Home electrical question - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 25th, 2008, 01:12 PM   #1
94lt1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-08-06
Location: Monroe, Michigan
Posts: 312
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Home electrical question

Okay I a little confused on this and thought someone on here might know the answer. I have a 20 slot breaker box and my main breaker appears to be 60 amps. I would not be suprised to see the service in my house only being 60 amps still since it is an old house but most of the wiring has been upgraded and the wire coming in the house seems newer as well and pretty large (not sure what guage). My question is, is my box actually a 100 amp box and can I get a new meter and service if the line coming in is big enough to go to a 100 amp main breaker and 100 amp service? Are all 20 slot boxes at least 100 amp service boxes? I can't redo the whole thing this year unfortuantely but I want to rerun electrical to the garage and the 60 amp is just not enough to handle it all. I find it wierd that the box has a 60 amp main being in 20 slot box?? I wish I paid more attention in electrical class in High School! LOL! The box does not have service written in the box that it is supposed to be written in.
94lt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 25th, 2008, 01:14 PM   #2
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

lol, i have sort of the same question except i have 100amp and a 20 slot box and want more power :)
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2008, 03:16 PM   #3
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Well I can give u some sort of clue. If the SE cable coming into the house is #2 alum. you have 100 amps worth of wire at least. The panel should have some sort of rating stamped on it someplace. If it were me d just change it out. A 100 amp panel like that brand new is like 35 bucks.
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2008, 05:31 PM   #4
mideerslayer
NEVER GIVE UP!
 
mideerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-27-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,850
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

post a picture, there are enough guys on here that will be able to tell you what it is
mideerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2008, 09:34 PM   #5
94lt1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-08-06
Location: Monroe, Michigan
Posts: 312
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It is 4 guage copper wire coming in the house. Like I said it looks pretty new as well.

Is it possible that the wiring was done but the breaker was under the service size? WHy would they install 4 guage copper wire for a 60 amp service??

Last edited by 94lt1; February 25th, 2008 at 09:40 PM.
94lt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.10792 seconds with 37 queries