Gps Advice - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Land Use > GPS tracks and trails
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

GPS tracks and trails 4x4 trails and destination coordinates

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 10th, 2008, 10:14 PM   #1
BigTy623
Member
 
Join Date: 04-15-07
Location: Cedar springs
Posts: 53
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Gps Advice

I am looking into getting a gps for work, I go from house to house, make roughly 10-15 stops a day, and was wondering if anyone knew what a good GPS would be to get.
Thanks for all the help in advance
-Tyler
BigTy623 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 10th, 2008, 10:24 PM   #2
dodger889
Senior Member
 
dodger889's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-12-08
Location: north of ann arbor, mi
Posts: 1,109
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

The one thing about most gps units are they will get you close but very few right on the money for addresses. Like they will tell you that the location is about another 150 ft and you just past it or the otherway around.
dodger889 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2008, 10:28 PM   #3
BigTy623
Member
 
Join Date: 04-15-07
Location: Cedar springs
Posts: 53
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yeah, as long as it gets me close. it'll save me time, and the company money. The main thing i am looking for is one that you can make routes, put multiple addresses in for the whole day. That way i can figure the fastest route for the day. I guess i should have stated that in the original post.
BigTy623 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2008, 10:39 PM   #4
dodger889
Senior Member
 
dodger889's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-12-08
Location: north of ann arbor, mi
Posts: 1,109
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

That is what you are looking for then I would subjest a laptop with a gps mouse with a good mapping program I use Microsoft street and trips works good and they have it setup with the gps mouse but the total cost will be like close to the higher end gps heads.
dodger889 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2008, 10:43 PM   #5
victorymike
Geocache Addict
 
victorymike's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 1,462
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Solely for automotive navigation or dual purpose?

Price range?

Oh...I always reccommend Garmin because that is what I know.
victorymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2008, 11:14 PM   #6
BigTy623
Member
 
Join Date: 04-15-07
Location: Cedar springs
Posts: 53
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by victorymike View Post
Solely for automotive navigation or dual purpose?

Price range?

Oh...I always reccommend Garmin because that is what I know.

I'd like to stay under $400.
Dual purpose, i wouldn't mind getting into geocaching.
BigTy623 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 04:42 PM   #7
victorymike
Geocache Addict
 
victorymike's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 1,462
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I just upgraded to the Garmin Colorado 400t. My previous unit is a Garmin GPSMAP76C. I'd be willing to sell you the 76C, City Select V7.00 detailed maps on DVD, automotive mount, cheap handlebar mount for 1" bar, and cigarette lighter power adapter for...say $300. The CS maps are loaded into it for the entire state of Michigan and upper parts of Ohio, Indiana, and Minnesota. Also Topo v3.02 for the same areas and part of Canada...but my Topo CD has a crack in it and won't boot up...and the Topos are old...but you could have those too since they are already loaded in the unit. I have been using the 76C for automotive navigation in my truck (and the 400t for on the trail) so the 76C works...and works well. It is a complete navigation and geocaching setup. I'll PM you my phone number if you are interested.
victorymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 04:44 PM   #8
dodger889
Senior Member
 
dodger889's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-12-08
Location: north of ann arbor, mi
Posts: 1,109
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

The only reason I even brought up a lappy and gps mouse is the multi stop part

Last edited by dodger889; April 12th, 2008 at 04:58 PM.
dodger889 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 05:18 PM   #9
BigTy623
Member
 
Join Date: 04-15-07
Location: Cedar springs
Posts: 53
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by victorymike View Post
I just upgraded to the Garmin Colorado 400t. My previous unit is a Garmin GPSMAP76C. I'd be willing to sell you the 76C, City Select V7.00 detailed maps on DVD, automotive mount, cheap handlebar mount for 1" bar, and cigarette lighter power adapter for...say $300. The CS maps are loaded into it for the entire state of Michigan and upper parts of Ohio, Indiana, and Minnesota. Also Topo v3.02 for the same areas and part of Canada...but my Topo CD has a crack in it and won't boot up...and the Topos are old...but you could have those too since they are already loaded in the unit. I have been using the 76C for automotive navigation in my truck (and the 400t for on the trail) so the 76C works...and works well. It is a complete navigation and geocaching setup. I'll PM you my phone number if you are interested.
Thanks for the offer, but i think for something like this i am going to get something brand new that way i can get the extended warrenty.

Dodger, i see what your saying about the route part. plus the gps' for laptops are much cheaper, i am thinking about going route.
BigTy623 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2008, 03:11 PM   #10
victorymike
Geocache Addict
 
victorymike's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 1,462
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

With the Garmin software in hand all you have to do is plug your GPS into your laptop for a larger screen. You aren't going geocaching with a laptop.
victorymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2008, 05:50 PM   #11
Mommabear
Happy Happy Joy Joy
 
Mommabear's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-24-06
Location: Elk Rapids Mi and San Jose California
Posts: 1,998
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

My interpretation of this is that laptops are no longer legal in the front seat in the drivers line of vision unless you're driving a police car.

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/ms...3_228166_7.pdf

This was updated in March of this year.
Mommabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2008, 09:42 PM   #12
BigTy623
Member
 
Join Date: 04-15-07
Location: Cedar springs
Posts: 53
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MudMomma View Post
My interpretation of this is that laptops are no longer legal in the front seat in the drivers line of vision unless you're driving a police car.

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/ms...3_228166_7.pdf

This was updated in March of this year.
I took a quick glance at that, and that was my interpretation of that also.
I did some research the other day and i was thinking about getting the Garmin Nuvi 760 from Amazon
BigTy623 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2008, 09:46 PM   #13
Mommabear
Happy Happy Joy Joy
 
Mommabear's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-24-06
Location: Elk Rapids Mi and San Jose California
Posts: 1,998
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have the Garmin 60CSX, the screen is big enough that I can see it while driving and it's perfect for Geocaching. Life is good!

I have to check map updates though, it didn't show the Boardman river on it the other day and that kind of baffled me, not like it's a new river or anything.
Mommabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2008, 09:52 PM   #14
PVA DAVE
Senior Member
 
PVA DAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-07
Location: Beulah
Posts: 349
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have the Garmin Nuvi 570 and love it, seems extremely accurate and hav'nt had any problems. Don't know about the multiple stop gig though.
PVA DAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2008, 09:55 PM   #15
BigTy623
Member
 
Join Date: 04-15-07
Location: Cedar springs
Posts: 53
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

has anyone ever ordered through amazon?
BigTy623 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Land Use > GPS tracks and trails

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.21907 seconds with 65 queries