Computer Gurus? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 26th, 2008, 12:45 PM   #1
Lemur
i don't much care for you
 
Lemur's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-21-07
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Computer Gurus?

I just did a system recovery on my computer.... did I lose everything? if not, where the hell is it all?
Lemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old June 26th, 2008, 12:49 PM   #2
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

it reinstalled windows into the windows folder and thus wiped the registry. as such, if you look in your c:/documents and settings/ folder you will see ( if you chose the same logon name again ) one folder of that name and another of MACHINENAME.logonname. All your old shit will probably be in the former folder.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 12:58 PM   #3
Lemur
i don't much care for you
 
Lemur's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-21-07
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

not seeing anything
Lemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 01:01 PM   #4
Lemur
i don't much care for you
 
Lemur's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-21-07
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

all my documents are gone, my music, my movies, all my work stuff. everything. all my programs seem to still be here... why would it erase all my files but leave the programs?
Lemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 01:04 PM   #5
TJJEEP
Senior Member
 
TJJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Orchard Lake
Posts: 2,843
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to TJJEEP Send a message via MSN to TJJEEP
Default

Try doing a search on your hard drive. Go to my computer, right click on C: and select search. to search for mp3's search for *.mp3 then if they are on your computer still it will state which directory they are in
__________________
If you're like me you like to talk to things. I'm Gary Busey!!
TJJEEP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 01:06 PM   #6
Lemur
i don't much care for you
 
Lemur's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-21-07
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i found a couple things....but it was stuff stashed away in my folder lock
Lemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 01:07 PM   #7
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

recovery only gives 2 choices. 1 is a full recovery which entails formatting the drive and starting from scratch. The second is a windows folder reinstall which would have left your profile folder intact if the OS is win2k/xp or newer.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 01:09 PM   #8
Lemur
i don't much care for you
 
Lemur's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-21-07
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

it is XP. couldnt have done a full.. like i said, i still have programs and a few files stashed away.

so just a matter of finding it all.
Lemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 01:12 PM   #9
Naypalm[]Maker
steveo's alt...
 
Naypalm[]Maker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-15-07
Location: Davison
Posts: 822
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

What you need to do for next time is have a 5-10GB partition for windows, then use whatevers left as a program partition. I've been doing that for years, going from XP to Vista to Linux visa versa.
Naypalm[]Maker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 01:13 PM   #10
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

well, if you did option 2 your old files should be in one of the profile folders under docs and settings. It don't work any other way unless you did something else.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 01:15 PM   #11
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Naypalm[]Maker View Post
What you need to do for next time is have a 5-10GB partition for windows, then use whatevers left as a program partition. I've been doing that for years, going from XP to Vista to Linux visa versa.
only problem with that approach is almost all the newer programs install half their settings in the windows folder and thus if you reload the OS partition you have to reload the app from scratch as well.

Then again, most newer programs also default save data to your my doc profile folder so you could use a backup program to simply backup your profile to another drive/partition. This is what I do. 1.35TB primary partition
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 01:16 PM   #12
TJJEEP
Senior Member
 
TJJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Orchard Lake
Posts: 2,843
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to TJJEEP Send a message via MSN to TJJEEP
Default

Are the programs you are seeing the ones that came with the computer when you first got it? ie buring software, dvd software, MS Works or such? Or are they programs you have added after that?
__________________
If you're like me you like to talk to things. I'm Gary Busey!!
TJJEEP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 01:18 PM   #13
Lemur
i don't much care for you
 
Lemur's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-21-07
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

before i did the recovery, i detected a malware i could not get rid of.... then it locked up last night. this morning when i tried to boot up and log into my username it told me it could not detect my profile settings.
Lemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 01:21 PM   #14
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemur View Post
before i did the recovery, i detected a malware i could not get rid of.... then it locked up last night. this morning when i tried to boot up and log into my username it told me it could not detect my profile settings.
thats quite common actually. each profile has a reg file in addition to the computer's master reg file. alot of malware will try and modify the user reg file and corrupt it in the process. Sometimes you can logon in safe mode and fix the issue or delete the profile and create a new one.

In any event, even a corrupt profile registry has no means of deleting your entire doc&set profile folder.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 01:25 PM   #15
Naypalm[]Maker
steveo's alt...
 
Naypalm[]Maker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-15-07
Location: Davison
Posts: 822
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lothos View Post
only problem with that approach is almost all the newer programs install half their settings in the windows folder and thus if you reload the OS partition you have to reload the app from scratch as well.

Then again, most newer programs also default save data to your my doc profile folder so you could use a backup program to simply backup your profile to another drive/partition. This is what I do. 1.35TB primary partition
Yeah it has it's Pro's and cons, BUT I use a program called Deepfreeze which is awesome against malware and viruses. All you gotta do if you get a virus is reboot your computer, and it disappears!
Naypalm[]Maker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 01:27 PM   #16
Lemur
i don't much care for you
 
Lemur's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-21-07
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

when i try to search for mp3's i dont find any of my music
Lemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 07:40 PM   #17
Lemur
i don't much care for you
 
Lemur's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-21-07
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I did some research on the web and found some advice virtually identical to yours.. i followed the advice to the letter and still no dice. I am so lost i dont know what to do
Lemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 07:44 PM   #18
Rockstar
sɐƃǝʌ sɐן
 
Rockstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-07
Location: Taylor,Mi
Posts: 8,504
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

i would get a new PC if i was you. something in the 2008s year :tonka:
Rockstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 08:31 PM   #19
Lemur
i don't much care for you
 
Lemur's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-21-07
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockstar View Post
i would get a new PC if i was you. something in the 2008s year :tonka:
Thanks for your insight. your advice combined with another 50 cents i could make a call from a payphone. :stan3:

it is actually a computer bought after vista came out.....but like most intelligent people i didnt want vista.

vista, (much like your token of knowledge) is useless and usually creates more problems than it solves.



i am usually very good with computers. i used to build them for christs sake...but this is apparently above my head
Lemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 11:14 PM   #20
Rockstar
sɐƃǝʌ sɐן
 
Rockstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-07
Location: Taylor,Mi
Posts: 8,504
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemur View Post
Thanks for your insight. your advice combined with another 50 cents i could make a call from a payphone. :stan3:

it is actually a computer bought after vista came out.....but like most intelligent people i didnt want vista.

vista, (much like your token of knowledge) is useless and usually creates more problems than it solves.



i am usually very good with computers. i used to build them for christs sake...but this is apparently above my head
Please dont tell me your using Windows 98

cus from Vista to 98 it will not save your stuff
Rockstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
Tags
windows is teh suck

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.19814 seconds with 82 queries