79 Ford Bronco . 400m --> 460 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 9th, 2008, 11:05 PM   #1
jackal
Senior Member
 
jackal's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-09-07
Location: Holly, Michigan
Posts: 370
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default 79 Ford Bronco . 400m --> 460

ok....ive done the searching, and no matter where i look, i get ppl disagreeing and agreeing and basically its just been a nightmare. i was told when i bought my 79 bronco that the motor was shot, it sounded good at the time but i figured no big deal, if it IS shot, ill get a 460 from the junkyard, build it up and stick it in there. well its been a year and a half and that time has finally come. a lot of ppl tell me that all i need to do is get the 460 mounts off the truck i got it outta, (got the motor out of a 79 f-250) locate the pre drilled holes that are in the frame, and it will drop right in, no questions asked. HOWEVER, some ppl argue this statement. some of the arguements are that the sump in the oil pan will not clear the axels/stearing arms, (i shoudlnt have a problem with this, i have a 6" lift and im sure it will clear) so ill need to get an oil pan and a new oil pump to accomodate for this. some other people tell me that there arent any predrilled holes in the frame because the 79 bronco didnt have the 460 option which i DO NOT belive. anyways, if anyone has done this swap, can you please help me. im pretty new to the wrenching scene, and this is the first motor swap i have ever done. i just want it to go smooth. thanks guys, i hope someone can point me in the right direction.
jackal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 9th, 2008, 11:07 PM   #2
bigcountrysg
Countryboy
 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-07-07
Location: Willis Michigan
Posts: 1,599
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I would just get the kit from Jeffs Bronco Graveyard. It is like 120 bucks and everything is new.

Oh and you do have to move the mounts on the frame either.
bigcountrysg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2008, 07:33 AM   #3
insaneoffroader
Senior Member
 
insaneoffroader's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-11-08
Location: Allegan
Posts: 2,432
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

believe it! the bronco (or any 4x4 in 1978-9) ever came with a 460. if the f-250 was a 4x4 you can use the mounts. with the lift you have you should not have a problem w/the oil pan. since it came out of a truck you should not have a problem with the passenger side exhaust manifold. if you need motor mounts you have 2 good choices L&L and Performance Unlimited. both of these companies along w/ Jeffs are a wealth of information. give them a call.
insaneoffroader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2008, 09:08 AM   #4
jackal
Senior Member
 
jackal's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-09-07
Location: Holly, Michigan
Posts: 370
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by insaneoffroader View Post
believe it! the bronco (or any 4x4 in 1978-9) ever came with a 460. if the f-250 was a 4x4 you can use the mounts. with the lift you have you should not have a problem w/the oil pan. since it came out of a truck you should not have a problem with the passenger side exhaust manifold.
so the 79 bronco DID have the 460 option?

the motor mounts from the f-250 will mount to my frame? if so, i dont need the mounts from jeffs bronco graveyard, right?
jackal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2008, 10:56 AM   #5
secondechomatt
Senior Member
 
secondechomatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-13-07
Location: Rockwood, MI.
Posts: 221
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

no, it didn't. or a 300 6 for that matter, but you'll get people who will swear that their "brother's wife's cousin twice removed daddy had one." lol

Jeff's kit is fantastic and a great way to get everything you need. I'd recomend going through the transmission while you're at it. the 460, even stock will be putting out much better numbers than a tired 351m/400.
secondechomatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2008, 07:34 AM   #6
insaneoffroader
Senior Member
 
insaneoffroader's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-11-08
Location: Allegan
Posts: 2,432
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackal View Post
the motor mounts from the f-250 will mount to my frame?
IF the f-250 was a 4x4 somebody transplanted it in there and must have bought/made the mounts you need.

Last edited by insaneoffroader; April 11th, 2008 at 10:05 AM.
insaneoffroader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2008, 08:34 AM   #7
Fullsize4life
Kicking Cancers ASS
 
Fullsize4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-06
Location: Hart, Mi (next to silver lake)
Posts: 18,754
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

NO 4x4 ever came with a 460 from the factory in the 70s. The f-250 camper special came with a 460 but it was 2 wheel drive. Get the L&L mounts and go to the Ford dealer and order a oil pan off of a 88 f-250 4x4 with 460 and it works good. Make sure to get the oil pump and pick up. I have the L&L mounts and they seem to work good. Dont gbet oil on them though. I also have there headers and they are nice aswell.
Fullsize4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2008, 08:53 PM   #8
bronco4-play
Do it like you mean it
 
bronco4-play's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-11-06
Location: Otsego
Posts: 402
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fullsize4life View Post
NO 4x4 ever came with a 460 from the factory in the 70s. The f-250 camper special came with a 460 but it was 2 wheel drive. Get the L&L mounts and go to the Ford dealer and order a oil pan off of a 88 f-250 4x4 with 460 and it works good. Make sure to get the oil pump and pick up. I have the L&L mounts and they seem to work good. Dont gbet oil on them though. I also have there headers and they are nice aswell.
X2

You can also use the Ford racing conversion pan kit from Summit #M-6675-A460 It's $149. Comes with the dipstick and tube, pickup tube and maincap bolt with stud and a one piece gasket. Be sure to seal the dipstick tube good with silicone as it only pushes into the pan. The ford van pans in the 70's are rear sump also and have a screw in dipstick tube. Your 6" lift will clear the 2wd front sump pan but will starve the engine for oil on long climbs (I learned this the hard way).

The L&L mounts are a direct bolt in when removing a 351M/400M. Any other motor and you have to change the mount perches and the trans case/bell housing to the 351M/400M style. Save the recipt for the L&L mounts as their lifetime guarentee is good but only with the recipt. It will make them last longer if you chain the left side of the engine to the frame.

The 2wd trucks and vans have the correct manifolds so you don't have to notch the frame. The L&L ultra flow headers are pricey but fit well and do not leak, come loose, or rust out soon.
bronco4-play is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2008, 11:53 PM   #9
jackal
Senior Member
 
jackal's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-09-07
Location: Holly, Michigan
Posts: 370
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

wow...good information, thanks guys, you really helped me out.

bronco4-play, question....i see where your coming from on the front sump, i never thought about that. when it comes to what I'm doing though, its strictly bogging. granted while in a hole, i might get on some inclines, but nothing crazy. i don't have the money for a new oil pan, and i guess if i cant find one at a junk yard, i might have to leave it the way it is till i get the cash. is it possible to drop that pan while its in the truck to replace it? granted i would defiantly rather doing it out on the engine stand..but as of right now, were trying to buy a house and really don't have any extra money to put into the bogger. thanks in advance guys!


also, while were on the subject of all this modification. i bought a 205 transfer case for my bronco as well. it originally has the 203 in it but high gear is blown out. before i go thinking everything will work, the bolt pattern on the 205 is the same as the 203 right? one more thing too, the 205 is missing the yolk for the front drive shaft. does the yolk on the 203 have the same spline count as what the 205 will need or is it different? (just wanna make sure that i can swap them.) thanks in advance.

Last edited by jackal; April 14th, 2008 at 12:19 AM.
jackal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2008, 10:43 PM   #10
bronco4-play
Do it like you mean it
 
bronco4-play's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-11-06
Location: Otsego
Posts: 402
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Mud running and average 2 tracking around here the front sump will be fine. Test hill at Silver Lake is one place that was hard on mine, it would loose oil pressure near the top. Yes the pan can be easily removed in the bronco.


I am assuming you have an automatic as I have never seen the 203 on a manual. The transfer case will bolt up, but you will need to do some custom work for drive shafts.

The C-6/203 uses the short adapter housing and output shaft in the transmission and when you put a 205 on the short adapter there is no room to run the CV joint on the front driveshaft, you have to put the slip yolk end of the driveshaft on the transfer case to clear the transmission. Due to the differnce in length between the 203 and 205, the rear driveshaft will need to be lengthened. You will have to drill the holes in the frame for the side mount on the transfer case. Be sure to install the side mount as it reduces the strain on the adapter housing.

The Broncos that came with the C-6/205 have the long adapter housing and transmission output shaft. This puts the transfer case back far enough to allow the use of a CV joint on the transfer case end of both the front and rear driveshaft.

I am 99% sure you can interchange the yolks between the 203 and 205, I think I have done this myself.
bronco4-play is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 11:32 PM   #11
kkodet
Formerly Route55
 
kkodet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-21-07
Location: Marine City, Michigan
Posts: 4,350
iTrader: (47)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

The guys on here have some good info. I have a few extras that might help.

Yes, they did use the 203 behind a manual, and yes, it is the same bolt pattern. In fact, I might be interested in buying whats left of your 203
kkodet is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.30838 seconds with 53 queries