Dodge track bars... - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 6th, 2007, 09:36 AM   #1
Monkeyevil
I <3 Miatas
 
Monkeyevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 8,988
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Monkeyevil
Default Dodge track bars...

School me... Stan said he has ran through a few moogs. My truck was all over the road this weekend after new tires, a new draglink and ball joints.

Anyone have a beefy after market one? I guess I could build one as well...
__________________
JcrOffroad
Zoom Zoom!
Monkeyevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 6th, 2007, 09:44 AM   #2
silverxj
Recovering XJ owner
 
silverxj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,620
iTrader: (64)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

I went through 2 cheapy XRF's before getting a Moog. I've had good luck so far, but still feel it wandering ... I've also replaced balljoints, wheel bearings, complete steering and adj the steering gear.

I would say make your own ... or Moog's are lifetime, so either way...
silverxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2007, 01:02 PM   #3
bigjeep65
Lurker
 
bigjeep65's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-05-05
Location: Coldwater, Mi.
Posts: 159
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Stock or leveling kit, 4x4, year?

There is a steering box brace that PP was looking into in Dodge tech. Supposed to help considerably with steering wander. Also a replacement trackbar, adjustable to keep the axle centered

For 2nd gen trucks, there is also a steering upgrade using stock '98 pieces (better design, bolt in).
bigjeep65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2007, 01:11 PM   #4
bigjeep65
Lurker
 
bigjeep65's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-05-05
Location: Coldwater, Mi.
Posts: 159
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Sometimes I wonder what I'm thinking. Found the correct thread, it's Ram v4.5 in rig builds. Page 3.

Yeah, I know, learn how to post a link
bigjeep65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2007, 06:12 PM   #5
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

I highly recommend the steering box brace. The difference was noticeable and immediate. Only took a half hour, is serviceable, and I see it on Rams on other custom fab shop sites.

Here's the link to the brace:
http://www.solidsteel.biz/dss.htm

As for the track bar, I ran Moogs for years and ran though a few. However, I found that "a few" with a lifetime warranty was acceptable over the course of 160k+. What makes the biggest difference is changing out your upper mount, which I have also done.

Here's a bracket they make that allows you to use the newer-style track bar:
http://www.solidsteel.biz/tbk.htm


My Skyjacker lift came with a bracket that does this. It has not loosened or wore out, but the poly bushing at the lower end has been replaced and needs to be replaced again. I would not expect your truck to go through them like mine has.

There is another company that people on Pirate seem to like a lot. I bookmarked them at home and can't remember the name. They make beefy track bars, but they are also one of the sites where I saw the Solid Steel box brace fitted to most fo the rigs pictured.

Last edited by PävementPounder; November 6th, 2007 at 06:29 PM.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2007, 06:23 PM   #6
nixxerRsixxer
Homewrecker
 
nixxerRsixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: humanresources
Posts: 3,280
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to nixxerRsixxer Send a message via AIM to nixxerRsixxer Send a message via Yahoo to nixxerRsixxer
Default

Thuren Fabrication makes an Aftermarket TB, I used to have a DT Pro Fab however they appear to be no longer in business.
__________________
He had a steady job and watched what he spent.
He'd say I don't believe in payin' no goddamn rent.
I'll squirrel away every goddamn cent
and buy my own damn house in Kalamazoo.
nixxerRsixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2007, 02:46 AM   #7
merr6267
More boost than yours:)
 
merr6267's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-06
Location: Allendale, MI
Posts: 1,252
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have a Thuren in the mail right now . . .
We'll see.
merr6267 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2007, 11:19 PM   #8
rm25x
Senior Member
 
rm25x's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 493
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thuren is the one it seems everyone swears by on Pavement Sucks and Pirate.
rm25x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2007, 12:13 AM   #9
merr6267
More boost than yours:)
 
merr6267's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-06
Location: Allendale, MI
Posts: 1,252
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I forgot to mention, I also have the Solid steel brace that PP posted about earlier. It seemed to take out a good bit of wander . . . it was hard for me to tell though as my track bar has been pretty bad the whole time I had the brace.

Even if I had a perfectly healthy steering system I think the SS brace is a good investment. It puts the sector shaft in a double-shear loading situation, which is much better than a single bearing loaded by a long lever . . . and the support bearings are pretty cheap.

I thought about building something like it for my Jeep, but then I realized that if I build a rig for rocks/trails etc. I'll probably go with a hydraulic setup anyway.

Take care,
Phill
merr6267 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2007, 01:27 PM   #10
user name
keep your stick onthe ice
 
user name's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-23-06
Location: around MI and such
Posts: 904
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I always use Moog when I replace them. IMO moog has the best hassle free warranty and Rams really like to wear out trackbars so you'll probably end up getting more than one put on.
user name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2007, 01:32 AM   #11
Cartman
Can't lose with 42s
 
Cartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-17-06
Location: Williamsburg, MI
Posts: 1,043
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I've got the DSS and it rocks. Helped my steering wander big times. My trackbar is hit up and it only has 30K on it, was desperate and out of town so I had to buy a napa lifetimer...
I'm doing 4.5" SJ coils 2" spacer, RK long arms and Thuren's adjustable trackbar..my fingers are crossed!
I've also redone my steering to the updated inverted T (or Y cant' remember) 98 "HD" stuff, much much beefier than the stock stuff. This is on a 2500, might not help the half ton guys much..
Cartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2007, 02:42 PM   #12
Screaminhillbilly
Scott
 
Screaminhillbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-17-06
Location: White Lake/Flint, MI
Posts: 27
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Clyde's Frame and wheel in Pontiac has a fix for the track bars. They weld an assembly on to it that takes the place of the nylon preload ring. The preload ring is usually what fails. After this is done preload is adjustable and there is not a nylon ring to fail. I had this done to my track bar two and a half years ago and have not had any issues since.
Screaminhillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2007, 02:53 PM   #13
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Screaminhillbilly View Post
They weld an assembly on to it that takes the place of the nylon preload ring. The preload ring is usually what fails. After this is done preload is adjustable and there is not a nylon ring to fail.
Are you saying that they remove the lower mounting bushing?
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2007, 03:03 PM   #14
Screaminhillbilly
Scott
 
Screaminhillbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-17-06
Location: White Lake/Flint, MI
Posts: 27
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

No, they remove the nylon preload ring in the upper ball/ socket assembly. It is replaced with a forged brass piece. There is an adjustable setscrew with a spring plate that provides the preload onto the brass piece.

I went through five track bars before this. When we disassembled it to add this fix the nylon ring was cracked.
Screaminhillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2007, 03:06 PM   #15
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Screaminhillbilly View Post
No, they remove the nylon preload ring in the upper ball/ socket assembly. It is replaced with a forged brass piece. There is an adjustable setscrew with a spring plate that provides the preload onto the brass piece.

I went through five track bars before this. When we disassembled it to add this fix the nylon ring was cracked.
Okay, so it still attaches to the factory bracket on the frame in a vertical manner?
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2007, 03:10 PM   #16
Screaminhillbilly
Scott
 
Screaminhillbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-17-06
Location: White Lake/Flint, MI
Posts: 27
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thats correct.
Screaminhillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2007, 03:26 PM   #17
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Okay, I think I'm following this, but it would help if you happened to have a picture. You have a non-adjustible track bar with a brass bushing at the upper end attached to the factory upper mount?
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2007, 09:27 PM   #18
Screaminhillbilly
Scott
 
Screaminhillbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-17-06
Location: White Lake/Flint, MI
Posts: 27
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yes.

Unfortunately I am not able to get a pic right now.

Basically it is a modification to a stock track bar which solves the design flaw that causes them to fail in the first place. Furthermore, the fix allows adjustment of the preload on the ball socket assembly.
Screaminhillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2007, 01:17 AM   #19
Monkeyevil
I <3 Miatas
 
Monkeyevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 8,988
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Monkeyevil
Default

I am going to build my own with a 1-ton TRE. Will see how long it lasts.
__________________
JcrOffroad
Zoom Zoom!
Monkeyevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2007, 10:29 PM   #20
bigtruckman
One shot, One Kill
 
bigtruckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Zachary, LA
Posts: 460
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I think this is what a friend mine did to his and said it works good.

http://ramchargercentral.com/index.p...owtoshow;id=79
bigtruckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.31133 seconds with 80 queries