ARB Bulkhead fitting question - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 27th, 2007, 02:25 PM   #1
Rocky
AAA GOLD ROCKS!!!!!
 
Rocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Macomb
Posts: 8,512
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default ARB Bulkhead fitting question

Any reason why I couldn't use the factory D30 vent hole as the bulkhead fitting for the ARB? I would retap it to 1/4 pipe and use the fitting below to connect everything. The air line is only 3MM and the ID of the fitting is 9mm. Should be enough to vent. I don't have the room on top of the diff to drill the hole unless I clear a spot of the truss I plan to add.

The red line in the pic would be the tube from the locker to the bulkhead fitting.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SSPX0119.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	54.0 KB
ID:	18676  
Rocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 27th, 2007, 03:33 PM   #2
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,158
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Then you wouldn't have a vent for the pig.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2007, 04:48 PM   #3
Rocky
AAA GOLD ROCKS!!!!!
 
Rocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Macomb
Posts: 8,512
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn View Post
Then you wouldn't have a vent for the pig.
Why wouldn't it? The hose barb in the picutre is the vent.

Last edited by Rocky; December 27th, 2007 at 05:26 PM.
Rocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2007, 05:33 PM   #4
busyfixin
Balls Deep
 
busyfixin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-24-06
Location: williamsburg, MI
Posts: 3,308
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

looks fine to me. just a little bit long though
busyfixin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2007, 05:39 PM   #5
Rocky
AAA GOLD ROCKS!!!!!
 
Rocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Macomb
Posts: 8,512
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Not to worried about the lenght, the gusset on the pig is under it.
Rocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2007, 05:41 PM   #6
Rocky
AAA GOLD ROCKS!!!!!
 
Rocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Macomb
Posts: 8,512
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Kind of like this
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	truss.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	61.9 KB
ID:	18691  
Rocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2007, 06:23 PM   #7
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

i don't see any reason y it wouldn't work. go for it.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2007, 06:31 PM   #8
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,158
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn View Post
Then you wouldn't have a vent for the pig.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky View Post
Why wouldn't it? The hose barb in the picutre is the vent.
Oh, I see, didn't catch that before. Those are a real pain to install in a TJ/XJ D30, just no room or good spot for it.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2007, 07:13 PM   #9
Rocky
AAA GOLD ROCKS!!!!!
 
Rocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Macomb
Posts: 8,512
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Well I drilled it. The first pic you can see the small tube (ARb supply line) inside of the fitting. Looks like there should be enogh room to vent. I think I might run some vac line over the line to protect it againt rubbing on the brass fittings. I don't want it to rub a hole in the line with vibrations.

Second pic you can see how much it sticks out. I'll be running a SS line so it'll be a little more durable. If I some how break it off on a rock I'll have a bigger problem to worrie about. Since it would take out the oil pan to.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SSPX0122.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	77.0 KB
ID:	18692   Click image for larger version

Name:	SSPX0120.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	71.3 KB
ID:	18693  
Rocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.15698 seconds with 48 queries