #27
sterlingfire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-11-14
Location: sterling, not sterling heights...
Posts: 704
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roll-bar Bob View Post
So what was the outcome????
Nothing. Im building a completely new rig. It's in the build section. It won't require much tuning now. Just deletes which my buddy can do.
sterlingfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2019, 06:15 PM   #28
wrath
Project Antitube
 
wrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Chelsea, MI
Posts: 838
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to wrath
Default

I thought about this for a while.

I'd probably just get hptuners and a wideband. Do it yourself. Get a ballpark tune off the forum. It is kind of labor intensive but it is also kind of fun.

I do it myself and it is kind of labor intensive. The nice thing is if you're having trouble you just pull out the laptop and the cable.
wrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2019, 08:41 PM   #29
Ryanw10
Senior Member
 
Ryanw10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-08-12
Location: Holland
Posts: 2,058
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrath View Post
I thought about this for a while.

I'd probably just get hptuners and a wideband. Do it yourself. Get a ballpark tune off the forum. It is kind of labor intensive but it is also kind of fun.

I do it myself and it is kind of labor intensive. The nice thing is if you're having trouble you just pull out the laptop and the cable.
I went this method and its definitely fun, but not practical at all. I bet I have a full 40 hour work week into just research and basic tuning to figure out what works, what doesnt, how stuff reacts etc... and my tune is no where near what an experienced tuner could get dialed in probably only a couple hours, and less than the cost of hp tuners.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Ryanw10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2019, 10:21 PM   #30
sterlingfire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-11-14
Location: sterling, not sterling heights...
Posts: 704
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Yeah, I'm not learning to tune. I have enough on my plate already. Leaving it to pros is right in my wheelhouse on this one!
sterlingfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2019, 06:20 AM   #31
wrath
Project Antitube
 
wrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Chelsea, MI
Posts: 838
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to wrath
Default

HPtuners and the knowledge to use it is kind of like any other tool. If you're old and going to die soon there is no sense in buying a Dewalt power tool when a Harbor Freight cheapy will probably last. Or if you're going to do it once.

It's when you have years ahead of you and you might want to do it a bunch of times that it makes sense to spend a bunch of money and time learning how to use it.

I'm still kind of on the fence about it though. Lots of labor to learn how to do a solid mediocre job tuning. I call it "about as close as a Quadrajet tuning". Most of my "trials" have been on my commute to work. Most of my learning would have been while watching TV but instead trying to learn the basics.

I think if I was a business I'd totally pay someone else to do it. Or going racing professionally I'd pay someone else that's done it well a thousand times. But if I wanted to do it related to a hobby... I'd kick around the idea of doing it myself.

The software, for me, paid for itself in the first year just because of the scanner. Saved me so much time in diagnostics it is unbelievable. I have a Scantool MX and Torque Pro on my phone which gets me 60% there but VCMSuite Scanner... no contest. I think I paid $550 off fleabay after a pile of fleabay discounts (normally $700 back then IIRC) for 12 credits and the first generation MPVI years ago. Worth every penny of the Pro just for the scanner.
wrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2019, 09:19 AM   #32
feva4u
LCG HIJKLMNOP
 
feva4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-07
Location: Caledonia, MI
Posts: 10,925
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Default

People laugh when I tell them to set aside 6 months to learn how to "tune". I started in 2005 For the price of the terminator X, I'd wouldn't recommend HP tuners to anyone for the price. The learning curve is literally 1/50th on holly's software and the box is much more capable. It's not that HPtuners can't get you there, it's that "most people" and hp tuners can't get to what a termi X does for you.
__________________
My Jeep
feva4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2019, 10:10 AM   #33
sterlingfire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-11-14
Location: sterling, not sterling heights...
Posts: 704
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

I run my own business, have 4 kids, a wife, and have to cut my own firewood for heat... I'm definitely not going to undertake learning to tune rofl. Plus there whole slew of other things i have going on a day to day basis. One day i gotta finish my house lol! That's a full time job in its own right.
sterlingfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2019, 05:37 PM   #34
wrath
Project Antitube
 
wrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Chelsea, MI
Posts: 838
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to wrath
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by feva4u View Post
People laugh when I tell them to set aside 6 months to learn how to "tune". I started in 2005 For the price of the terminator X, I'd wouldn't recommend HP tuners to anyone for the price. The learning curve is literally 1/50th on holly's software and the box is much more capable. It's not that HPtuners can't get you there, it's that "most people" and hp tuners can't get to what a termi X does for you.
I put a FITech on a Cadillac 500 for that reason. The Holley system just "learns" like everything else does off a base map. It's "close enough". If I was doing an engine swap on a MPFI engine and wanted a plug and play system it is difficult to beat the Holley setup for the price.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sterlingfire View Post
I run my own business, have 4 kids, a wife, and have to cut my own firewood for heat... I'm definitely not going to undertake learning to tune rofl. Plus there whole slew of other things i have going on a day to day basis. One day i gotta finish my house lol! That's a full time job in its own right.
I'm not sure what you meant but what I read is:
You have an opportunity to write off the investment in "productivity software".
You have 4 indentured servants.
You have a person to assist in collecting and stacking wood.
wrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2019, 08:03 AM   #35
roll-bar Bob
Senior Member
 
roll-bar Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-06
Location: M CITY
Posts: 3,533
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

yep if they can wipe there ass they can help with the wood



RBB
roll-bar Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2019, 10:52 AM   #36
sterlingfire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-11-14
Location: sterling, not sterling heights...
Posts: 704
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

They do, it just doesn't save me enough time to put the time into learning tuning... the business is the most time consuming portion of my life, family next, house, then all the other shit lol
sterlingfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2019, 11:07 AM   #37
busyfixin
Balls Deep
 
busyfixin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-24-06
Location: williamsburg, MI
Posts: 4,549
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

FITech also has a standalone "self learning" type LS controller at a good price ~$850 IIRC, or ~$1050 with trans control. If I were doing an LS in just about anything, I'd be looking pretty hard at that setup.

Sent from my SM-G930VL using Tapatalk
busyfixin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2019, 06:53 PM   #38
sterlingfire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-11-14
Location: sterling, not sterling heights...
Posts: 704
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by busyfixin View Post
FITech also has a standalone "self learning" type LS controller at a good price ~$850 IIRC, or ~$1050 with trans control. If I were doing an LS in just about anything, I'd be looking pretty hard at that setup.

Sent from my SM-G930VL using Tapatalk
Does it need to control a 6l80e? Can it control a 6l80e?
I know i could look it all up and find the answers, but how much tune can it achieve in one session, 5% 10% change in tables? Some learning software in the past would only allow 5% curve changes in each session.
sterlingfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2019, 11:50 AM   #39
busyfixin
Balls Deep
 
busyfixin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-24-06
Location: williamsburg, MI
Posts: 4,549
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

No idea really, I just know it exists.

Sent from my SM-G930VL using Tapatalk
busyfixin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2019, 11:39 AM   #40
JohnnyJ
Low Range Drifter
 
JohnnyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Hartland, MI
Posts: 7,976
iTrader: (38)
Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sterlingfire View Post
Does it need to control a 6l80e? Can it control a 6l80e?
I know i could look it all up and find the answers, but how much tune can it achieve in one session, 5% 10% change in tables? Some learning software in the past would only allow 5% curve changes in each session.
6L80E is a clutch to clutch transmission, much different than the 4Lxx transmissions. I'd be shocked if the budget friendly controllers could handle it.

Likely choice is HP tuners or similar to tune the factory controls.
JohnnyJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 
Page generated in 0.66027 seconds with 84 queries