Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 17th, 2008, 06:27 PM   #1
jthomp
Senior Member
 
jthomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-01-06
Location: Linden MI
Posts: 977
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Jig for setting TJ brackets?

How'd ya place your brackets on your axle properly? I just ordered brackets for the front (82 Waggoneer) from PORC (less than RE sells their own stuff for). I've never done any fab work like this but that's why I'm doing it, so any help/suggestions you have will be appreciated.
thanks JT
jthomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2008, 06:46 PM   #2
Jeepaholic
Axle Guru Extraordinaire
 
Jeepaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-06
Location: Owosso
Posts: 7,289
iTrader: (116)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jeepaholic Send a message via MSN to Jeepaholic
Default

tape measure and a angle finder.
Jeepaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2008, 06:54 PM   #3
jthomp
Senior Member
 
jthomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-01-06
Location: Linden MI
Posts: 977
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99grandtj View Post
tape measure and a angle finder.
I'm considering that, my concern is with the axle tubes being of different lengths, I wanna be sure I get it right cause I hate redoing things.
jthomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2008, 07:01 PM   #4
Jeepaholic
Axle Guru Extraordinaire
 
Jeepaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-06
Location: Owosso
Posts: 7,289
iTrader: (116)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jeepaholic Send a message via MSN to Jeepaholic
Default

You have to find the center of each axle and measure it from there.

If you want help I can swing over or you could bring the axle over here, I have done a couple of these :miff:
Jeepaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2008, 09:21 PM   #5
hosejockey4506
Visiting Admin
 
hosejockey4506's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: fenton
Posts: 8,748
iTrader: (42)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

measure and copy your stock axle
__________________
one of Michigans 99% er club.
hosejockey4506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2008, 09:55 PM   #6
Pre4runner
Bike Dude
 
Pre4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Kawkawlin, mi
Posts: 2,099
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Pre4runner
Default

I saw a cool trick where you take some bolts and stick them in the stock mounts, then take 1/4 rod and weld it to each, this makes sure all brackets are in the correct relation to one another then just center the jig you made and set your pinion angle
Pre4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.08392 seconds with 22 queries