Turbo YJ project - Page 2 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

Rig Builds and Pics Introduce your rig or post a buildup here.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 11th, 2008, 07:17 PM   #21
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,480
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Hancho View Post
that shouldn't have any real effect on spool rate as all the exhaust energy is still directed at the turbine....they make rear mount turbos for cars and such...
oh boy....
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 11th, 2008, 08:27 PM   #22
Rob the plumber
Licensed master plumber
 
Rob the plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: New Baltimore, Michigan
Posts: 5,711
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

STS makes turbos that mount at the rear of the vehicle.They make great power. http://www.ststurbo.com/
You would think they would have a ton of lag, but they don't. I am only hoping for 4.0L type power out of this too. I am not trying to make a hot rod. Hopefully i'll have it running by the weekend.
Rob the plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2008, 09:20 PM   #23
Bronco Ollie
Captain Jack Sparrow
 
Bronco Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-06
Location: Windsor
Posts: 2,945
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

can't wait to see it done
Bronco Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2008, 10:17 PM   #24
DSM
I can has terrain?
 
DSM's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-25-07
Location: Niles
Posts: 267
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to DSM
Default

Damn... that is the most hack job turbo set up i've ever seen... and i've seen some pretty fucked up set ups...
DSM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2008, 10:23 PM   #25
Rob the plumber
Licensed master plumber
 
Rob the plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: New Baltimore, Michigan
Posts: 5,711
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSM View Post
Damn... that is the most hack job turbo set up i've ever seen... and i've seen some pretty fucked up set ups...
I never said it was pretty dickhead, but thanks for the input. Go back to Xceedspeed.

Last edited by Rob the plumber; February 11th, 2008 at 10:33 PM.
Rob the plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2008, 08:26 AM   #26
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,555
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob the plumber View Post
STS makes turbos that mount at the rear of the vehicle.They make great power. http://www.ststurbo.com/
You would think they would have a ton of lag, but they don't. I am only hoping for 4.0L type power out of this too. I am not trying to make a hot rod. Hopefully i'll have it running by the weekend.
They do have lag - look at how the power doesn't really happen on the dyno charts before 3500-4000 rpm. Looks great for peak power, but I don't think that would work well wheeling in a Jeep.
__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2008, 12:31 PM   #27
Mulder
Jeeper
 
Mulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-16-06
Location: Okemos Mi
Posts: 378
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

What type of sensors are required integrating a turbo into the fuel injected Jeep.

Can you still use the Jeep ECU for injector timing? Does the MAP sensor read boost as well as intake vaccum?
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2008, 10:38 PM   #28
Rob the plumber
Licensed master plumber
 
Rob the plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: New Baltimore, Michigan
Posts: 5,711
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

The stock MAP does not recognize boost. It will peg at zero vacuum, putting out the maximum 5 volts to the ecm. So basically I think I will need to trick the computer into adding more fuel. An FMU will raise fuel pressure based on boost, and the ecm will command the same pulse width to the injectors. Since the fuel pressure is higher, more fuel will be sprayed from the injectors.

Actually, for all I know, the MAP sensor may freak out if it sees boost. I have seen check valves to keep the map from seeing positive pressure.

Last edited by Rob the plumber; February 12th, 2008 at 10:41 PM.
Rob the plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2008, 10:40 PM   #29
Rob the plumber
Licensed master plumber
 
Rob the plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: New Baltimore, Michigan
Posts: 5,711
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScOoTeR View Post
They do have lag - look at how the power doesn't really happen on the dyno charts before 3500-4000 rpm. Looks great for peak power, but I don't think that would work well wheeling in a Jeep.
You have a good point there. Good for drag racing I guess.
Rob the plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2008, 08:36 AM   #30
jared
Can't Worry About It
 
jared's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-30-06
Location: Riverview Mi
Posts: 1,068
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

www.homemadeturbo.com its mostly honda stuff, but the same principles apply
jared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2008, 11:50 AM   #31
Mulder
Jeeper
 
Mulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-16-06
Location: Okemos Mi
Posts: 378
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You could easly make a voltage divider that sends the 0-5V signal to the ECU based off the boost pressure.

Then you could use an adjustable resistor to dial in the specific injector pulse width. See the attached schematic.

I believe the MAP sends out 0.5V to 4.5V anything out of this range is considered to be an error. So depending on your Boost pressure gauge you can choose the right resistor.

In my schematic I have a 0-100 ohm sensor so you'd want around a 10 ohm resistor with it. For different resistive rating psi sensors you'll use different resistors.

If you give me the resistance rating I'll help ya out.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf SCHEMATIC.pdf (5.5 KB, 63 views)

Last edited by Mulder; February 13th, 2008 at 11:56 AM.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2008, 12:07 PM   #32
SlayerXJ
To Live is To Die
 
SlayerXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-22-06
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 2,823
iTrader: (93)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Good luck with it Rob, looks good so far. And F that dsm dude.
SlayerXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2008, 01:58 PM   #33
Watson
Newb!
 
Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-13-08
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 63
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

By far one of my favorite rig projects on here.
Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2008, 04:43 PM   #34
Rob the plumber
Licensed master plumber
 
Rob the plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: New Baltimore, Michigan
Posts: 5,711
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Thanks for the support.

Mulder,

I am not completely grasping what you are explaining. What would you need the resistance rating of?
Rob the plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2008, 06:29 AM   #35
SinisterX
I Drank WHAT!
 
SinisterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-14-07
Location: Owosso
Posts: 685
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to SinisterX
Default

You'd be better off switch over to a mass air flow system instead of the speed density. The ECM will go into default once the MAP input goes out of range. The default inputs will be throttle angle (TPS) and RPM, then the ECM will look at the fuel table program and quess how much injector pulse width to use. Nowhere in that table are calculations for boost. Not saying it can't be done, but it would be a hell of a lot easier with a MAF system.
SinisterX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2008, 02:12 PM   #36
smasheromalley
Senior Member
 
smasheromalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,038
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Just a comment, If you have the time oxy/acetylene can make some really nice welds on cheap exhaust pipe. I suppose you could probably braze it too, especially when this is just for mock up/tuning.


neat project =)
smasheromalley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2008, 04:50 PM   #37
got mud ratt
Junk Yard Fab
 
got mud ratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-02-07
Location: chesterfield mi/edmore mi
Posts: 229
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default turbo power

Sweet rig but will the turbo give you the power you need. What kind of power and torque increase do you think you are gaining.
got mud ratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2008, 08:30 PM   #38
Rob the plumber
Licensed master plumber
 
Rob the plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: New Baltimore, Michigan
Posts: 5,711
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Mass air is definitely more adaptable, but converting it would probably be an expensive pain in the ass. Turbo's also like to use a blow through meter instead of the typical draw through. It would require a lot of tuning to get driveability where you want it.

The import crowd turbocharge speed density Hondas all the time. A check valve for the MAP sensor will keep it from seeing boost, and an FMU will add the extra fuel. I'll run premuim fuel and hope the factory timing is not too aggressive.

How much power do I expect? Not much. :) It will be a crudely tuned and installed low boost turbo on a 2.5L that is trying to drag 3400 lbs down the freeway. I will be happy if it has good driveability and makes enough power to do 70 mph without having the throttle 3/4 down. I don't see why 60-70 horsepower and 80 ft-lbs would be out of the question though.
Rob the plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2008, 10:04 PM   #39
donleybrent
Senior Member
 
donleybrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-03-07
Location: Marlette MI
Posts: 1,496
iTrader: (30)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I love it. I however would have went straight to the 360. lol
donleybrent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2008, 10:43 PM   #40
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,849
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

You could easily switch over to a 2.5 bar MAP for turbos.
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.30707 seconds with 81 queries