Excel Help :( - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 6th, 2008, 02:24 PM   #1
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,756
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 155 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default Excel Help :(

I'm trying to cut/paste large descriptions into excel, and instead of putting all the cut/paste into one cell, it goes and puts parts of the cut/paste in other cells.

Driving me nuts.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 6th, 2008, 02:26 PM   #2
Sol Goode
Obama Nation!
 
Sol Goode's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Curt1656 & Scooters love castle
Posts: 14,527
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Default

double click the cell before pasting
__________________
#YOLO
#meballsohard
Sol Goode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 02:27 PM   #3
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,756
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 155 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

that is so awesome.

Thanks
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 02:33 PM   #4
ckupq
Kitten I'm gonna eat you!
 
ckupq's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Posts: 3,431
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

shift+enter makes a cell multi-line, then paste and re-size.
ckupq is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 02:50 PM   #5
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

the default action of paste is to parse the clipboard contents by lines as well as horizontally by spaces or other detectable parses.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 03:12 PM   #6
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,958
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

if you're using a lot of text and/or clean up of text in your excel sheet consider looking also at asap utilities 'free' plugin.

quite a few handy tasks in there

http://www.asap-utilities.com/
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 03:21 PM   #7
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,160
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Looks like you got it figured out. But another thing to look at, you can right click on the cell and change the text properties so it enters other cells, gets cut off, wraps under or expands the cell, things like that.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.09665 seconds with 43 queries