Transfer case flip? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 19th, 2008, 09:46 PM   #1
thrill20
Senior Member
 
thrill20's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-20-07
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 2,163
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Transfer case flip?

Ok, I've searched google, pirate, ih8mud, and here and haven't been able to find an answer.

I planned on running a full ford drive train in my FJ40. 351 or 302ho, C6, and Np205. I've stumbled accross a pretty good deal on axles, but the front is a passenger side drop. What options do I have if I want to keep my C6? I've searched for somekind of flip kit, but haven't found anything. Can I use a chevy Np205, or are they totally different? I don't really want to start from scratch on my drive train as I have the 5.0/C6/205 already, and I'm debating on a fuel injected 351.

I hate to pass up these axles, but are there any good options that are not rediculously expensive.

Thanks,
Will
thrill20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 19th, 2008, 09:48 PM   #2
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,438
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

all np cases use the same bolt pattern. You'll just have to make sure the input shaft will work
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2008, 09:52 PM   #3
Jeepaholic
Axle Guru Extraordinaire
 
Jeepaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-06
Location: Owosso
Posts: 7,309
iTrader: (116)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jeepaholic Send a message via MSN to Jeepaholic
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plato2k5 View Post
all np cases use the same bolt pattern. You'll just have to make sure the input shaft will work
Nope.

If you find a 6 bolt round pattern chevy 205 and then swap in the 31 spline ford 205 input that should bolt up (might have to redrill some holes)
Jeepaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2008, 09:57 PM   #4
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,438
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

what are you saying nope to??? that all np cases have the same bolt pattern? Or that you will have to make sure the input shaft fits??

just wan't to figure out exactly what i said was wrong, or is all of it lol??
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2008, 10:03 PM   #5
thrill20
Senior Member
 
thrill20's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-20-07
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 2,163
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I did just come accross a data sheet on high impact that tells the difference. Well, sorta. If I find the correct chevy 205, I should be able to change the input. They both have 6 hole bolt patterns, but it doesn't say if they are the same.

Thanks for the replys though.

You got one of them sitting around Adam?
thrill20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2008, 10:12 PM   #6
Jeepaholic
Axle Guru Extraordinaire
 
Jeepaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-06
Location: Owosso
Posts: 7,309
iTrader: (116)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jeepaholic Send a message via MSN to Jeepaholic
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plato2k5 View Post
what are you saying nope to??? that all np cases have the same bolt pattern? Or that you will have to make sure the input shaft fits??

just wan't to figure out exactly what i said was wrong, or is all of it lol??
They all don't have the same pattern, most old chevy's use a figure 8 pattern.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thrill20 View Post
I did just come accross a data sheet on high impact that tells the difference. Well, sorta. If I find the correct chevy 205, I should be able to change the input. They both have 6 hole bolt patterns, but it doesn't say if they are the same.

Thanks for the replys though.

You got one of them sitting around Adam?
Nope, I don't usually don't carry that chevy crap :tonka:
Jeepaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2008, 10:14 PM   #7
thrill20
Senior Member
 
thrill20's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-20-07
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 2,163
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99grandtj View Post
Nope, I don't usually don't carry that chevy crap :tonka:
Understandable.......
thrill20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2008, 10:19 PM   #8
bigcountrysg
Countryboy
 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-07-07
Location: Willis Michigan
Posts: 1,599
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have a chevy 203 sitting in my barn. It is a passenger side drop, I can check the bolt pattern for you. As well as the spline count.
bigcountrysg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.14950 seconds with 44 queries