Computer people, Is this a decent computer - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 11th, 2007, 04:52 PM   #1
booblinker
Trailer Trash
 
booblinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-29-06
Location: Leonard, mi
Posts: 9,867
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to booblinker
Default Computer people, Is this a decent computer

All i will be using it for it, typing an occasional paper, surfing the internet, watching dvds, and mayeb occasionally downloading some porn . Will this computer work decent for what i need it for?
Inspiron 1501 Notebook: Mobile AMD Sempron 3500+ (1.8GHz/512KB) Genuine Windows Vista Home Basic 1 $399.00
Inspiron 1501 Notebook: Mobile AMD Sempron 3500+ (1.8GHz/512KB)
Certified Refurbished
YAHOO! Music Jukebox-Music Player 30 day Trial
512 MB DDR2 SDRAM 533MHz (1 DIMM)
Service Software
Processor Label
15.4 WXGA Notebook Screen Display with TrueLife
Service Software
AOL Software
Power DVD Software
Software CD
AOL Software Documentation
AOL ISP Software
Operating System Label
Dell Support Software 1.0
Operating System DVD
120 GB SATA Hard Drive (5400 RPM)
Shipping Material
Support Software
Microsoft Works 8.5
Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Reader
24X CD RW/DVD Combo Drive
Earthlink ISP
1390 Wireless Card
Resource CD
Keyboard on Notebook
Documentation
Reference Guide
Genuine Windows Vista Home Basic
ATI Radeon Xpress 1150 256MB HyperMemory
ISP Search Assist
Net Zero ISP
Roxio Creator LE
Image Restore Software
4 Cell Battery
65W Adapter
__________________
__________________
-2001 Tahoe original 5.3 4x4 only 435k
-Down to 2 three wheelers
-1985 V65 Magna
-1978 F100
-1973 CT70 with 125cc motor
booblinker is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old October 11th, 2007, 04:54 PM   #2
GreaseMonkey
Senior Member
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Madison Heights, MI
Posts: 17,976
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Sounds pretty good, except I would try and get at least 1 GB of RAM. 512 MB can still lag pretty good.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerryann View Post
I am not a lesbian but if I was I would do her.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2007, 04:59 PM   #3
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,946
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

for what you have described as the intended usage it's plenty.

I do all the above, and slightly more with a much less robust, used Dell Celeron laptop I paid $200.00 for
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2007, 06:29 PM   #4
Smiley23
Senior Member
 
Smiley23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-21-07
Location: MI
Posts: 2,153
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseMonkey View Post
Sounds pretty good, except I would try and get at least 1 GB of RAM. 512 MB can still lag pretty good.
Actually, if it is running Vista, I personally would run with 2GB. I tried that (CRAP!) and it sucked up 512MB of ram doing NOTHING! I had 1 GB in my machine and it lagged (desktop at that).

Good eye in seeing that.

Maybe see what a DVD / RW upgrade would run you. Fits more porn
Smiley23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2007, 06:32 PM   #5
steveo
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-07
Location: montana/wyoming
Posts: 20,293
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i would buy it and get a copy of xp, vista is no good, IMO.
steveo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2007, 06:55 PM   #6
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,946
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiley23 View Post
Actually, if it is running Vista, I personally would run with 2GB. I tried that (CRAP!) and it sucked up 512MB of ram doing NOTHING! I had 1 GB in my machine and it lagged (desktop at that).

Good eye in seeing that.

Maybe see what a DVD / RW upgrade would run you. Fits more porn
stick ubuntu on it, and ditch the vista, or stick xp on it. and people re-use porn?

there are plenty of apps that will 'shrink' dvd's to svcd formats
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2007, 07:00 PM   #7
Smiley23
Senior Member
 
Smiley23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-21-07
Location: MI
Posts: 2,153
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyeBread View Post
stick ubuntu on it, and ditch the vista, or stick xp on it. and people re-use porn?

there are plenty of apps that will 'shrink' dvd's to svcd formats
I dont run VISTA CRAP!

But on your second thought - shrink and fit more on DVD :)
Smiley23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2007, 07:03 PM   #8
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,946
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiley23 View Post
I dont run VISTA CRAP!

But on your second thought - shrink and fit more on DVD :)
I don't run vista either. In fact, I also despise Office 2007 after working with it here at OU.

I have a portable USB Hdd for moving/archiving large quantities of data.

Guess I spend enough time trying to avoid porn, w/out resorting to wanting to archive/burn it to DVD. *shrug*
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2007, 07:08 PM   #9
Smiley23
Senior Member
 
Smiley23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-21-07
Location: MI
Posts: 2,153
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyeBread View Post
I have a portable USB Hdd for moving/archiving large quantities of data.
Hehe - I have over 400 TERABYTES of disk to hide it :tonka:

Sorry, I am a Storage Area Network (SAN) Engineer/Architect. I couldnt resist. :tonka:
Smiley23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2007, 07:18 PM   #10
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,946
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiley23 View Post
Hehe - I have over 400 TERABYTES of disk to hide it :tonka:

Sorry, I am a Storage Area Network (SAN) Engineer/Architect. I couldnt resist. :tonka:
no worries. with your affinity for porn, and all that disk space, just mirror the porn equivalent of youtube.com and don't worry about burning it :tonka:


I wonder how much space we have at my old facility now... pretty sure it's not quite approaching that yet, our GIS data, in particular the various years' orthophotography of the entire county far and away took up the most disk space.
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2007, 07:21 PM   #11
booblinker
Trailer Trash
 
booblinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-29-06
Location: Leonard, mi
Posts: 9,867
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to booblinker
Default

I already bought it, so i cant go with more 1 or 2 gigs. Guess ill have xp installed on it. Will it run alright with 512mb and xp?
__________________
-2001 Tahoe original 5.3 4x4 only 435k
-Down to 2 three wheelers
-1985 V65 Magna
-1978 F100
-1973 CT70 with 125cc motor
booblinker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2007, 07:26 PM   #12
Smiley23
Senior Member
 
Smiley23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-21-07
Location: MI
Posts: 2,153
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by booblinker View Post
I already bought it, so i cant go with more 1 or 2 gigs. Guess ill have xp installed on it. Will it run alright with 512mb and xp?
Maybe see if you can bump it up another 512. You can buy aftermarket parts on ebay or pricewatch.com.
Smiley23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2007, 07:26 PM   #13
Smiley23
Senior Member
 
Smiley23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-21-07
Location: MI
Posts: 2,153
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyeBread View Post
no worries. with your affinity for porn, and all that disk space, just mirror the porn equivalent of youtube.com and don't worry about burning it :tonka:


I wonder how much space we have at my old facility now... pretty sure it's not quite approaching that yet, our GIS data, in particular the various years' orthophotography of the entire county far and away took up the most disk space.
GIS takes up a lot of space. Especially for that much data. Ever look into ESRI?
Smiley23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2007, 07:26 PM   #14
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

its easy to slap in another chip, Vista will lag a little with 512 but it will run, after using vista for awhile I started to like it, it is a step up from xp.
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2007, 07:27 PM   #15
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,946
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by booblinker View Post
I already bought it, so i cant go with more 1 or 2 gigs. Guess ill have xp installed on it. Will it run alright with 512mb and xp?
my heap/used celeron laptop has I think 384 and xp, runs good enough for the tasks you defined above.

my desktop, also a refurbished dell has 256 megs of ram, and a 256 meg nvidia video card. doesn't lag horribly on the tasks above, and can actually do 'ok' with some of the semi-modern games such as doom3.

most of the semi-modern games however have very long/slow load-up times.

e.g. way back when I tried battlefield 1942 it would take up to 3 or 4 minutes to "join a game" - even if I was playing single player mode...
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2007, 07:28 PM   #16
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,946
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiley23 View Post
GIS takes up a lot of space. Especially for that much data. Ever look into ESRI?
I have been actively looking for an ESRI specific job for the past 11 months...

In addition to the numerous ESRI certified courses I have taken, I have also taught a couple on their software.

ESRI is the microsoft of GIS...
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2007, 07:32 PM   #17
Smiley23
Senior Member
 
Smiley23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-21-07
Location: MI
Posts: 2,153
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyeBread View Post
I have been actively looking for an ESRI specific job for the past 11 months...

In addition to the numerous ESRI certified courses I have taken, I have also taught a couple on their software.

ESRI is the microsoft of GIS...
Not sure if DTE Energy is too far for you - but keep an eye out. They just switched to ESRI.
Smiley23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2007, 07:37 PM   #18
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,946
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiley23 View Post
Not sure if DTE Energy is too far for you - but keep an eye out. They just switched to ESRI.
I have looked into them, as well as Consumers.

I have a DTE profile set up in their HR system - it alerted me prior to me stumbling across their semi-recent intern position what was posted at imagin.org

The Jackson facilities would not make for a pleasant commute, but DTE did have some GIS work in Lansing, unfortunately it was for the internship mentioned above.

In addition to the standard careerbuilder.com type of sites, there are several GIS-related sites I scour at least on a weekly basis including the aforementioned imagin.org

GJC.org is an excellent resource, but is dominated by out of state agencies/firms that typically do not like to pay to relocate
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2007, 06:32 AM   #19
Jeepfreek
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-03-06
Location: Upper Peninsula
Posts: 190
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You need to think twice about buying it and then putting XP on it. You probably will not be able to find drivers for some of the parts in it. We have come across this several times (was told we couldn't do it so had to try). We even had to go with some dell drivers for an HP we were trying to convert and still no luck with all of them. Problem is that some of the hardware that was put into the new laptops have never had XP drivers so your just out of luck.

Yes vista does take about 7-800 mb of ram while sitting still. Microsoft has even said that any machine with vista and 512 of ram - "Will run vista". Thats about it.

Best idea is to find a laptop with at least 1 gig of ram and then dump the Norton or Mcaffee trial versions (both take up absurd amounts of resources), turn off all the crap that starts up from the factory, and then get some good antivirus (like pccillin from trendmicro) and antispyware (I like spysweeper from Webroot). You will be more than satisfied with the results I'm sure.
Jeepfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2007, 06:43 AM   #20
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

That sounds like a refurb.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.30978 seconds with 80 queries