remove axle shafts? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 13th, 2007, 11:53 AM   #1
66nick66
the not so beastly yj
 
66nick66's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-01-06
Location: Hamburg Michigan
Posts: 768
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 66nick66 Send a message via Yahoo to 66nick66
Default remove axle shafts?

i have an 8.8 and i am trying to redo the brakes, but i also want to replace the parking brake on it because the shoes are terrible on it, so do i need to remove the axle shafts to fix the parking brake (im assuming it will be easier) and if i do then how do you remove the axle shafts? (be easy, never really worked on axles before)

thanks
nick
66nick66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 13th, 2007, 11:57 AM   #2
kickstand
sHaMoNe!
 
kickstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Location: fenton
Posts: 31,359
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Default

Assuming it is a c-clip 8.8 (they may all be but I dont know for certain).

Remove the diff cover, remove the center pin, push axle shaft "in" and c-clip will drop out, pull axle shaft "out", same with the other shaft. It's quite simple if you are able to do brakes and parking brake components, you should have no problem removing the shafts on an ability level.
kickstand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 12:11 PM   #3
66nick66
the not so beastly yj
 
66nick66's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-01-06
Location: Hamburg Michigan
Posts: 768
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 66nick66 Send a message via Yahoo to 66nick66
Default

ill go try that right now
66nick66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 12:11 PM   #4
natureboynate47
Senior Member
 
natureboynate47's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-10-06
Location: oxford
Posts: 431
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

you don't have to take the shafts out to replace the parking brake shoes, but if you need to change the gear lube it would be a good way to kill two birds and it would be easier with the shafts out
X2 what he said on getting the shafts out
natureboynate47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 12:17 PM   #5
66nick66
the not so beastly yj
 
66nick66's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-01-06
Location: Hamburg Michigan
Posts: 768
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 66nick66 Send a message via Yahoo to 66nick66
Default

thanks for the input natureboy, but i already have the shafts out haha, thanks up_roktoy
66nick66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 01:55 PM   #6
kickstand
sHaMoNe!
 
kickstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Location: fenton
Posts: 31,359
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 66nick66 View Post
thanks for the input natureboy, but i already have the shafts out haha, thanks up_roktoy


Not tough at all once you get in there.
kickstand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 03:08 PM   #7
66nick66
the not so beastly yj
 
66nick66's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-01-06
Location: Hamburg Michigan
Posts: 768
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 66nick66 Send a message via Yahoo to 66nick66
Default

no not at all, thanks again
66nick66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 07:17 AM   #8
SHARPMACHINE
F-U-CANCER!!!
 
SHARPMACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: MONTAGUE MI (BY THE SAND BOX)
Posts: 4,506
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

You got them out in 6 minutes. thats quick!!
__________________
Hay, look at me... I have a signature.....



RIP FULLSIZE4LIFE
SHARPMACHINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 08:47 AM   #9
66nick66
the not so beastly yj
 
66nick66's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-01-06
Location: Hamburg Michigan
Posts: 768
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 66nick66 Send a message via Yahoo to 66nick66
Default

haha i know, for once everything went right on something that i was working on
66nick66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.14090 seconds with 47 queries