05 f-250 auto locking hubs - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 17th, 2008, 03:31 PM   #1
High Center Hancho
In the band!
 
Join Date: 07-10-07
Location: Genesee County
Posts: 13,062
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 05 f-250 auto locking hubs

does anyone know if anyone makes an aftermarket set for these...dealership wants $200 a piece and its only the part you turn that went bad?
High Center Hancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old June 19th, 2008, 06:16 PM   #2
Jeeperz Creeperz
Senior Member
 
Jeeperz Creeperz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Wyandotte, MI
Posts: 3,120
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via AIM to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via MSN to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via Yahoo to Jeeperz Creeperz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Hancho View Post
does anyone know if anyone makes an aftermarket set for these...dealership wants $200 a piece and its only the part you turn that went bad?
Warn, Mile Marker, Superwinch....
Jeeperz Creeperz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2008, 09:06 AM   #3
bj house
Senior Member
 
bj house's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-02-06
Location: Auburn Hills, MI
Posts: 5,289
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I just pulled mine off when I did my brakes last week . One very easy snap ring and I just sprayed PB blaster in the back side left it upside down for an hour and worked it a few times :)

just curious anyone care to explain to me how the "auto" feature works without vacuum? I have the Auto/Manual hubs on my 02
bj house is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2008, 11:00 AM   #4
Jeeperz Creeperz
Senior Member
 
Jeeperz Creeperz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Wyandotte, MI
Posts: 3,120
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via AIM to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via MSN to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via Yahoo to Jeeperz Creeperz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bj house View Post
I just pulled mine off when I did my brakes last week . One very easy snap ring and I just sprayed PB blaster in the back side left it upside down for an hour and worked it a few times :)

just curious anyone care to explain to me how the "auto" feature works without vacuum? I have the Auto/Manual hubs on my 02
You should have a vacuum line going to the knuckle.
Jeeperz Creeperz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2008, 09:23 PM   #5
bj house
Senior Member
 
bj house's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-02-06
Location: Auburn Hills, MI
Posts: 5,289
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeeperz Creeperz View Post
You should have a vacuum line going to the knuckle.
hmm I saw a line for the aBS sensor but that was about it.
bj house is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2008, 09:33 PM   #6
bigcountrysg
Countryboy
 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-07-07
Location: Willis Michigan
Posts: 1,599
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bj house View Post
I just pulled mine off when I did my brakes last week . One very easy snap ring and I just sprayed PB blaster in the back side left it upside down for an hour and worked it a few times :)

just curious anyone care to explain to me how the "auto" feature works without vacuum? I have the Auto/Manual hubs on my 02
The autolocking works by vaccuum. The vaccuum pump is located on the Passenger side wheel well in the engine compartment. It is electric vaccuum pump. It also supplies the vaccuum for the Air control for the vents inside the cab.

Usually when your auto locking hubs stop working. It is from the hub seal. You will have to remove the hub, wheelbearing assembly to replace this seal. A syptom is when you engage the 4wheeldrive the hubs don't lock. If you have the a/c on or the heat vent on it goes to defrost when you engage 4wheeldrive.

Warn, Mile Marker, both make replacement hubs for these trucks. But they do not have the auto locking feature. They are the old style lock and unlock manual hubs.
bigcountrysg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2008, 09:34 PM   #7
bigcountrysg
Countryboy
 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-07-07
Location: Willis Michigan
Posts: 1,599
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Hancho View Post
does anyone know if anyone makes an aftermarket set for these...dealership wants $200 a piece and its only the part you turn that went bad?
Take the hub apart clean it, lube it and put it back together. Unless it actually broke. But I never seen one break. I see them get frozed up. I clean mine every time I do my brakes.
bigcountrysg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 08:33 AM   #8
Jeeperz Creeperz
Senior Member
 
Jeeperz Creeperz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Wyandotte, MI
Posts: 3,120
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via AIM to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via MSN to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via Yahoo to Jeeperz Creeperz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bj house View Post
hmm I saw a line for the aBS sensor but that was about it.
Should be a little nipple sticking out the front side of the knuckle.

Perhaps you don't really have auto-locking hubs?
Jeeperz Creeperz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 11:05 AM   #9
bronco91shee
Newbie
 
bronco91shee's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-22-07
Location: Dearborn, mi
Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

well working at the dealership for a few years on these trucks....i try to tell all the guys i know to d the obvious...just lock them in manually every few weeks. all it takes to to cycle them every once in awhile. and certainly if you do your own work, lube them every time you do brakes or anything....sometimes you can have a stuck one come back if you soak it in a bottle of sumthing for a few days...i have brought a few back this way that the customer could not afford to replace. other than that, yes there are plenty of aftermarkets.
and it is a vaccum system, if the line is not running down, pulling vaccum or your 3 seals inside are not any good, you wont engage. if you take the kunckle off, just plan on doing all three seals( the axle, vaccum and th oring-yellow.) any ford parts will know exactly which 3 you need, b/c techs replace them as a set every time. also, the chances of getting the big seal on the axle correctly without the special tool is not good. bring the axle in when you buy the parts, slip the tech a 5 spot to put it on for you. i cannot tell you how many customers i have seen come back with a new destroyed seal...feel bad for them, but inform them i have to do it to make it right. also on reassembly, there is a plastic washer with slots in it. make sure the slots are facing in, adn if you would like we usually make th slots a lil bigger so you get better vaccum thru it...
hope this helps, i know these hubs cause alot of problems, but its usually due to lack of maintance or cycling of the hubs
bronco91shee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.16813 seconds with 47 queries