Hey ford electric relay guys.. this bugs me.. - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 1st, 2006, 10:13 PM   #1
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,449
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default Hey ford electric relay guys.. this bugs me..

What triggers the locks to lock in the 05 f-350's?

Giving that the truck only moves 3 times a week, so I haven't pinned it down.. Is it a timer after you put it in drive, or is it a steering relay?

Usually it happens 10-12 seconds... But today, it didn't lock until about 30 seconds when I turned a corner.

This bothers me..

I'm talking about the auto lock thing.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old March 2nd, 2006, 01:03 PM   #2
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Usually its speed based.

Usually its also configurable.

Usually....
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2006, 01:08 PM   #3
Arnie897
y=mx+b
 
Arnie897's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Posts: 465
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Arnie897
Default

I think it goes through the computer somehow using the speed sensor, tranny range sensor and probably the brake pedal somehow. I have procedures to disable it on Ford Explorer's if you are interested.
Arnie897 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2006, 01:51 PM   #4
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Its controled by the body controler. its based on speed like 7-10 mph and then the locks trigger. they can be shut off with the procedure Arnie mensioned.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2006, 02:05 PM   #5
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

Speed in excess of 5mph will trigger dome lights off, locks to lock, and seatbelt chime to ring if drivers belt not detected. Now, mind you the speed sensor is in the transmission, the cold can make it slower in responding. The check condition is 5mph though and there's a delay to detect the change.

Also, there's nanotech circuits that detect sudden accelleration/decelleration that will trigger the same PCM logic.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2006, 04:16 PM   #6
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,449
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie897
I think it goes through the computer somehow using the speed sensor, tranny range sensor and probably the brake pedal somehow. I have procedures to disable it on Ford Explorer's if you are interested.
Is this something easy, or is it computer controlled?
I would be very interested in it..
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2006, 06:05 PM   #7
Arnie897
y=mx+b
 
Arnie897's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Posts: 465
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Arnie897
Default

I'm assuming that all Fords can use this....but I could be wrong.

The factory procedure to disable autolock can be accomplished in two ways:

Autolock Enable/Disable - Using the Keypad

To enable/disable autolock using the keyless entry keypad:

1. Enter five-digit permanent entry code into the keyless entry keypad.

2. Within 5 seconds of entering the code, press and hold the 7/8 button on the keypad.

3. Within 5 seconds of Step 2, and while holding the 7/8 button, press the 3/4 button on the keypad and release it.

4. Within 5 seconds of Step 3, release the 7/8 button on the keypad.

If the Autolock feature is disabled the horn will chirp once, if it is enabled the horn chirps once and then a second time once the sequence above is completed.

Autolock Enable/Disable through Igntion Switch

1. Close all doors.

2. Confirm the key is OFF.

3. Turn key from OFF to RUN.

4. Note Steps 4 through 7 must be carried out within 30 seconds.

Press Door lock control switch UNLOCK 3 times.

5. Turn the key from ON to OFF.

6. Press the door lock control switch UNLOCK 3 times.

7. Turn the key from OFF to ON.

8 Verify the horn chirps. This indicates the disable/enable mode has been entered and is ready for program changes.

9. Press door lock control switch UNLOCK button one more time, then press the LOCK button.

10. Verify the horn chirps one time, indicating that the autolock/relock feature is disabled. If one chirp is heard, followed by a longer sound of the horn the autolockk/relock feature is enabled. (Return to Step 9).

11. Turn the key to OFF position to exit enable/disable mode. If the Autolock status is changed, the horn will chirp once. If the status is not changed, no chirp will be heard. Return to Step 1.

Hope this helps....
Arnie897 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2006, 08:57 AM   #8
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,449
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Arnie, you rock!

__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2006, 09:22 AM   #9
Arnie897
y=mx+b
 
Arnie897's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Posts: 465
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Arnie897
Default

no problem
Arnie897 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.14014 seconds with 47 queries