Which Laptop Internet Card - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 10th, 2008, 09:02 AM   #1
RockyMtnMike
Senior Member
 
RockyMtnMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-14-06
Location: Brownstown
Posts: 1,322
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Which Laptop Internet Card

I'm looking to buy a laptop in the very near future and I'm going to need an internet card. Does anyone have any tips on which company I should go with? I currently have Verizon for my cell phone service. Any input on cost and coverage area would be great. I live in Brownstown very close to the Monroe/Wayne County border.
RockyMtnMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old March 10th, 2008, 09:19 AM   #2
Fatty Matty
Senior Member
 
Fatty Matty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-06
Location: Tecumseh
Posts: 5,376
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Sprint is truly unlimited. Verizon is not.
__________________
'12 JKU
'14 1500
www.midwest-abs.com
Fatty Matty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2008, 11:22 AM   #3
smasheromalley
Senior Member
 
smasheromalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,047
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Pantech Wireless PX-500 on Sprint here. I havent had it very long, and I havent used it north of the detroit area yet... and i have nothing to compare it to, but it works fine so far.
smasheromalley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2008, 11:26 AM   #4
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,410
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

I've had Sprint for over 2 years now, No issues anywhere. My only complaint, well not really complaint, is that out in the sticks the speed will drop alot, but thats only been like wayyyy out in the middle of nowhere.

I use my card instead of the hotel's connection because 99.998% of the time it's faster
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2008, 11:27 AM   #5
KartRacer
Blowd up
 
KartRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-16-05
Location: Riverside, MI 49084
Posts: 6,335
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to KartRacer
Default

Sprint is teh hotness. I am amazed at some of the places it gets broadband signal.
KartRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2008, 12:31 PM   #6
mooseracing
Stuck like a MoFo
 
mooseracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-06
Location: South GR
Posts: 385
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to mooseracing
Default

Get the one where the phone provider has the best cell service where you will use it most of the time.

I've had good luck with Sprint, Cingular (before AT&T), & Verizon. All were company accounts and worked good. They were still really pricey though then. I've also seen some mods to get better service, like making your own antenna plugin for bigger antenna.
mooseracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2008, 01:15 PM   #7
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

I've never had a complaint from my Verizon card. Work pays for it. It works in more places I go to than Sprint and never had a speed issue. I don't use it enough for the cap to matter either.

AT&T has a cap too, but its unprinted I believe.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2008, 04:34 PM   #8
mooseracing
Stuck like a MoFo
 
mooseracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-06
Location: South GR
Posts: 385
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to mooseracing
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lothos View Post
AT&T has a cap too, but its unprinted I believe.
They're working on it or have it done..... Quote from AT&T worker.

"I just heard that the pda plans will no longer be unlimited but will be capped at 5 gigs. Users will not be billed overages but people with constant overages will be contacted to try to reassess the users needs. The new plans are nationwide so I'm not going to disclose my market but they are getting rid of the media bundles and M2M messaging. Text and data is now separate. PDA plans will be lowered to 30 bucks to match blackberry personal and media net unlimited is lowered to $15 bucks."
mooseracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2008, 08:25 PM   #9
JKOZ
yes
 
JKOZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-06
Location: Midland,MI
Posts: 436
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I just bought the At&t / Cingular Seirra Wireless USB dealy and it is not capped right now. i wasn't told anything about that when I purchased other than there are no limits.

Curious----what are you all paying for your plans. Mine is $60 pr month.

I have 30 days and am not sure what to think about this. It works, not quite as fast as i would like it to at times but i do try and use it inside a concrete building and up north. I was pretty suprised as to how well it worked the other weekend between Midland and Cadillac though. FYI I live in Midland
JKOZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2008, 08:30 PM   #10
Dylan
Senior Member
 
Dylan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-24-06
Location: K-zoo
Posts: 1,125
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i have sprint here and it works great in kalamazoo, gr, lake shore, and down to the IN border. Ya you loose it a bit in the sticks but it will come back on in about 10 miles or so. $60 a month and its unlimited, for real unlimited. I was gona get the new merlin card with built in GPS. wasn't sure if it would work with street and trips or any other program. Anyone have one?
Dylan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2008, 08:37 PM   #11
71jeepster
Glad I'm not Gay J. Hall!
 
71jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-06
Location: Kellogg, ID
Posts: 3,091
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to 71jeepster
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatty Matty View Post
Sprint is truly unlimited. Verizon is not.
AT&T is unlimited also!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lothos View Post
I've never had a complaint from my Verizon card. Work pays for it. It works in more places I go to than Sprint and never had a speed issue. I don't use it enough for the cap to matter either.

AT&T has a cap too, but its unprinted I believe.
not if your paying for the internet bundle as a separate item, meaning thru a card or patch cord like I use, your talking about the media pack that you access thru your phone.

I have the att service and use a cord to my phone so I didn't have to pay 200 bux for a card, just 25$ for the cord. works great I drive truck and use it all over the country!
71jeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2008, 08:40 PM   #12
71jeepster
Glad I'm not Gay J. Hall!
 
71jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-06
Location: Kellogg, ID
Posts: 3,091
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to 71jeepster
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JKOZ View Post
I just bought the At&t / Cingular Seirra Wireless USB dealy and it is not capped right now. i wasn't told anything about that when I purchased other than there are no limits.

Curious----what are you all paying for your plans. Mine is $60 pr month.

I have 30 days and am not sure what to think about this. It works, not quite as fast as i would like it to at times but i do try and use it inside a concrete building and up north. I was pretty suprised as to how well it worked the other weekend between Midland and Cadillac though. FYI I live in Midland
You get better faster signal by big cities, I have the same thing.
71jeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2008, 08:41 PM   #13
JKOZ
yes
 
JKOZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-06
Location: Midland,MI
Posts: 436
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 71jeepster View Post
AT&T is unlimited also!



not if your paying for the internet bundle as a separate item, meaning thru a card or patch cord like I use, your talking about the media pack that you access thru your phone.

I have the att service and use a cord to my phone so I didn't have to pay 200 bux for a card, just 25$ for the cord. works great I drive truck and use it all over the country!
I would have done the same thing but my "card" with the rebate only cost $50 and they at least claim it would be a lot faster since I have the original razor phone and it won't support high speed.
JKOZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2008, 08:43 PM   #14
71jeepster
Glad I'm not Gay J. Hall!
 
71jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-06
Location: Kellogg, ID
Posts: 3,091
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to 71jeepster
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JKOZ View Post
I would have done the same thing but my "card" with the rebate only cost $50 and they at least claim it would be a lot faster since I have the original razor phone and it won't support high speed.
that is true, you have to have the phone that supports it, blackberry's don't but the new blackjack does, that's my next phone!
71jeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2008, 08:46 PM   #15
JKOZ
yes
 
JKOZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-06
Location: Midland,MI
Posts: 436
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 71jeepster View Post
that is true, you have to have the phone that supports it, blackberry's don't but the new blackjack does, that's my next phone!
I had a blackjack---when they first cam out and i didn't like the emailing capabilities. The new ones are probably different---just an fyi
JKOZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2008, 08:52 PM   #16
71jeepster
Glad I'm not Gay J. Hall!
 
71jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-06
Location: Kellogg, ID
Posts: 3,091
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to 71jeepster
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JKOZ View Post
I had a blackjack---when they first cam out and i didn't like the emailing capabilities. The new ones are probably different---just an fyi
they redid them it's the blackjack 2 now, I'm gonna give it a try when I get an upgrade thanks for the info though!
71jeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.28108 seconds with 68 queries