Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Toyota Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old November 15th, 2007, 09:51 PM   #1
albersondh
FNG
 
albersondh's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-22-07
Location: Wayne
Posts: 278
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default EFI swap question.

Iím starting my EFI swap next week and I have one question (for now). It seems everyone that converts from carb to OEM EFI sources an EFI fuel tank for the swap. I understand the benefit of this but Iím wondering why not just use the carb fuel tank? Mine (87 22R) has an out-put, return, and a vent. So it seems to me like I could just run an external pump. Unless there is an issue with the sending unit line diameter being too small. I refurbished my sender and braised in new 1/4" copper lines. So what do you think, do I have to get a new tank? I donít want to run a cell so thatís not an option.
The way my other EFI cars are plumbed fuel goes from the tank, to the rail, past the reg, and then returns to the tank. So it appears I have all the plumbing I need?
albersondh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2007, 10:12 PM   #2
brimy311
Smells like a Fork Liftis
 
brimy311's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Kzoo, mi
Posts: 4,092
iTrader: (42)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to brimy311
Default

You can run an external pump, ES2000 is a good pump made by ford. I have used this pump on my 22re before, worked fine.
__________________
JcrOffroad.com
Like us on Faceook!
brimy311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2007, 06:54 AM   #3
albersondh
FNG
 
albersondh's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-22-07
Location: Wayne
Posts: 278
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You used this pump (ES2000) on a 22RE (EFI) motor, with a 22R (carbureted) fuel tank?
albersondh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2007, 09:29 AM   #4
brimy311
Smells like a Fork Liftis
 
brimy311's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Kzoo, mi
Posts: 4,092
iTrader: (42)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to brimy311
Default

no, used it with a fuel cell. But it should not matter.
__________________
JcrOffroad.com
Like us on Faceook!
brimy311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2007, 10:10 AM   #5
MrGrey
propane evangelist
 
MrGrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-04-07
Location: Davison
Posts: 798
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

screw it and just go propane....
MrGrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2007, 12:38 PM   #6
albersondh
FNG
 
albersondh's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-22-07
Location: Wayne
Posts: 278
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Does anybody know the ID of OEM EFI sending and return lines? Im sure its metric so please convert to the closest US standard if you can?

Whats nominal fuel PSI? for OEM EFI (22RE).

Thanks for the help, I need to bang this out over T-giving leave, I got the week off so that should be plenty of time assuming I dont end up having to source long lead time items.
albersondh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2007, 12:49 PM   #7
brimy311
Smells like a Fork Liftis
 
brimy311's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Kzoo, mi
Posts: 4,092
iTrader: (42)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to brimy311
Default

long read, might be here:
http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=316661
__________________
JcrOffroad.com
Like us on Faceook!
brimy311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2007, 06:50 PM   #8
88yj
collecting parts
 
88yj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-09-06
Location: Monroe, Mi
Posts: 1,292
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 88yj
Default

Just checking in to see how this turned out. I'm about do do the same thing, but I've been dragging my feet with it.
88yj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2007, 11:40 AM   #9
albersondh
FNG
 
albersondh's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-22-07
Location: Wayne
Posts: 278
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have the injectors out getting cleaned and balanced (RCI). Everything else is cleaned and pretty much ready to go in. Im going to use a Bosch 1 wire, screw in, 02 sensor ($25.00). If it works great, if not Im only out $25.00. The engine harness is all cleaned up (from donor 88) and I plan on just overlaying it and powering it up. I think some people swap the entire harness; I have no idea why you would do this when the engine harness is pretty much stand alone for the EFI... Ill keep this updated and post up some pics.
albersondh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2007, 11:52 AM   #10
88yj
collecting parts
 
88yj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-09-06
Location: Monroe, Mi
Posts: 1,292
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 88yj
Default

I read a lot of the EFI stuff is in the dash wiring? Maybe it's wrong. Let me know how it works out since I have the same swap to do in my truck. I have 2 complete donor harnesses.
88yj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2007, 05:25 PM   #11
albersondh
FNG
 
albersondh's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-22-07
Location: Wayne
Posts: 278
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Looks to me like the engine/EFI harness (see below pic) covers most if not all of the EFI controls. The harness terminals at the ECU, so I think I can just power it up and Im good. Im still waiting on my injectors from RCI to get back befor I realy dive into it. I have all my gaskets and junk together so Im hopeing its a weekend job once the injectors come back.

[IMG][/IMG]



albersondh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2007, 07:11 PM   #12
88yj
collecting parts
 
88yj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-09-06
Location: Monroe, Mi
Posts: 1,292
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 88yj
Default

Like I said, I'll be watching this thread. Good luck with it. I want to do mine next month.
88yj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2007, 08:36 PM   #13
brimy311
Smells like a Fork Liftis
 
brimy311's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Kzoo, mi
Posts: 4,092
iTrader: (42)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to brimy311
Default

I have always just used the entire harness from an EFI truck for installing this. I know on POR they have a EFI swap, splicing into the carbed truck harness. I am not sure. Probably wont get much help here.
__________________
JcrOffroad.com
Like us on Faceook!
brimy311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Toyota Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright ©2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.22298 seconds with 36 queries