99 gmc jimmy project - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

Rig Builds and Pics Introduce your rig or post a buildup here.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 27th, 2009, 12:33 AM   #1
beaterk5
Senior Member
 
beaterk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-07
Location: dansville-48819
Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to beaterk5
Default 99 gmc jimmy project

well most of you dont know but my dad passed on nov 1st from cancer and this was left to me. i had driven it through most of high school and some of college and let it get in bad shape. now im slowly working on my destruction from neglect during that 50k miles. my plans include sas'n it with a hp60 in the front and a 14ff out back with 410's or 456's. sky bracket's up front shackels and springs out back with rancho waggy springs up front. and probly some 35's in a bfg mt flavor or similar.

spec's as of right now

99 gmc jimmy 2dr
4.3, 4l60e, with p.b. 4x4
138k miles
and riding on 31-10.50-15 mastercraft corser mt's (thanks cj65)
and 6" hellas mounted in the grill



let me know what you think of my plans and feel free to give construtive critisizem(sp)

here's how it sits now



beaterk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 27th, 2009, 01:25 AM   #2
boggin-machine
Senior Member
 
boggin-machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-06
Location: bay city
Posts: 11,653
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

why would you go to a 60 and 14 bolt to only run 35s. it wouldnt be worth the time and effort with the weight gained from the bigger axles and loss of ground clearance.
boggin-machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2009, 01:40 AM   #3
beaterk5
Senior Member
 
beaterk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-07
Location: dansville-48819
Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to beaterk5
Default

because why use a 30 and break it all the time with 35's i would rather over kill then fix it every other time i wheel it. i would settle for a hp44 8 lug but i would like a 60
beaterk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2009, 01:58 AM   #4
boggin-machine
Senior Member
 
boggin-machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-06
Location: bay city
Posts: 11,653
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

id run a 44 and a 60. save the cash on the 60s. id run atleast 38s at the smallest if i were to run a 60. what do you plan to use this for? just mud or cruising around?



ive been wanting to build one like this for a while. my buddy has one that he wanted to sell cheap at one point. i really like highbees rig on the moogs from wgm. i wouldnt go that big though. im sure what ever the turn out it will be a sweet rig since it was your old mans. just do it the right way.
boggin-machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2009, 02:12 AM   #5
beedle4
Senior Member
 
beedle4's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-08
Location: waterford, MI
Posts: 1,266
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You will deff want 4:56

and yeah maybe a 9" and D44
beedle4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2009, 02:20 AM   #6
bigdogwaggy
Senior Member
 
bigdogwaggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-09
Location: s.w. michigan
Posts: 952
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beaterk5 View Post
because why use a 30 and break it all the time with 35's i would rather over kill then fix it every other time i wheel it. i would settle for a hp44 8 lug but i would like a 60
i agree.. i broke my d44 a couple times being easy with a tired 350 and 35's and even if i dont bump up the tire size i am going up in motor that i am just tired of fixing it.


the jimmy looks good btw, and good luck with the build. i like overkill also.. build it how you want it man.. (they tend to last a long time overbuilt too.)
bigdogwaggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2009, 03:18 AM   #7
beaterk5
Senior Member
 
beaterk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-07
Location: dansville-48819
Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to beaterk5
Default

thanks guy's, and beedle4 are your roof lights on the lugage rack or a light bar??
beaterk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2009, 03:29 AM   #8
beaterk5
Senior Member
 
beaterk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-07
Location: dansville-48819
Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to beaterk5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boggin-machine View Post
id run a 44 and a 60. save the cash on the 60s. id run atleast 38s at the smallest if i were to run a 60. what do you plan to use this for? just mud or cruising around?



ive been wanting to build one like this for a while. my buddy has one that he wanted to sell cheap at one point. i really like highbees rig on the moogs from wgm. i wouldnt go that big though. im sure what ever the turn out it will be a sweet rig since it was your old mans. just do it the right way.
ya im planning on a wheelable d.d. but i want the ability to go bigger if chose. im planning 35's but i wouldnt mind 37's if i get a deal. with a spring over sas on rancho 44044 waggy springs ill get ~ 7" of lift depending on lenght and placement of shackels so i would need to do a b.l. to go much bigger so i would say 35-37's would be a good cut off for driveability and reliability. and the 60/14 would fall into the reliability i dont want to have a broke d.d. if it was a toy i would probly go cheap and 44/9" it.
beaterk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2009, 09:25 PM   #9
BIGDANE36
BUY MY TRUCK
 
BIGDANE36's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-07-07
Location: howell
Posts: 1,169
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to BIGDANE36
Default

updates
BIGDANE36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2009, 06:09 PM   #10
beaterk5
Senior Member
 
beaterk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-07
Location: dansville-48819
Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to beaterk5
Default

nope im still broke
beaterk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2010, 10:15 AM   #11
beaterk5
Senior Member
 
beaterk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-07
Location: dansville-48819
Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to beaterk5
Default

so i found some thing to replace dd duty so once i have that up and running it will be time to start on it, ive found every thing and price's. i think im going to 8lug 44 it insted of 60 and some 37" goodyear's or km2's. it will be slow going but once i have all the part's i plan on digging in deep.

i was woundering how involved is it to switch it to a manual tcase from an older s-blazer? i have 2 complete one's so part's wont be a problem.

here's som pic's from yesterday i was impressed, i burried it 1/2 up the door's in a drift and it pulled it self right out with some right foot






Last edited by beaterk5; January 13th, 2010 at 10:19 AM.
beaterk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2010, 11:42 AM   #12
Ford forever
Bought another jeep
 
Join Date: 01-28-09
Location: North Muskegon, michigan
Posts: 660
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Tcase swap shouldnt be 2 bad other than the center console. That
is the only thing i would see havin a problem with on this style blazer,
but just find the console at a junkyard already set up for a manul tcase
for this body style blazer and your set.
Ford forever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2010, 11:45 AM   #13
beaterk5
Senior Member
 
beaterk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-07
Location: dansville-48819
Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to beaterk5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ford forever View Post
Tcase swap shouldnt be 2 bad other than the center console. That
is the only thing i would see havin a problem with on this style blazer,
but just find the console at a junkyard already set up for a manul tcase
for this body style blazer and your set.
ive never seen a newer one with a manual tcase
beaterk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2010, 12:08 PM   #14
Ford forever
Bought another jeep
 
Join Date: 01-28-09
Location: North Muskegon, michigan
Posts: 660
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default



Take one out of an older style blazer and leave your arm rest
just take the floor shift part, or take the whole thing....
or you could cut the one in you jimmy currently.

Do you have column shift or floor shift?

Last edited by Ford forever; January 13th, 2010 at 12:12 PM.
Ford forever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2010, 12:27 PM   #15
beaterk5
Senior Member
 
beaterk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-07
Location: dansville-48819
Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to beaterk5
Default

ok i see what your saying, and i have column, and i have 2 of the shifter's you posted i have 2 complete box style's an 89 and a 92
beaterk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.22212 seconds with 67 queries