video editing software? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 17th, 2008, 09:33 PM   #1
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,438
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default video editing software?

whats good?
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 17th, 2008, 10:44 PM   #2
lgottler
Senior Member
 
lgottler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-30-06
Location: New Baltimore, MI
Posts: 1,353
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Funny you should ask......cuz I've been searching for 2 days for free crap I can edit and render some short videos with.

I am currently (as in right now) attempting to render something with Jahshaka .....its hard to figure out, but so far, its the only one that can let me actually see and work with the videos I have....

First try I rendered 98mb of fuzz....now trying again!

I'd love to know something good out there too....

Lucas
lgottler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2008, 11:10 PM   #3
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,438
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

well i dont mind buying it if its good
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2008, 11:34 PM   #4
rodolo
Das BOOT!
 
rodolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-07
Location: 48220
Posts: 251
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I like these they are cheap and great to use:
clicky link
rodolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2008, 11:35 PM   #5
ddeadserious
Senior Member
 
ddeadserious's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-20-06
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 5,078
iTrader: (44)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to ddeadserious
Default

Adobe Audition is pretty good. My only complaint is that you have to preview in a separate window to hear the sound, otherwise, you only see video.
ddeadserious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 01:15 AM   #6
rallyemore
Snowman
 
rallyemore's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-09-06
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 3,176
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to rallyemore
Default

For Macs check out Final Cut Pro. It ain't cheap, but it's worth it.
rallyemore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 06:48 AM   #7
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

windows movie maker aint too bad. then agian it is a MS product.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 06:49 AM   #8
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,614
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 130 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

I use pinnacle studios.

You need a lot of ram to have it run right.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 06:53 AM   #9
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,955
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the first place I look for any type of computing needs is www.sourceforge.net

then again, it sorta depends on what your source video is that you are editing, and what your editing needs are.

another source for changing video formats, etc. is www.doom9.org and/or gordianknot which used to be integral to doom9 but I believe is now separately hosted.
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 08:07 AM   #10
lgottler
Senior Member
 
lgottler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-30-06
Location: New Baltimore, MI
Posts: 1,353
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lothos View Post
windows movie maker aint too bad. then agian it is a MS product.
I tried to use that but it only opens my movies as audio, it won't recognize the video....mpeg2?
lgottler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 09:10 AM   #11
Coynster
ecoyne
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Metro Detroit, MI
Posts: 422
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
I use pinnacle studios.

You need a lot of ram to have it run right.

I second this, and CC's right, it's affordable if purchasing, attainable if searching, but it does suck up the memory...
Coynster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 01:04 PM   #12
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,914
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

I like Sony Vegas. Nice and does quite a bit.
Buggy_Tim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 01:11 PM   #13
SHARPMACHINE
F-U-CANCER!!!
 
SHARPMACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: MONTAGUE MI (BY THE SAND BOX)
Posts: 4,511
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lgottler View Post
Funny you should ask......cuz I've been searching for 2 days for free crap I can edit and render some short videos with.

I am currently (as in right now) attempting to render something with Jahshaka .....its hard to figure out, but so far, its the only one that can let me actually see and work with the videos I have....

First try I rendered 98mb of fuzz....now trying again!

I'd love to know something good out there too....

Lucas
Know a guy who uses jahshaka, wants to find something easier to use.
__________________
Hay, look at me... I have a signature.....



RIP FULLSIZE4LIFE
SHARPMACHINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 02:27 PM   #14
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,438
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

alrite thanks everyone.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 02:45 PM   #15
Rockstar
sɐƃǝʌ sɐן
 
Rockstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-07
Location: Taylor,Mi
Posts: 8,504
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plato2k5 View Post
alrite thanks everyone.
althought Ctrl Alt Delete has been better for some videos :tonka:

Last edited by Rockstar; January 18th, 2008 at 07:14 PM.
Rockstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 03:58 PM   #16
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddeadserious View Post
Adobe Audition is pretty good. My only complaint is that you have to preview in a separate window to hear the sound, otherwise, you only see video.
You must be thinking of Premiere not Audition. Audition is for audio. I like Premiere, i use 1.5 Pro and its got a lot of different crap you can do. I also have After Effects which is also pretty sweet.
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 04:28 PM   #17
5.9zj
Senior Member
 
5.9zj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hartland
Posts: 285
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I use Ulead Video Studio - I got it at the time because it can handle 5.1 surround sound. Not sure if all software now handles surround sound or if you even need that capability.
5.9zj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 05:31 PM   #18
ddeadserious
Senior Member
 
ddeadserious's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-20-06
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 5,078
iTrader: (44)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to ddeadserious
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlkYJ 355 View Post
You must be thinking of Premiere not Audition. Audition is for audio. I like Premiere, i use 1.5 Pro and its got a lot of different crap you can do. I also have After Effects which is also pretty sweet.
:miff::miff: I was thinking After Effects, whoops.
ddeadserious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 07:06 PM   #19
lgottler
Senior Member
 
lgottler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-30-06
Location: New Baltimore, MI
Posts: 1,353
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coynster View Post
I second this, and CC's right, it's affordable if purchasing, attainable if searching, but it does suck up the memory...
Whats "enough memory"? I just upped from 256mb to 1Gb last week to help with my editing duties for GL's newsletter, are you talking 2Gb+?

Lucas
lgottler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 07:12 PM   #20
fsumotorhead
N8KVB
 
fsumotorhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-06
Location: Flat Rock, MI
Posts: 4,199
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lothos View Post
windows movie maker aint too bad. then agian it is a MS product.
I've had pretty good experience with WMM
fsumotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.21192 seconds with 80 queries