I want to get into trail mapping. Whats a good GPS to look at? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Land Use > GPS tracks and trails
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

GPS tracks and trails 4x4 trails and destination coordinates

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 5th, 2007, 09:11 AM   #1
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,759
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 156 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default I want to get into trail mapping. Whats a good GPS to look at?

I have a newer street pilor, and a Ique 3600. Neither are very "trail ready".

Whats a good model that would be good for the following:

1. Good reception in wooded areas
2. Easy to use
3. Easy to track and save4
4. Must be card driven, so I can easily move info from gps/computer
5. rechargeable battery a +.

thanks
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old September 5th, 2007, 09:12 AM   #2
GreaseMonkey
Pew pew!
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Madison Heights, MI
Posts: 18,045
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Garmin GPSmap 60csx.
__________________
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2007, 04:05 PM   #3
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 22,368
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Default

I have the Garmin 760C

Nice screen size & color.
Also stores plenty of tracks. Not alot of people know how important this is.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2007, 04:57 PM   #4
JohnnyJ
Low Range Drifter
 
JohnnyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Hartland, MI
Posts: 6,380
iTrader: (38)
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Default

Garmin GPS III+. You may have to go to ebay to get one used since they discontinued it for quite a few years now.

>> 1. Good reception in wooded areas
Yes

>> 2. Easy to use
Yes

>> 3. Easy to track and save4
Yes

>> 4. Must be card driven, so I can easily move info from gps/computer
Use serial port, but is easy to move data

>> 5. rechargeable battery a +.
Use 4-AA. I used to have some rechargables.

I still use mine pretty regularly, it's been a great item. I'm sure there is better, but hopefully they have a replacement line for it.
__________________
Neither Skinny Nor Pretty DEAK Racing 4517 Ultra 4 Mod Class Rig
Surviving Project Car Hell - We have all been there
JohnnyJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2007, 07:46 PM   #5
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,759
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 156 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Holy cow, I had a garmin gps III+. I gave it to tonka!
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2007, 09:06 PM   #6
DuffMan
Your Message Here
 
DuffMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: The Ile of Grosse
Posts: 5,845
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I still use a GPS V+, which si simply an updated version of the GPS III.

However, the Garmin 60csx is the shit. Fast, awesome reception, and color.
__________________
This is the Pub. Leave common sense at the door.
DuffMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2007, 09:29 PM   #7
phazer42
I wheel, therefore I am
 
phazer42's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-30-07
Location: waterford, mi
Posts: 336
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I love my Grmin 2610.... It has a compact flash card, color screen - touch screen nav through menus, and with an antenna it has good reception.... the only downside is that it needs a powersource (cig lighter)... but it does run on either 12 or 24v which when I had the Humvee was nice ;-)
phazer42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2007, 10:26 PM   #8
StartingLine
#@%$!*&$#@*
 
StartingLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-15-06
Location: Shelby Twp, Mi
Posts: 2,774
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I don't think you can go wrong with either the 60CSx or the 76CSx. I have the 76CSx and love it. The main difference between the two is the 76 model is waterproof and floats. Both come with a removable 128 MB microSD card.

76CSx


60CSx
StartingLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2007, 10:48 AM   #9
StartingLine
#@%$!*&$#@*
 
StartingLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-15-06
Location: Shelby Twp, Mi
Posts: 2,774
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I'll be bringing it to the Pig Gig if you wanna check it out.
StartingLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2007, 03:26 PM   #10
joe_jeep
welfare wheeler
 
joe_jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-03-06
Location: hazel park, mi
Posts: 5,864
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to joe_jeep
Default

i used an older gpsmap76. worked ok. the newer versions are better though. id look into an outside mounted antenna! reception is the big key!
joe_jeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2007, 05:03 AM   #11
Jarhead
Member
 
Jarhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-22-07
Location: Swartz Creek
Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Garmin GPSMAP 478

Head Straight for the Water
Ready for action right out of the box, the GPSMAP 478 comes preloaded with US marine detailed maps for the entire US coast, including Alaska and Hawaii. These maps are based on BlueChart g2 technology, so they layer smoothly and are integrated for easy panning, scrolling and zooming.

Go from Water to Land
When you're ready to drive home, take your 478 out of its marine mount and pop it into the automotive mount in your vehicle. Then press one button, and your 478 is ready to navigate you on the roads, with turn by turn directions and voice prompts that take you straight to your destination. The 478 is preloaded with detailed City Navigator maps for all of North America and contains over 6 million points of interest, including hotels, restaurants, gas stations, marinas, attractions and more.

Add Optional Weather, Audio and Sonar
See real-time weather on the 478's high-resolution TFT with the purchase of a GXM 30 XM antenna and a subscription to XM Satellite Weather and Radio services. View vital weather data, including NEXRAD radar, storm cells, wind speeds, surface temperatures, forecasts and more than a dozen other weather attributes, so you can enjoy the water without worrying about the weather. You can also subscribe to XM Satellite Radio to receive over 100 channels of commercial-free music, sports, news and talk radio.
For serious fishing, pair the 478 with the GSD™ 21 remote sounder, which offers 4,000 watts of power peak-to-peak (500 watts RMS) with a dual-frequency transducer (purchased separately).

Add More Marine Maps
The 478 accepts optional MapSource data cards, so you can add new maps without connecting to your computer. BlueChart g2 data cards let you view real, detailed aerial photos of harbors, marinas and other important marine landmarks and places, right on your chartplotter.

GPSMAP 478: Loaded and ready for action, right out of the box

Saves 15 Tracks (10,000 Points), 50 Routes and 3,000 Waypoints.
Opitional Data Card allows the Loading of TOPO Maps and a few other things.

Last edited by Jarhead; September 14th, 2007 at 10:42 AM.
Jarhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2007, 06:30 AM   #12
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 22,368
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Default

Many of the units listed above do not have much track storage. I had a gps V and was quite happy with it. It only stores 10 tracks. I recommend at least 15 tracks if you are going to get into detailed track saving and exploration.

Once you have a color screen you will never go back to monochrome.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2007, 02:19 AM   #13
Stan
I got a gold chain
 
Stan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Shelby Twp.
Posts: 15,833
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Default

I'm price shopping the 276c now. Seems like a nice unit.

Do I really need an external antenna?

Last edited by Stan; September 22nd, 2007 at 02:22 AM.
Stan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2007, 07:56 AM   #14
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 22,368
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stan View Post
I'm price shopping the 276c now. Seems like a nice unit.

Do I really need an external antenna?
Seems like a personal question to me.:tonka:


That's a good question. I rarely lost coverage with my gps V but I think I have lost it a little more frequently with the 276.
Guess I'll pay a little closer attention on my next outing.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2007, 08:02 AM   #15
kb8ymf
Not as old as Whiterhino
 
kb8ymf's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-01-06
Location: Dryden,Mi.
Posts: 1,124
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stan View Post
I'm price shopping the 276c now. Seems like a nice unit.
Do I really need an external antenna?
That's what I have. Big color screen and it's portable, and it saves and allows importing of tracks. Works for me!
I've got mine on the dashboard and it works fine. No outside or additional antenna required. WhiteRhinos is on a Jeep dashboard with a more vertical windshield. Mine is in the Tracker with more sky visible from the dashboard.
I sometimes loose the signal but it's more due to the surrounding terrain like hills and rocks. You have to remember the satellites are NOT all overhead. Some are 20* or 30* above the horizon. Just look at the Azmuth and Elevation of the satellites next time.
jim-kb8ymf

Last edited by kb8ymf; September 22nd, 2007 at 08:06 AM.
kb8ymf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2007, 09:19 AM   #16
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,759
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 156 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb8ymf View Post
That's what I have. Big color screen and it's portable, and it saves and allows importing of tracks. Works for me!
I've got mine on the dashboard and it works fine. No outside or additional antenna required. WhiteRhinos is on a Jeep dashboard with a more vertical windshield. Mine is in the Tracker with more sky visible from the dashboard.
I sometimes loose the signal but it's more due to the surrounding terrain like hills and rocks. You have to remember the satellites are NOT all overhead. Some are 20* or 30* above the horizon. Just look at the Azmuth and Elevation of the satellites next time.
jim-kb8ymf

I'm just going to gt a 276 also... When you are tracking, and you lose signal, is there a way to fill in the gap with software?
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2007, 09:27 AM   #17
kb8ymf
Not as old as Whiterhino
 
kb8ymf's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-01-06
Location: Dryden,Mi.
Posts: 1,124
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
I'm just going to gt a 276 also... When you are tracking, and you lose signal, is there a way to fill in the gap with software?
yep, but usually isn't gone long enough to affect the visulation of the track after you filter it down and minimize the the waypoint count.
Make sure you get the 'car' accessory kit. Has the mounting stuff, SD card I think and something else I don't remember. You'll also need the Mapsource TOPO software unless you already have it.
j-kb8ymf
kb8ymf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2007, 06:24 AM   #18
ridgerunner
Senior Member
 
ridgerunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-26-06
Location: North Branch
Posts: 199
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

[QUOTE=kb8ymf;731207`
Make sure you get the 'car' accessory kit. Has the mounting stuff, SD card I think and something else I don't remember. You'll also need the Mapsource TOPO software unless you already have it.
j-kb8ymf[/QUOTE]

What size data card do recomend for using with the topo software?
I picked up a 276 last week and missed ordering the SD card.
ridgerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2007, 07:10 AM   #19
kb8ymf
Not as old as Whiterhino
 
kb8ymf's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-01-06
Location: Dryden,Mi.
Posts: 1,124
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ridgerunner View Post
What size data card do recomend for using with the topo software?
I picked up a 276 last week and missed ordering the SD card.
I'll have to look inside, can't remember. I don't think it was the biggest one available as I just use my laptop to store all the tracks and download them as required.
jim-kb8ymf
kb8ymf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2007, 08:09 AM   #20
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 22,368
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Default

You really don't need a big data card. Think of it this way, my gps V only had 18 meg of storage & I was able to load all the maps I need.

I think I bought the 128 meg.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Land Use > GPS tracks and trails

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.26085 seconds with 80 queries