router = 1 me =0 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 6th, 2008, 06:47 PM   #1
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,431
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 95 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default router = 1 me =0

The router finally works, but after 3.2 hours on the phone with belkin, and the level three guy not being able to fix it, they informed me to return the wireless n1 card and get a new one.

Upgraded from G so hopefully I can stream music out to my pole barn, G would cut in and out.. hopefully N will cover the 200'.

Internal wireless controllers on laptops are retarded.




__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 6th, 2008, 07:03 PM   #2
71jeepster
Glad I'm not Gay J. Hall!
 
71jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-06
Location: Kellogg, ID
Posts: 3,091
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to 71jeepster
Default

hmmmmm, haven't had any trouble with my built in, but I would prolly get stronger signal and better range with card style. But I can get the signal pretty much anywhere while parked at a truck stop for the night so I haven't worried about it.
71jeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2008, 07:12 PM   #3
L4CX
Out for the Summer!
 
L4CX's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-16-07
Location: Hillsdale, MI
Posts: 4,920
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

For a Minute I thought I would be reading some story about a Power tool accident. I was a little worried. Now that I've read the story, I know it's alot worst. Tech hep usually isn't very helpful at all. Once I was on the phone with LCC's Tech Line, On hold, for about 2 hours. Just on hold. Then I finally got to them and they said "oh yeah, You're gonna have to come in for that" Grr... I'm glad you made it out ok and have whatever wits you had before hand.

Could you at least understand what they said?
L4CX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2008, 07:20 PM   #4
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,946
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

sorta surprised you didn't trench and run a nice 12" pvc pipe conduit out to the garage.

my best friend's "man garage" is set up that way. he runs his 10k generator way out in the 'barn' as they call it and back feeds to the entire house during outages. no need to have it rumbling away next to the house...

anyway, he stretched his cable/tv lines out there too through that pipe...
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2008, 07:38 PM   #5
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,431
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 95 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyeBread View Post
sorta surprised you didn't trench and run a nice 12" pvc pipe conduit out to the garage.

my best friend's "man garage" is set up that way. he runs his 10k generator way out in the 'barn' as they call it and back feeds to the entire house during outages. no need to have it rumbling away next to the house...

anyway, he stretched his cable/tv lines out there too through that pipe...
I have (2) spare 1" pvc conduits ran out there from when I ran a bigger service two summers ago. I also ran hot and cold water lines, as well as natural gas.

I've yet to hook anything up yet.

Another reason I'm doing this is because of some nifty new wifi nightvision security cameras that
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2008, 07:41 PM   #6
Smiley23
Senior Member
 
Smiley23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-21-07
Location: MI
Posts: 2,153
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Cant rig up an external antenna(s) for that router?
Smiley23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2008, 07:47 PM   #7
JEEPR
Playing Possum
 
JEEPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Harrison Township
Posts: 6,744
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I thought you had a power tool accident too!



A router is definitely something I don't want to stick any body part into!
JEEPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2008, 07:53 PM   #8
Mr. Beefy
BFT!
 
Mr. Beefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-07
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
Posts: 11,234
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiley23 View Post
Cant rig up an external antenna(s) for that router?
X2.... Run one outside if need be.
Mr. Beefy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2008, 08:01 PM   #9
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,315
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I've used my airport extreme easily at 300'
Sandals is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2008, 09:48 AM   #10
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,946
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
Another reason I'm doing this is because of some nifty new wifi nightvision security cameras that
this past summer, my brother was in town from Denver, at a buddy's house supposedly a similar set up down at the lake to protect his water skiing investment.

My brother didn't know that and got with some young lass on the boat, and on the dock...

dork brother (who yes is a aerospace engineer by education) wanted to know if there was any way I could haxor into Karl's system and retrieve the video... :tonka: :miff:
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2008, 09:55 AM   #11
Romey
Senior Member
 
Romey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Waterford MI
Posts: 1,958
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandals View Post
I've used my airport extreme easily at 300'
Macs are too expensive for him... :tonka: I tried to get him to start down the apple road but he refused. :miff:
Romey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2008, 09:57 AM   #12
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,431
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 95 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Romey View Post
Macs are too expensive for him... :tonka: I tried to get him to start down the apple road but he refused. :miff:
:chiefwoohaw::chiefwoohaw::chiefwoohaw::chiefwooha w:

I'm just scared. Kind of like buying your first crotch rocket.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2008, 10:04 AM   #13
Stan
I got a gold chain
 
Stan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Shelby Twp.
Posts: 15,686
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
:chiefwoohaw::chiefwoohaw::chiefwoohaw::chiefwooha w:

I'm just scared. Kind of like buying your first hooker.

I know what you mean.
Stan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2008, 10:05 AM   #14
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,315
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
:chiefwoohaw::chiefwoohaw::chiefwoohaw::chiefwooha w:

I'm just scared. Kind of like sucking your first cock

trust me, you'll get the same warm feeling once you do
Sandals is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2008, 10:12 AM   #15
mideerslayer
NEVER GIVE UP!
 
mideerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-27-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,836
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

there are routers that have those external antenna's on them that are supposed to fix the said problem. they have 3 little antenna's on top
mideerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2008, 10:16 AM   #16
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

you woulda been better off using G and swapping the stock dipole antennas for the 7db gain antennas. Use 2 routers with one acting as a gateway into the first router.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2008, 10:17 AM   #17
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

Oh, and my Linksys with stock antennas is good for 1000 feet :tonka:
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2008, 10:20 AM   #18
mideerslayer
NEVER GIVE UP!
 
mideerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-27-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,836
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowIm...h+Storage+Link
mideerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2008, 10:40 AM   #19
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,431
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 95 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

sorry, I already bought a bad ass router, it has a cool LCD screen on it, and three antenna's, and its good for 1300'.

I went with N1 so I could stream video.



__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2008, 10:41 AM   #20
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,315
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

My airport extreme and macbook pro do N1 quite nicely :)
Sandals is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.40603 seconds with 80 queries