Computer experts, buy a new computer with Vista or XP? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 16th, 2008, 12:10 PM   #1
Brods
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-21-07
Location: Salem, Mi
Posts: 704
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Computer experts, buy a new computer with Vista or XP?

Time to upgrade the kids computer and given all the complaints about Vista, would XP be a better choice until Windows 2009 comes out? The kids will want to load several older games (like from the windows95 era) on the new computer. So what do you recommend, just buy a computer with Vista or order one with XP?
Brods is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old March 16th, 2008, 12:13 PM   #2
mudviper
getting dirty
 
mudviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-22-06
Location: Flint
Posts: 821
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to mudviper
Default

I heard rumors from more then one source that Windows Vista will be dicontinued in October with a new system in place. I wouldn't waste my time with Vista even if that rumor wasn't true. If you plan on running a home entertainment system, then Vista is the way to go.
mudviper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 12:21 PM   #3
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,759
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 156 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

I now have 8 office computers running vista, including two of my three home computers. No issues at all with vista.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 12:24 PM   #4
xj97sport
atv rider
 
xj97sport's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-08-08
Location: south west
Posts: 6,557
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i got vista and i havent had any issues
xj97sport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 12:27 PM   #5
Viperdave
A-1 Dave Costa
 
Join Date: 03-12-06
Location: Wolcott, Ct
Posts: 1,106
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Viperdave
Default

also a vista user on 3 computers with no issues
Viperdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 12:28 PM   #6
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,450
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

I'm happy with XP and don't think i'll switch to vista anytime soon. Like any new OS, there are bugs to be worked out...over time it will become stable. Also since Vista has features to make it more graphical and neat, it will require more RAM to run than XP.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 12:52 PM   #7
Brods
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-21-07
Location: Salem, Mi
Posts: 704
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks for the responses. Will Vista be more likely to have compatibility issues with the older games?
Brods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 01:09 PM   #8
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,450
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

Shouldn't. I'd imagine it still uses somwhat of the same system as XP, just tweaked to look different?? Now hardware, Yes. If you have an old scanner you may not be able to find a driver for it. But I havn't ran into problems like that when swiching from 2000 to xp.....
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 01:39 PM   #9
Smiley23
Senior Member
 
Smiley23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-22-07
Location: MI
Posts: 2,153
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brods View Post
Time to upgrade the kids computer and given all the complaints about Vista, would XP be a better choice until Windows 2009 comes out? The kids will want to load several older games (like from the windows95 era) on the new computer. So what do you recommend, just buy a computer with Vista or order one with XP?

Exactly the reason why Vista will not be a good solution. Been there / Done that.

Name some of the games and I could tell you what my experiences have been.

IE. C&C Red Alert Yuri's Revenge will not work. But not because of Vista. It will not work with a Dual/Quad Core processor technology.
Smiley23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 01:40 PM   #10
Smiley23
Senior Member
 
Smiley23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-22-07
Location: MI
Posts: 2,153
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plato2k5 View Post
Shouldn't. I'd imagine it still uses somwhat of the same system as XP, just tweaked to look different?? Now hardware, Yes. If you have an old scanner you may not be able to find a driver for it. But I havn't ran into problems like that when swiching from 2000 to xp.....
Vista's security is what gets in the way of running older games and it "compatibility" setup for the new directory structure.
Smiley23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 01:50 PM   #11
BlooMule
Jet powered
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 26,546
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Default

Clear out the hard drive on the old computer and give it to the kids to play their games. Buy yourself a new computer with Vista.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 01:56 PM   #12
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,959
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

if I wanted a mac, I'd buy a mac. no reason for vista's candy assed UI. further no reason to "protect" me from those dangerous system files.

as for running a home entertainment center - wtf would vista matter? if one wants to use bill gates' offerings there is the lame media center version of xp - but more importantly whichever TV/PVR card you use, should have its own application(s) for managing entertainment off of...

one thing to consider, is that many of the vendor built boxes have already switched over to vista - and you may encounter problems finding xp compatible drivers for some of the hardware should you wish to nuke the hdd and go back to xp

good friend of mine is an engineer at DCX and that's exactly the issue she faced - she ended up nuking the hdd anyway, and runs ubunto on it...

another thought to consider. generally speaking - all things being equal on the hardware front, you won't need as much hardware to run xp, as you will for vista. a modern processor running 2 gigs of ram will be more than adequate (and pretty affordable) compared to what most would suggest as a bare minimum for vista.

and now that I've written a small novella - office 2007 and its candyassed mac wanna be UI, er "Ribbon" is one of the dumbest "innovations" Ive had the displeasure to experience in a while as well...
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 02:14 PM   #13
Smiley
Senior Member
 
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-26-05
Location: Byron Center
Posts: 814
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Vista is not something to use to upgrade such and old computer. Vista is pretty hardware intense, needing more RAM, faster CPU, and larger Hard drive than a computer that was new went Windows 98 was around.

Vista will not run 16-bit programs, such as games written for Windows 95 and 98. Vista is not updated Windows XP code, it is a rewrite of the entire code. Older hardware (printers, scanners, etc) all need rewritten updated drivers to work with Vista.

I would not stick $ into such an old computer. You would be throwing good money at a system that is worth at most $50.

As suggested get a new PC with Vista instead, give yours to your kids to use.
Smiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 02:29 PM   #14
Brods
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-21-07
Location: Salem, Mi
Posts: 704
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

My computer with XP does everything I need and I really don't want to dick around with Vista or have to buy new software to work with it. Their computer is an old AMD Athlon 600 running windows 98 and it crashes a lot. They have a bunch of Lego games, rock raiders, racer, etc., Roller coaster tycoon, Nascar 50, Monopoly Jr, Hot wheels games and many more with some little kid learning games too. They’ll be using the new computer for games and the web.

Sounds like buying a “newer” used computer running XP may be a better choice?
Brods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 03:16 PM   #15
JEEPR
Playing Possum
 
JEEPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Harrison Township
Posts: 6,744
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Vista takes a butt-load of RAM to run compared to XP. My kids computer runs Vista with 2G of ram and it's wwaaayyy slower than mine running XP with 1G.
JEEPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 04:31 PM   #16
General Lee
Slice of Starsage Anyone?
 
General Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 5,070
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to General Lee
Default

N'sync runs on vista.
General Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 04:59 PM   #17
BlooMule
Jet powered
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 26,546
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Rick Roll runs on vista.
Fixed

Back to topic:

Maybe a newer used box would be a good idea. Check the computer shows or craigslist, Micro Center has refurbished systems with warranties too.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 05:03 PM   #18
Smiley23
Senior Member
 
Smiley23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-22-07
Location: MI
Posts: 2,153
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yeah, like others suggested here. Newer used comp and/or like upgrade yours and give the kids your old one. I have 4 hardcore FPS gaming computers here because of that.
Smiley23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 05:17 PM   #19
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
I now have 8 office computers running vista, including two of my three home computers. No issues at all with vista.
business machines dont count. you probably don't run anything beyond basic M$ products.

I have had about a 20-30% incompatibility rate with older software products on vista. Even still, I'd have no problem with another Vista machine.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 05:37 PM   #20
Leanz
Full taste of tender
 
Leanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Oakland County, MI
Posts: 5,324
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

If you want vista make sure youve got a good amount of ram

Just got a new laptop with 1.86mhz processor and started out with 1gig of ram and vista, it was a DOG straight out of the box.... now that i have 4gig its great though.
Leanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.29437 seconds with 80 queries