help my slow ass computer! - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 7th, 2008, 07:46 PM   #1
bender
Your daily fullsize fix.
 
bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-16-06
Location: Dutton
Posts: 540
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to bender Send a message via MSN to bender Send a message via Yahoo to bender
Angry help my slow ass computer!

so anymore when i upload videos off of my MiniDV cam into Windows Movie Maker, the videos appear cjoppy once on my computer. i just watched a video on photobucket while i had the task manager up, and while i watch a small video, CPU usage goes straight to 100%. my fan runs alllllll the time, has been for a long time now. i've tried turning my virtual memory all the way up.

from the System Properties:
Quote:
Computer:
Mobile Intel(R) Pentium (R)
4 CPU 3.06GHz
1.59 GHz, 512 MB of RAM
i've defragged, disk cleanup'd, restarted, shut everything down i can in the background, etc etc....... nothing. i see no processes with huge memory usage in the task manager.

i want to get the opening weekend dune video put together, but i cant with as choppy as the vids come thru.

help??!
bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 7th, 2008, 07:48 PM   #2
GreaseMonkey
Pew pew!
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Madison Heights, MI
Posts: 18,043
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Your processor is slow as hell.

Your RAM could use another half a gig, but it's your processor holding you back big time.
__________________
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2008, 07:48 PM   #3
FlatFender
Tap Tap Splat
 
FlatFender's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 15,801
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

download "CC cleaner"
run it.
FlatFender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2008, 07:49 PM   #4
FlatFender
Tap Tap Splat
 
FlatFender's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 15,801
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseMonkey View Post
Your compressor is slow as hell.

Your RAM could use another half a gig, but it's your processor holding you back big time.
shit, I dont even think my computer has a compressor.
FlatFender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2008, 07:50 PM   #5
GreaseMonkey
Pew pew!
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Madison Heights, MI
Posts: 18,043
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlatFender View Post
shit, I dont even think my computer has a compressor.


I'm still at work and just filed a few claims for Mack compressors from a few different dealerships.
__________________
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2008, 07:53 PM   #6
dngrous_Jeep
National Guard guy
 
dngrous_Jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-10-06
Location: South Boredom, MI
Posts: 1,061
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Well, that's real similar to my desktop's specs, so I doubt I'll bother putting any money into upgrading it after I use the XP restore discs on it.

Although I did upgrade to 1.5gb ram, and 256 video.
dngrous_Jeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2008, 07:57 PM   #7
bender
Your daily fullsize fix.
 
bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-16-06
Location: Dutton
Posts: 540
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to bender Send a message via MSN to bender Send a message via Yahoo to bender
Default

Quote:
Computer:
Mobile Intel(R) Pentium (R)
4 CPU 3.06GHz
1.59 GHz, 512 MB of RAM
is my processor 3.06 GHz or 1.59? i thought it was 3.06... that's slow? computer is like 4 years old so it probably is, but it used to run this program just fine.

i have a 40 gig harddrive. 13.6 gig is free, FWIW.
bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.12884 seconds with 41 queries