Electronic specialists? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 6th, 2005, 01:15 PM   #1
Grifter
Human Hunter
 
Grifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: back in "slow"chester
Posts: 1,364
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Electronic specialists?

for you electronic guys...and or gals....

i have a Panasonic home theater surround sound Cd/DVD/VCR home entertainment system..i bought it as a year end model shelf display unit in early 04 at best buy on clearance..(i know cheap bastard)..anyway as of late if i turn it on to play a cd or maybe listen to the radio (i dont have it hooked up to a tv currently so it doesnt play vhs(outdated) or DVD's) it will play for about 30sec(sometimes less) to 2 minutes (s. more) and then bam it cuts out,, kinda like what i imagine a total power loss would sound and feel like...(does that make sense, it sounds like when a big building losses all power at the moment of power loss) anyway because it is like 2 or 3 years old and it was a clearance model i am getting a bit of a run around from panasonic..figured i would try here and see what you all think...or if you have any ideas as to what i am dealing with and if it is fixable?... oh yea, i didnt buy any insurance on it from best buy even if i did i think it would nt be covered anymore anyway....any ideas? thanks...

Maier
Grifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 6th, 2005, 01:21 PM   #2
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,433
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

sounds like it is overheating

should be a master fuse somewhere in the back of the unit, try checking that
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 01:22 PM   #3
BMFmike
meh.
 
BMFmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Grand Haven
Posts: 7,816
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I had a pretty cheap surround sound system and it had the same problem. I took it into a local TV and aplliance repair shop and they said it was a short or a fuse are somethin. Long story made short by my horrible memory, 25 bucks later my 75 dollar surround sound was bumpin.
BMFmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 01:24 PM   #4
Grifter
Human Hunter
 
Grifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: back in "slow"chester
Posts: 1,364
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yeah i am thinkin its a short or something to that tune. i will lok again at the back of the unit and see if it has a accessable fuse i can check..thanks for the inout guys..

Maier
Grifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 01:36 PM   #5
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,433
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

after it turns off, can you turn it back on right away (within 1 or 2 seconds?). If you let it sit for 5 minnutes or so, does it always turn on? If it always turns back on, I doubt it is a loose wire unless it is really bumping.
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 01:45 PM   #6
Grifter
Human Hunter
 
Grifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: back in "slow"chester
Posts: 1,364
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

actaully i havent had it "bumpin" in a pretty long time...i usually get home from work around midnight and the rest of the house is asleep so loud music doesnt float that well.i usually just throw in metallica and just keep the volume and bass down so that i can relax and subsequently, fall asleep .i can usually turn it back on pretty quick...very weird...

oh yea i looked doesnt appear to have an accessable fuse anywhere on the unit..looks like i might be dismanlting it...if i dont hear anything else from Pana...in the next couple hours...

thanks guys..

Maier...

oh yea do you guys suggest if i am going to get it fixed do i use best buy or is there a local guy here in the north metro detroit /rochester area some of you like or have had good experince with?...figure getting it fixed might be cheaper than a all new unit...but you never know i guess...
Grifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 01:47 PM   #7
deuce228
Redneck Poser
 
deuce228's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 7,971
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grifter
for you electronic guys...and or gals....

i have a Panasonic home theater surround sound Cd/DVD/VCR home entertainment system..i bought it as a year end model shelf display unit in early 04 at best buy on clearance..(i know cheap bastard)..anyway as of late if i turn it on to play a cd or maybe listen to the radio (i dont have it hooked up to a tv currently so it doesnt play vhs(outdated) or DVD's) it will play for about 30sec(sometimes less) to 2 minutes (s. more) and then bam it cuts out,, kinda like what i imagine a total power loss would sound and feel like...(does that make sense, it sounds like when a big building losses all power at the moment of power loss) anyway because it is like 2 or 3 years old and it was a clearance model i am getting a bit of a run around from panasonic..figured i would try here and see what you all think...or if you have any ideas as to what i am dealing with and if it is fixable?... oh yea, i didnt buy any insurance on it from best buy even if i did i think it would nt be covered anymore anyway....any ideas? thanks...

Maier
Whats the model number? It does sound like its over heating, but i have a 5 disc theater thats about the same age and did the same thing. I would try unplugging it, then pluggin it back in after a while.
deuce228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 02:30 PM   #8
Grifter
Human Hunter
 
Grifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: back in "slow"chester
Posts: 1,364
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Deuce,
it is a Panasonic SA-HT800V ((P-S) is added on the back)...with a vhs and a cd/dvd port up front. not alot of buttons on the actual unit...and i never got the actual remote so i can only fiddle with about half of its functions...i actually think the remote i have would be to your unit (if yours is a panasonic, five disker))....anyway i had it unplugged all night last night and most of today till i started working on it after lunch...and it still does it...what did you do to get yours to stop cutting out....thanks..

Maier
Grifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 03:12 PM   #9
deuce228
Redneck Poser
 
deuce228's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 7,971
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I bitched at panasonic, because it was under warentee. They wanted me to take to Kenann Corp in Flint, which is an hour away. But the biggest prob is the shop was only open M-F 10-4. I work M-F 7-5. Finally panasonic sent me a label, i sent it to kenann corp, after 3 weeks they sent back with a note, NO PROBS FOUND AND PACKED INCORRECTLEY FROM CUSTOMER on it. The fuckers put my woofer/power supply with typical woofer hole in the front in a box full of packing peanuts. I spent 1 1/2 hours vaccuming out the peanuts. I am not having issues anymore though.
deuce228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 06:03 PM   #10
Grifter
Human Hunter
 
Grifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: back in "slow"chester
Posts: 1,364
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

hmmm very wierd....guess i'll see what i can work out myself prior to taking it anywhere....thanks y'all,

Maier
Grifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 06:32 PM   #11
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

do your self a favor and unhook all the speakers, then use a set of Head phones and see if still acting up. I'm bet'n the power outputs are crossed and your amp is over heating. its a simple problem with wiring.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 06:40 PM   #12
Pongking23
CHOP'S Idol
 
Pongking23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: NY.....Formerly Ferris State
Posts: 346
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Pongking23
Default

i agree.........overheating
Pongking23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 11:12 PM   #13
Grifter
Human Hunter
 
Grifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: back in "slow"chester
Posts: 1,364
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

well i disconnected all my speakers yesterday and reconnected em today (all the blacks to the blacks and reds to the reds and its still doing it. not sure what you mean by power outputs being crossed but since i just reinstalled em...(note all my speakers wires come out of the back of my subwoofer, not the main unit, whicjh is where the headphones plug in) and i am still having the problem. also its has been hooked up for close to a year now and hasnt moved, so if i had something crossed in the speaker wires wouldnt it have done this all along? i am not a electrically inclined guy so laymans terms do apply...again i appreciatte your input guys...i will recheck my lines to be sure .right now......

Maier
Grifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 11:14 PM   #14
Hacksaw
WWSD - What would stan do
 
Hacksaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Isle Of TREASURE, FL
Posts: 11,204
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

how about we take it to the range a put a few hundread rounds through it?

if it doesn't work after that, I can't be of any help.
Hacksaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 11:19 PM   #15
Grifter
Human Hunter
 
Grifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: back in "slow"chester
Posts: 1,364
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

hey hack if fixing it doesnt work, i will allow you to assist me in blowing this piece o shit to kingdom come (blew away my old guitar and amp down in georgia before i moved back)...speaking of which...do you know of a range locally where they allow you to load more than one round at a time in the chamber (bald mountain rule)..and also one that is preferably unsupervised so i can re-hone some of my skills....with out dealing with the fricking pansies afraid of being sued....

damn i miss my military ranges....

Maier
Grifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 11:24 PM   #16
Hacksaw
WWSD - What would stan do
 
Hacksaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Isle Of TREASURE, FL
Posts: 11,204
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

I dont know of any ranges around here.. but you are welcome to come up north sometime over my break..it's 200 miles away, and you can shoot as many rounds as you want!

Wheeling, guns and drinking all in the same day....Only combined if you feel the need to.
Hacksaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2005, 12:01 AM   #17
Grifter
Human Hunter
 
Grifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: back in "slow"chester
Posts: 1,364
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

careful hack i just might taake you up on that there offer.....

for those that care i hooked up the headphones as suggested and had the same problem happen which would eliminate the poosibility of a screwed up wireng job...something is wrong internally i believe..now i just gotta figure out how to fix this shit....suck...
Grifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2005, 12:04 AM   #18
Hacksaw
WWSD - What would stan do
 
Hacksaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Isle Of TREASURE, FL
Posts: 11,204
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

It was a serious offer... hopefully you do take me up on the offer, it's always good time on the funny farm.
Hacksaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2006, 08:26 PM   #19
Grifter
Human Hunter
 
Grifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: back in "slow"chester
Posts: 1,364
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

so i am reawakening my old thread sorry all..

update: sometime in january the frickin thing stopped working on the DVD/cd side of business, i could still turn on the vhs side, but the other half of the unit would not do crap...deader than a dead terrorist...

so today i get a wild hair up my ass, and pull the unit again, take off the cover and looked around for any obvious signs of malfunction, I finally got tired of looking at a bunch of elctronic bull shit so i took it upstairs to find power and plugged the base unit in...all of the sudden i have power everywhere, pop in a cd and let it play, it has been close to 45 minutes now with out any interupptions, at the 15 minute mark i put the cover back on to make sure that it wasnt containing heat hence forcing something inside to over heat..its been going ever since WTF...i hate electronics..

more confused than ever..

Grifter..

guess i'll use it till it screws up again...

weird..
Grifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2006, 09:08 PM   #20
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,601
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Might have been a loose connection somewhere, or even a bad buildup of dust causing an issue.

I've had a tv that was sensitive to dust, and about every 18 months needed a thorough cleaning.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.20750 seconds with 82 queries