Computer Question, I might be screwed - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 23rd, 2008, 11:43 PM   #1
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Computer Question, I might be screwed

Got an old Win 2K Pro box up and running last night and was messing with it tonight, uninstalled a bunch of shit from it that i didn't want on there, now its bricked. The black Window's boot up screen with the white bar loads, then the Windows screen shows, but when it goes blue, just before the login box shows up it goes into a reboot loop. This sorta reminds me of that worm that went around a long time ago.

No its not connected to the internet, and it hasn't been since this problem started. I have tried everything in the F8 menu, same outcome. I cant get into any type of safemode.

Any ideas besides reformat?
Thanx
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 23rd, 2008, 11:47 PM   #2
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,424
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

boot disc? you can download the files online.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 12:07 AM   #3
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i can boot to a prompt without a problem, i just dont know what to fix from there i need a program that will scan and repair whatever is wrong i guess. its running chkdsk right now im hoping for the best with that. doubtful though. i read someplace about a program that runs through linux live called ntfsfix, might try that...
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 09:47 AM   #4
4x4_Liberty_06
Member
 
4x4_Liberty_06's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-07-08
Location: Kentwood, MI
Posts: 55
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Do you have the Win 2k Pro Disk?
4x4_Liberty_06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 10:08 AM   #5
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yes but ive torn the house apart looking for it and cant find it. was going to see if the repair function in the install works.

right now im using knoppix which runs just fine and i can see the drive and access files. just not sure what went wrong. i did find however that its not a ntfs drive but fat32 which makes that prog i wanted to run useless.

any more suggestions?
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 10:08 AM   #6
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,320
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

boot with the XP disk and do a repair
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 10:24 AM   #7
4x4_Liberty_06
Member
 
4x4_Liberty_06's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-07-08
Location: Kentwood, MI
Posts: 55
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlkYJ 355 View Post
yes but ive torn the house apart looking for it and cant find it. was going to see if the repair function in the install works.

right now im using knoppix which runs just fine and i can see the drive and access files. just not sure what went wrong. i did find however that its not a ntfs drive but fat32 which makes that prog i wanted to run useless.

any more suggestions?
The repair function on the Win 2k disk is going to be your best option at this point.

If that doesn't work than I would use knoppix to backup any important files and then reformat and reinstall.

If you suspect it to be a virus educed problem I would use Darik's Boot and Nuke to clear the hard drive before reinstallation of Win 2k.

http://dban.sourceforge.net/
4x4_Liberty_06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 10:24 AM   #8
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

will the xp cd repair a win 2k install?
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 10:27 AM   #9
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,320
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlkYJ 355 View Post
will the xp cd repair a win 2k install?

no but it'll upgrade it LOL

oops, i read the part about 2K but totally defaulted to xp when i responded lol
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 10:33 AM   #10
lbfin88
American Infidel
 
lbfin88's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-24-06
Location: Lapeer
Posts: 1,090
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to lbfin88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlkYJ 355 View Post
...any more suggestions?
Get a Mac?
lbfin88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 10:42 AM   #11
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,320
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lbfin88 View Post
Get a Mac?
x a gabillion
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 10:57 AM   #12
Flexin' XJ
Senior Member
 
Flexin' XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-07
Location: Holt, MI
Posts: 4,459
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have a copy of Win2k. It was a free "educational" copy I got while going to school. Some program between Microshaft and LCC. They had XP too but everybody wanted it at that time (about 7-8 years ago) It is the full version though. Used to dual boot with it but finding drivers for newer computers and win2k didn't always work out. If you were closer I could get you a copy.
Flexin' XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 11:06 AM   #13
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yea it pisses me off that i cant find it, i just used it a few months ago, and now its gone.

And NO i dont want a mac! Haha i used to work with macs a lot, and my dad is a mac guy, just not for me.
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 12:53 PM   #14
Sonicjay
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: around
Posts: 2,566
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

I'm pretty sure I have a disc for ya. Give me a call after 6. if a repair install doesn't work, you can always do a parallel install (install windows in a different folder, c:\windows01\ for example) and get it running without wiping out your data, provided there's enough room on the drive. But first, when it starts booting, before the splash screen, start tapping F8 and see if you get NTLDR (the boot menu), and pick Last Known Good Configuration.
Sonicjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 12:58 PM   #15
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonicjay View Post
I'm pretty sure I have a disc for ya. Give me a call after 6. if a repair install doesn't work, you can always do a parallel install (install windows in a different folder, c:\windows01\ for example) and get it running without wiping out your data, provided there's enough room on the drive. But first, when it starts booting, before the splash screen, start tapping F8 and see if you get NTLDR (the boot menu), and pick Last Known Good Configuration.
Thanks, but i actually just now got it booted up. I "acquired" a win 2k disc, and the repair seems to have worked out. It hung terrible at first but then all the sudden everything came up. Its got several errors though, ill have to try and work all that crap out. On a side note you have a pm

Thanks to everyone who helped out
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.20682 seconds with 65 queries