electric choke - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 7th, 2006, 06:37 PM   #1
Arnie897
y=mx+b
 
Arnie897's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Posts: 465
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Arnie897
Default electric choke

Just installed a Holley Truck Avenger in my Jeep. The engine is a AMC 360.

Where do you hook the electric choke wire up to and how exactly does electric choke work? It was suggested to find a 12v source....but which one? I was running a carb with a manual choke setup and I'm clueless to these new fangled electrical things.
Arnie897 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old March 7th, 2006, 06:54 PM   #2
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

it need to go to switch power on the ignition side of the key. if not it could stay powered up when the power is supposed to be off. and don't wire to the accessory side either
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2006, 08:27 PM   #3
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Electric choke works by heating an element up which over like 1 minute will open the choke butterfly. Power to the choke must be on all the time when the motor is running.
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2006, 08:32 PM   #4
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,050
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Originally, the Choke on jeeps s powered through a switch on the same manifold as the oil pressure sender. It would power up the choke when you have oil pressure, when the motor is actually running. If you have a factory or aftermarket wiring harness you will have the wire there to hook to the choke. Or, look to see if you have that switch down by the oil sender, it will have 2 wires comming off of it. Maybe trace it from there.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.11745 seconds with 32 queries