need a little help - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 14th, 2008, 07:43 PM   #1
gadgit0
Member
 
gadgit0's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-16-07
Location: saginaw, mi
Posts: 81
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to gadgit0
Default need a little help

i have a 91 f150 Nite V8 302 4x4 5sp mazda m5 tranny. what i wanted to know is is my tranny shot or is it something else? i was on the way to work and down shifted into 2nd comeing up to the light, the light changed and let out on clutch to continue drive and my truck jerked forward and stalled. after that i started it back up and couldnt move in 1st or 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th would move. so i got to work only a block away. stayed in 3 then to 4th there.. once i got to work i pulled out back and tried all the gears and still 1st and 2nd wouldn't work, now 3rd and 5th wont. and i tried reverse and that didnt work.

any one have an idea what going on?

and second if anyone could tell me what the difference between a mazda m5 tranny and the zf 5sp tranny are other than gearing? someone said that the driveshaft going into the transfer case is the difference.. is this correct?
gadgit0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 14th, 2008, 08:21 PM   #2
Troll53
Lurker under the bridge
 
Troll53's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-06
Location: Lapeer, Michigan
Posts: 277
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Troll53
Default

Possibly a broken shift fork or the roll pin that retains the fork to the rail. Sounds like you will need to open up the trans. A ZF is much stronger than a Mazda trans and also much more expensive. If you go with a ZF I think the only thing you have to watch for is that you get the small block version (mated to 351's) the big block version uses a different bolt pattern.
Troll53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2008, 09:25 PM   #3
bj house
Senior Member
 
bj house's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-02-06
Location: Auburn Hills, MI
Posts: 5,289
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yeah sounds like you will have to open it up unless it has external linkage like my old 3spd then check that first of course.
bj house is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2008, 09:36 PM   #4
Tranny Tom
Switcheroo
 
Tranny Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-13-06
Location: Southfield
Posts: 3,823
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Troll53 View Post
Possibly a broken shift fork or the roll pin that retains the fork to the rail. Sounds like you will need to open up the trans. A ZF is much stronger than a Mazda trans and also much more expensive. If you go with a ZF I think the only thing you have to watch for is that you get the small block version (mated to 351's) the big block version uses a different bolt pattern.
I'm going with the shift fork as well. It us very common in those.
Tranny Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2008, 09:40 PM   #5
gadgit0
Member
 
gadgit0's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-16-07
Location: saginaw, mi
Posts: 81
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to gadgit0
Default

just popping the top from inside the truck then?? what would be external linkage?
gadgit0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 01:21 PM   #6
Troll53
Lurker under the bridge
 
Troll53's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-06
Location: Lapeer, Michigan
Posts: 277
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Troll53
Default

You might be able to pop the top cover, not sure how much room they give you though. You do not have an external linkage, the Mazdas use hydraulic clutches.
Troll53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 04:55 PM   #7
gadgit0
Member
 
gadgit0's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-16-07
Location: saginaw, mi
Posts: 81
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to gadgit0
Default

i had to replace the forks last year when i replaced the tranny so my carpeting is already torn inside.. anything in particular i should be looking for when i pop it open? or is it just going to shout out at me that it broke?
gadgit0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 07:51 AM   #8
gadgit0
Member
 
gadgit0's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-16-07
Location: saginaw, mi
Posts: 81
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to gadgit0
Default

i popped the top off and it looks like everything is still connected correctly.. i dont know what else this could be.. the 3/4 fork(i think) looks to be worn very little compared to what it was last year when i replaced the top. any other ideas? i can post some pics if that might help someone help me.
gadgit0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 08:03 AM   #9
04 EDGE
Floor Shift Maddness!
 
04 EDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-08-08
Location: Westland Mi
Posts: 1,372
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 04 EDGE
Default

sounds like you have a bad slave cylinder.
04 EDGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 05:40 PM   #10
Never_Evil
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 346
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I just took out my mazda 5spd out our 88 f150 reg cab long box. Shifted great for us, no jamming into gear. Let me know if you are interested. I have the master cyl, internal slave/throw out bearing combo, hose to connect the master to slave and the trans, transfercase, and both sticks so its a complete setup.

Its just dirty because we had a leak rear main on our straight 6.
Never_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 12:46 PM   #11
gadgit0
Member
 
gadgit0's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-16-07
Location: saginaw, mi
Posts: 81
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to gadgit0
Default

pm sent.. i was calling around and a couple tranny places said it might be the input shaft or the syncro assembly
gadgit0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.19969 seconds with 53 queries