slow internet - Page 2 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 26th, 2008, 08:07 PM   #21
bigcountrysg
Countryboy
 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-07-07
Location: Willis Michigan
Posts: 1,599
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lothos View Post
clearly you've never tried WOW.

comcast puts 2500 customers on a node.

WOW.... 400.

Epic fail comcrap.
Wow is not in my area. So I have either Hughes net. At&t, or comcast.
bigcountrysg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 08:25 PM   #22
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 9,981
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Update, I've been on the phone for 30 minutes, finally got state side to somebody in Texas, who told me that in fact I am not caonnecting as fast as I should (after her little tests). And now I am being forwarded to someplace more "local" for some maintenance.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 08:28 PM   #23
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 9,981
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

oh boy, this call is going bad, I felt better talking to the non'english speaking Indian named Steve.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 08:42 PM   #24
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 9,981
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

oh boy, this call is going bad, I felt better talking to the non'english speaking Indian named Steve.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 08:46 PM   #25
Daniel
SFA Ranger
 
Daniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-28-08
Location: Livonia
Posts: 1,142
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lothos View Post
Livonia actually offers 3 cable choices.
Cox, Charter, and Britehouse and spotty Comcast I believe.

Westland has at least 2 since I live here and have WOW.
oh, i was told livonia only had brighthouse(roadrunner) and sbc dsl.

maybe its just my apt complex.
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 08:47 PM   #26
pumpshop4
USMC
 
pumpshop4's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-03-07
Location: Midland Mi. 48640
Posts: 1,336
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Stay off the porn!!:tonka:
pumpshop4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 08:50 PM   #27
hawkscj5
Skinny Pedal Crawler
 
hawkscj5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-13-07
Location: Lansing,/barryton mi
Posts: 2,194
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pumpshop4 View Post
Stay off the porn!!:tonka:
hawkscj5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 08:57 PM   #28
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 9,981
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Bitches told me to get off the phone so they could test the line, and they haven't called me back like they said! I'm really pissed!
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 09:04 PM   #29
bj house
Senior Member
 
bj house's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-02-06
Location: Auburn Hills, MI
Posts: 5,289
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

SBC DSL here and before I half smoked my video card I could play online games reliably
bj house is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 09:31 PM   #30
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 9,981
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Never got a call back, so I had to call, doesn't look like we are getting anywhere yet.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 05:35 PM   #31
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 9,981
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Update, dial up would be quicker, I'm thinking of hooking this back up to a phone line
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 05:42 PM   #32
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 9,981
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

I've been told though, this could be a software problem. I can't find it anywhere, no conflicts, nothing has changed on this or my other computer this week. What should I look for for software problems in this situation?
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 05:49 PM   #33
yellowjeeperman
The N3rd
 
yellowjeeperman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-15-06
Location: Birch Run/Clarkston, Mi
Posts: 5,871
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Mines blazing fast right now. Sorry for your trouble.
yellowjeeperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 06:54 PM   #34
Daniel
SFA Ranger
 
Daniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-28-08
Location: Livonia
Posts: 1,142
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the internet at my mom's b/f's house is still going super slow and hes the one with the dsl.

he lives over off henryruff and 5mile, maybe they are having a problem in that area.
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 10:16 PM   #35
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 9,981
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel View Post
the internet at my mom's b/f's house is still going super slow and hes the one with the dsl.

he lives over off henryruff and 5mile, maybe they are having a problem in that area.
I'm at PLymouth and Middlebelt, so I'm pretty close. But they told me there are no problems in this area.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 10:24 PM   #36
bj house
Senior Member
 
bj house's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-02-06
Location: Auburn Hills, MI
Posts: 5,289
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Just like all the boost mobile phones ol'ing the system maybe now it's teenage kids texting MB pictures all day.

I dunno my DSL has been damn solid for over three years. I paid Comcast their $50 3mos then dropped it. Sounds like some providers have different strategies when it comes to bandwidth partioning.
bj house is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 04:48 AM   #37
Daniel
SFA Ranger
 
Daniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-28-08
Location: Livonia
Posts: 1,142
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn View Post
I'm at PLymouth and Middlebelt, so I'm pretty close. But they told me there are no problems in this area.
they told me the same thing, i think they are full of shit.
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 07:37 AM   #38
JEEPR
Playing Possum
 
JEEPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Harrison Township
Posts: 6,744
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Shawn, are you running Firefox? I have had issues with it lately.
JEEPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 12:02 PM   #39
mooseracing
Stuck like a MoFo
 
mooseracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-06
Location: South GR
Posts: 385
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to mooseracing
Default

If they think you are running slow they should just dispatch a tech to come out and Test and Tune the line. Or you might have a bad conenction somewhere now and your current speeds is causing too many issues. Problems can appear and disapear on DSL because of phones lines being so sensitive to noise.

If you got Verizon in your area, fios is the way to go.
mooseracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 12:13 PM   #40
bj house
Senior Member
 
bj house's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-02-06
Location: Auburn Hills, MI
Posts: 5,289
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

take the same laptop to your local starbucks and see if it is any better?
bj house is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.19348 seconds with 79 queries