Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 3rd, 2007, 04:27 PM   #1
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 20,683
iTrader: (23)
Help,......Ford Tranny Guys.

Okay short version, and I need Ideas.............
E40D Tranny behind a 302, Had issues with it being locked in 4low, and found out that the pivot bolt for the linkage had backed out.
This tranny and T-case were built two years ago, and has a lock up torque convertor, shift kit, and S.S. Planetary gears.
I finally got to test drive it on the road tonight, (after sitting for 9 months) and it now shifts through all the gears, but,........it shifts at 4K RPM instead of 2K and when it does shift it just about puts your head through the back window.
In over drive it is turning about 3800RPM at 55 mph (355gears) when it should be at aout 1800. It doesn't sound like variable slipping it just is steady at 3800.
Please help, ......I do have someone who will look at it for me (which I still intend on doing) but I really don't feel like going through $50 in gas to drive it over to him, at that high of RPM.
Is there a vacuum hose or electronic item I need to look for that handles Kick down, I'm not sure where or what it is.

Last edited by FORD FLARESIDE; December 3rd, 2007 at 05:48 PM.
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 08:24 PM   #2
Tranny Tom
Switcheroo
 
Tranny Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-13-06
Location: Southfield
Posts: 3,723
iTrader: (55)
it sounds like a faulty speed sensor or tps
Tranny Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 09:26 PM   #3
chris1044
Senior Member
 
chris1044's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lost in the mitten!
Posts: 1,996
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tranny Tom View Post
it sounds like a faulty speed sensor or tps
X2.....IIRC everything on that truck is electronic.....

Do you have access to a scan tool?? Data stream could quickly rule out/verify if this is the cause
chris1044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 10:19 PM   #4
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 20,683
iTrader: (23)
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris1044 View Post
X2.....IIRC everything on that truck is electronic.....

Do you have access to a scan tool?? Data stream could quickly rule out/verify if this is the cause
No, I don't have a scan Tool.....................can anybody help here?

I did some Web Searching, and from what I am reading, it could be the MLP, the TPS, or the Sensor on the Rear Diff. Can anybody check these for me?
In the trucks current state, I will not be able to drive it. If need be, I will load it on the trailer and bring it to you.
Adam,.......help................................ ........you are in need

Last edited by FORD FLARESIDE; December 3rd, 2007 at 10:34 PM.
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 10:44 PM   #5
chris1044
Senior Member
 
chris1044's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lost in the mitten!
Posts: 1,996
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FORD FLARESIDE View Post
No, I don't have a scan Tool.....................can anybody help here?

I did some Web Searching, and from what I am reading, it could be the MLP, the TPS, or the Sensor on the Rear Diff. Can anybody check these for me?
In the trucks current state, I will not be able to drive it. If need be, I will load it on the trailer and bring it to you.
Adam,.......help................................ ........you are in need

Well...before you do anything like that, you can check the TPS or sensor on the rear diff (VSS).

Do you have a volt meter?? If so (it'll need to do both AC and DC) you can check the sensors - post up the year of the truck and I'll look into wiring diagrams/values for you tomorrow if (when) I've got time
chris1044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 10:47 PM   #6
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 20,683
iTrader: (23)
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris1044 View Post
Well...before you do anything like that, you can check the TPS or sensor on the rear diff (VSS).

Do you have a volt meter?? If so (it'll need to do both AC and DC) you can check the sensors - post up the year of the truck and I'll look into wiring diagrams/values for you tomorrow if (when) I've got time
I do have a meter, and believe it or not it's actually and Auto-Meter.
(unfortunately its not used very much)
It is a 1992 4x4 with the 5.0 and E40d
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 10:54 PM   #7
chris1044
Senior Member
 
chris1044's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lost in the mitten!
Posts: 1,996
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FORD FLARESIDE View Post
I do have a meter, and believe it or not it's actually and Auto-Meter.
(unfortunately its not used very much)
It is a 1992 4x4 with the 5.0 and E40d
Alright, well, tommorow I'll find the data on the sensors....but for the most part, you can check a couple things - Key on engine off for all these tests

TPS - should get a fluctuating DC voltage from roughly 0v to 4.5 volts (higher voltage the more the throttle is open)

VSS - Jack the rear wheels up, put it in neutral, connect the volt meter across the two prongs at the sensor reading AC volts. Spin the back wheels, and the voltage should increase with tire speed.....

Like i said, I'll try to get the wire colors/actual data tommorow.....
chris1044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2007, 12:37 PM   #8
chris1044
Senior Member
 
chris1044's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lost in the mitten!
Posts: 1,996
iTrader: (4)
Wish I could help ya out more....but, Fords service site doesn't go back to 92

What I posted above stands though.....you need to verify that the TPS and VSS are working properly with a volt meter (since you don't have access to a scan tool).

Hopefully someone will post up the colors at the TPS, and the terminals at the PCM so you can make sure the PCM is getting the signal as well....
chris1044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2007, 12:45 PM   #9
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 20,683
iTrader: (23)
The three parts in question are going to cost me about $150 total..........which I don't want to spend money on, but I do have the resources for them.

What is the chance that there is an issue with the Harness itself verses MLPS, TPS, or the VSS? Did Ford have a lot of problems with their harnesses......anybody?

I read on a Ford website that the MLPS, may not even send a code, if it is bad. So do I spend the money to have someone scan it?

I can start doing continuity test on the wiring harness, but I would like to use the truck this winter for plowing........:tonka:
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2007, 01:33 PM   #10
chris1044
Senior Member
 
chris1044's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lost in the mitten!
Posts: 1,996
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FORD FLARESIDE View Post
The three parts in question are going to cost me about $150 total..........which I don't want to spend money on, but I do have the resources for them.

What is the chance that there is an issue with the Harness itself verses MLPS, TPS, or the VSS? Did Ford have a lot of problems with their harnesses......anybody?

I read on a Ford website that the MLPS, may not even send a code, if it is bad. So do I spend the money to have someone scan it?

I can start doing continuity test on the wiring harness, but I would like to use the truck this winter for plowing........:tonka:
Thats why Data stream becomes so important.....if the data on the scan tool checks out OK, you can assume that the sensor, wiring to the PCM, and the PCM are good......

Without a scan tool, your basically stuck checking voltages
chris1044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2007, 06:41 PM   #11
General
Senior Member
 
General's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-06
Location: Wyoming, MI
Posts: 2,865
iTrader: (16)
Pm sent.
General is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2007, 08:45 PM   #12
TurdBronco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-14-05
Location: Center Line
Posts: 988
iTrader: (6)
Send a message via AIM to TurdBronco
I have had a wire corrode in the trans wire harness.

You could replace the black plastic thingie on the drivers side that tells the trans what gear you've selected. I've had that go bad also. It was 10 or 15 bucks.
TurdBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2007, 09:10 AM   #13
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 9,854
iTrader: (23)
If it comes to you having to trailer it I will drive out there and take a look

Adam
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2007, 09:32 AM   #14
farm_boy
hicktown
 
farm_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-05
Location: holland mi
Posts: 2,433
iTrader: (6)
i had the same thing and it turned out to be a speed senor check your speed senor man
farm_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2007, 10:48 AM   #15
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 20,683
iTrader: (23)
I have someone coming tonight to run a scan on the truck.
I will post what we find Later tonight.
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2007, 10:58 AM   #16
farm_boy
hicktown
 
farm_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-05
Location: holland mi
Posts: 2,433
iTrader: (6)
good deal i had a truck like this at one time ow that was a nice
farm_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2007, 10:50 AM   #17
General
Senior Member
 
General's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-06
Location: Wyoming, MI
Posts: 2,865
iTrader: (16)
Update? :dunie:
General is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2007, 11:09 AM   #18
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 20,683
iTrader: (23)
:miff:Ford:stan3:

Well, it's not sending any codes..........so now I get to replace the MLPS and have the guy come back and scan it again...............

Anybody want to buy a Ford?
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2007, 11:32 AM   #19
General
Senior Member
 
General's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-06
Location: Wyoming, MI
Posts: 2,865
iTrader: (16)
Time to get the multimeter out.
General is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2007, 11:35 AM   #20
farm_boy
hicktown
 
farm_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-05
Location: holland mi
Posts: 2,433
iTrader: (6)
ok i have a manual for this truck with a wiring satmatic in it if you want me to take a pic and post it i will
farm_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.17235 seconds with 50 queries