does a v8 fit? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Suzuki Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 13th, 2006, 09:49 PM   #1
Motorcitydak
Merkin salesman
 
Motorcitydak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-20-06
Location: Casco, Mi
Posts: 1,247
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Motorcitydak
Default does a v8 fit?

im tryin to plan out a future project probabily using a sami, 44/9 and 35s or 60/14 and 39s linked and coiled. As for the plant, ive got a choice bw a nicely built 318 auto or I can swap my 3.9 v6 (175hp) stick into the sami and the 318 auto into my dakota(44/9 4.56s lockers 35s 13mpg). I think that a 400hp(?) plant in a 2500-3000# rig would be scary fun fast and maybe the better idea, but will a v8 fit in there?
Motorcitydak is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 14th, 2006, 05:58 AM   #2
fr3db3ar
KISS MY AVATAR
 
fr3db3ar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Holland
Posts: 5,429
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to fr3db3ar Send a message via AIM to fr3db3ar Send a message via Yahoo to fr3db3ar
Default

Yes. Bart has a 350 stuffed in the front of his. Of course the radiator is in the back :tonka:
fr3db3ar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 10:22 AM   #3
scottie
American Leyland??
 
scottie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sweet home Georgia on my mind
Posts: 8,499
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to scottie
Default

No it does not fit
scottie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 10:57 AM   #4
95geo
newbie
 
95geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: dryden
Posts: 5,777
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

you can make anything "fit" it just comes down to how hard you want to work for it.

if your putting a v8 and 1/2 ton axles in a sami then your wasting your time and money. if you put a v8 and 1 tons in a sami then why even start with a zuk in the first place.... it would be easier to drop a zuk body onto a 1 ton chevy frame.
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 11:27 AM   #5
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,508
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

or buy my rig all setup for a V8 and fullwidth axles... like i told you to do a few weeks ago :tonka:
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 11:31 AM   #6
Motorcitydak
Merkin salesman
 
Motorcitydak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-20-06
Location: Casco, Mi
Posts: 1,247
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Motorcitydak
Default

well, if you wanna wait a year...


so should i go with my v6 and 1/2 tons w 35s then?
Motorcitydak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 11:32 AM   #7
Viperdave
A-1 Dave Costa
 
Join Date: 03-12-06
Location: Wolcott, Ct
Posts: 1,106
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Viperdave
Default

alvin aka mudduck over on gotmud has a 350 sami
Viperdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 08:10 PM   #8
hman1991
Senior Member
 
hman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-06
Location: Holland Michigan
Posts: 474
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to hman1991
Default

how do i get ahold of "bart"? is it the white one? i havent seen that thing in alog time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr3db3ar View Post
Yes. Bart has a 350 stuffed in the front of his. Of course the radiator is in the back :tonka:
hman1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 08:15 PM   #9
SANDMAN
Shhhhhh
 
SANDMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-21-06
Location: oxford
Posts: 951
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viperdave View Post
alvin aka mudduck over on gotmud has a 350 sami
x2
SANDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 09:12 PM   #10
95geo
newbie
 
95geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: dryden
Posts: 5,777
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motorcitydak View Post
well, if you wanna wait a year...


so should i go with my v6 and 1/2 tons w 35s then?
why would you put a heavy (iron) underpowered (for its displacement) v6 in a buggy that would do just fine with a 120hp aluminum 4 cylinder?

think 2.0L from a 99-2004 chevy tracker with a manual and 6:1 t-case gears in a sami case
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2006, 10:19 AM   #11
Motorcitydak
Merkin salesman
 
Motorcitydak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-20-06
Location: Casco, Mi
Posts: 1,247
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Motorcitydak
Default

well, ive also got a neon 2.0 DOHC sittin in my garage. i can prob use that too. maybe weighs 200# built and has fairly good power. Can I hook that up to my ax-15 tho?
Motorcitydak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2006, 10:34 AM   #12
Bratworst
..........
 
Bratworst's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-10-06
Location: MI
Posts: 660
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Speed and Performance are directly proportional to the size of your wallet.


Anything Fits- but functionally speaking.............that's a whole new course of action.
Bratworst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2006, 09:01 AM   #13
swampjeep
Swamp Stomper
 
swampjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Waterford, mi
Posts: 7,822
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motorcitydak View Post
well, ive also got a neon 2.0 DOHC sittin in my garage. i can prob use that too. maybe weighs 200# built and has fairly good power. Can I hook that up to my ax-15 tho?
do you have the trans that went with it? just put that in front of the sami tcase, since it is a divored set up...
swampjeep is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2006, 09:59 AM   #14
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,739
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swampjeep View Post
do you have the trans that went with it? just put that in front of the sami tcase, since it is a divored set up...
'cept that it'd be a transaxle, not a transmission. If you only wanted low range, then car transaxles can work well to be a trans + t-case, but no high range possibilities.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2006, 11:20 AM   #15
Motorcitydak
Merkin salesman
 
Motorcitydak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-20-06
Location: Casco, Mi
Posts: 1,247
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Motorcitydak
Default

no, i dont have the trans anymore, but can get em fairly easily at a local yard. just dont think that would work too well. besides, if i can get an ax-15, i can keep the 231 behind it.
Motorcitydak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2006, 02:14 PM   #16
fr3db3ar
KISS MY AVATAR
 
fr3db3ar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Holland
Posts: 5,429
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to fr3db3ar Send a message via AIM to fr3db3ar Send a message via Yahoo to fr3db3ar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hman1991 View Post
how do i get ahold of "bart"? is it the white one? i havent seen that thing in alog time.
I don't know how to get ahold of Bart anymore....since he closed Michigan Offroad Tire and moved to the East side somewhere. Yes, his rig was white, Toyota axles and running 35's
fr3db3ar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2007, 11:58 AM   #17
aimmotorsports
Senior Member
 
aimmotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-13-07
Location: howell, mi
Posts: 918
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

im looking into use the 4.3 from a s10 or just "building up" the stock 1.6
aimmotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2007, 01:59 PM   #18
sodapop
Support the Sport!
 
sodapop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-11-05
Location: Harrison Twp, MI
Posts: 2,015
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Dude this thread is like a year old...
sodapop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Suzuki Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.28293 seconds with 76 queries