Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old April 29th, 2008, 09:10 PM   #1
ddeadserious
Senior Member
 
ddeadserious's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-20-06
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 5,071
iTrader: (44)
Send a message via AIM to ddeadserious
COMPUTER HELP(somewhat advanced help, I'm not dumb)

So I'm trying to get some data off of a laptop hard drive for my neighbor.

The computer does not boot, it stops at MUP.SYS when starting in safe mode.

I tried using the recovery console from the XP install disc with no avail.

So we ordered a hard drive enclosure, correct for the hard drive. It plugged right in. It only costed $10, so we were just going to put the drive in it, plug it into another computer, pull the data, and reinstall windows on the drive after putting it back in the original computer.

None of the 3 computers in my house can see or do anything useful with the drive, they all want to reformat.

The Vista laptop sees the drive and shows it as an 11.8GB drive with 687MB free(it's an 80GB drive) and the only thing it shows on the drive is a folder named RECOVERY, and it shows no files in there. There are no hidden files either. When I plug it into my Mac, the HD beeps as if it's connecting and stuff, but nothing ever show up on my computer. Our XP computer sees the drive, but says "The drive is empty" when I try to see anything on it.

Advice/ideas?
ddeadserious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 09:14 PM   #2
BlooMule
LENORE!!!
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: A little North of Deetroit and a little South of Roseville
Posts: 23,207
iTrader: (12)
Here's something I found on a quick search:

The main reasons for this Windows XP or Win 2000 boot hang or alleged mup.sys issue are:

* Hard disk failure or corruption
* A corrupted registry or registry hive
* New hardware has been installed but not did not completely "Register or re-Register" correctly
* New hardware has been installed but it is faulty or failing
* The new hardware's driver or windows itself has been compromised (Disk data corruption or by a virus) or (rare) needs to be updated
* The power supply is marginal in output or failing (Common per user feedback)
* BIOS\ESCD\Motherboard chipset driver conflict with a component, its driver, or its registry data
* Existing hardware including the motherboard may have failed in a specific way but not catastrophically.


From http://www.aitechsolutions.net/mupdotsysXPhang.html

If the HD is bad, that would explain why it's not working in the enclosure.

Was the laptop dropped?
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 09:18 PM   #3
ddeadserious
Senior Member
 
ddeadserious's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-20-06
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 5,071
iTrader: (44)
Send a message via AIM to ddeadserious
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlooMule View Post
Here's something I found on a quick search:

The main reasons for this Windows XP or Win 2000 boot hang or alleged mup.sys issue are:

* Hard disk failure or corruption
* A corrupted registry or registry hive
* New hardware has been installed but not did not completely "Register or re-Register" correctly
* New hardware has been installed but it is faulty or failing
* The new hardware's driver or windows itself has been compromised (Disk data corruption or by a virus) or (rare) needs to be updated
* The power supply is marginal in output or failing (Common per user feedback)
* BIOS\ESCD\Motherboard chipset driver conflict with a component, its driver, or its registry data
* Existing hardware including the motherboard may have failed in a specific way but not catastrophically.


From http://www.aitechsolutions.net/mupdotsysXPhang.html

If the HD is bad, that would explain why it's not working in the enclosure.

Was the laptop dropped?

Thanks. I'll throw it back in the computer and try some more stuff.

There was no explainable reason as to why it stopped working.
ddeadserious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 09:26 PM   #4
BlooMule
LENORE!!!
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: A little North of Deetroit and a little South of Roseville
Posts: 23,207
iTrader: (12)
I asked because the same fault came up when a friend's laptop fell from a desk to a carpeted floor. Turns out the heads crashed, effectively destroying the drive. This is also an issue with the cheap enclosures, I ruined an old 6 gig 2.5" drive when i set it down a little too hard. (slipped out of my hand)
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 09:37 PM   #5
Banditracing
Newbie
 
Join Date: 03-19-08
Location: Flint
Posts: 2
iTrader: (1)
I'm having the same exact problem with my desktop, (using the wifes computer now....). Assuming it was the POS seagate drive that I was using (Had 2 identical drives purchased at the same tune both now failed, one 1 1/2 years ago) Just picked up a new Raptor X as replacement though. Glad I store the My Documents folder on a different hard drive so I only lost some new bookmarks, and one days worth of unarchived e-mail (got lucky.....)

The first time it happened, XP booted to the splash screen, and froze, got recovery console, ran chkdsk /r (repair) took 2 hours. System rebooted into XP and I completed some xtra backups, when I rebooted the next day, same issue, above did not work. Very much considering Vista 64........I heard Crysis might give me another reason not to work on my stuff.........
Banditracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 09:56 PM   #6
BlooMule
LENORE!!!
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: A little North of Deetroit and a little South of Roseville
Posts: 23,207
iTrader: (12)
I really doubt Vista will help in this, as it still uses the registry.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 10:06 PM   #7
MrGrey
propane evangelist
 
MrGrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-04-07
Location: Davison
Posts: 798
iTrader: (4)
boot with a live linux CD like knoppix. It'll automatically mount the HD (and NTFS partitions) and give you access to it. Save whatever you need to the network or a USB drive.
MrGrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 10:08 PM   #8
BlooMule
LENORE!!!
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: A little North of Deetroit and a little South of Roseville
Posts: 23,207
iTrader: (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGrey View Post
boot with a live linux CD like knoppix. It'll automatically mount the HD (and NTFS partitions) and give you access to it. Save whatever you need to the network or a USB drive.
Or verify that the HD is toast.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 10:23 PM   #9
yellowjeeperman
The N3rd
 
yellowjeeperman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-15-06
Location: Birch Run/Clarkston, Mi
Posts: 5,871
iTrader: (12)
PM Sent
yellowjeeperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2008, 12:41 AM   #10
Monkeyevil
I <3 Miatas
 
Monkeyevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 8,982
iTrader: (16)
Send a message via AIM to Monkeyevil
Is it making noise at all?
__________________
JcrOffroad
Zoom Zoom!
Monkeyevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2008, 05:35 AM   #11
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
does the enclosure and drive show up correctly loaded in the device manager? If so you may need to run a disk utility like OnTrack disk recovery to get the data off while it's connected to another machine.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2008, 11:46 AM   #12
no1likesme
not Frank Sinatra
 
no1likesme's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-10-08
Location: shepherd, MI
Posts: 678
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to no1likesme Send a message via MSN to no1likesme
have you tried just turning it on and letting it sit for an hour or so? My laptop is having a similar problem (hanging on mup.sys) and will eventually boot (takes mine like 30-35 minutes).
no1likesme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.16493 seconds with 34 queries