Ford 400 Carb Help - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 12th, 2008, 07:25 AM   #1
Dannyboy86
Member
 
Dannyboy86's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-21-08
Location: Cedar Springs MI
Posts: 96
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Ford 400 Carb Help

Have a 79 F150 with the stock 400 and stock 2 barrel Mototrcraft carb on it. Thing runs great for about ten minutes before flooding. Gas starts comming out the overflow perge and everything. Seems like its a float problem not shutting of the fuel flow, but its not as far as i can tell. Took the carb apart several times, everything looks good and float and needle seem to work without flaw.

Please anybody else know what going on? Maybe a vac line is screwing shit up?

FYI the thing floods after ten minutes both when the float is started full of fuel or empty, huh wierd.
Dannyboy86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old March 12th, 2008, 10:42 AM   #2
mooseracing
Stuck like a MoFo
 
mooseracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-06
Location: South GR
Posts: 385
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to mooseracing
Default

Is the float sunk or in other words does it sink? I've gotten some very small pin holes and the only way to tell was to heat it up (not advising this) and see if any gas sprayed out.

Are you running a aftermarket fuel pump or a stock mechanical one?
mooseracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2008, 11:56 AM   #3
broncobuddha
Starting over
 
broncobuddha's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-13-07
Location: kalamazoo mi
Posts: 859
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to broncobuddha
Default

i had the same problem on my 79 bronco, everything looked ok but it kept flooding like you described, about 20 bucks for the parts to rebuild and a couple hours work fixed it right up
broncobuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2008, 03:26 PM   #4
kkodet
Formerly Route55
 
kkodet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-21-07
Location: Marine City, Michigan
Posts: 4,157
iTrader: (47)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Carefull with that. My 79s carb stuck open at 70mph. My brother was driving it down the freeway, and it continued to loose power till it stopped. By that time there was so much fuel in the oil it wiped out the motor.
kkodet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2008, 06:28 PM   #5
broncobuddha
Starting over
 
broncobuddha's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-13-07
Location: kalamazoo mi
Posts: 859
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to broncobuddha
Default

yah i had to change the oil and filter right away on mine, it does nt take long to put alot of gas in the oil when that happens
broncobuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2008, 07:00 PM   #6
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

if you pop the top off the carb and the pull the needle valve out see if the tip is rubber. if it is use a magnifing glass to see if its cracked or split. they can and will and then when you stop it over flows the carb. I would have to check since I haven't set one up in 20 years, but the float height used to be around 5/16"-3/8" (depending on the carb) from the rim of the float bowl. if you can push down the float and it comes back up on its own then it should be fine. the other thing to check is fuel pressure. if your over about 8-9 psi then it will push past the float. should be around 6-7 max.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2008, 11:00 AM   #7
Dannyboy86
Member
 
Dannyboy86's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-21-08
Location: Cedar Springs MI
Posts: 96
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks for the help guys
A $20 rebuild kit fixed my problems
Still didn't see anything unusual when i was rebuilding it thou
Dannyboy86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2008, 11:35 AM   #8
broncobuddha
Starting over
 
broncobuddha's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-13-07
Location: kalamazoo mi
Posts: 859
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to broncobuddha
Default

i didnt on mine either, everything even the needle and seat looked fine, but it sure worked better afterward
broncobuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2008, 12:24 PM   #9
fsumotorhead
N8KVB
 
fsumotorhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-06
Location: Flat Rock, MI
Posts: 4,185
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

http://home.earthlink.net/~bubbaf250/index.html
fsumotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.11405 seconds with 47 queries